We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good standard hotel in central location”
Review of Michael's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Michael's Inn
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Yeppoon Queensland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good standard hotel in central location”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Michael's Inn hotel was comfortable and clean and within walking distance of many shops and restaurants We ate out at night but enjoyed the generous buffet breakfast. Staff were helpful - all in all good value for money.

Room Tip: Our room was a deluxe and non airconditioned which was fine for the climate. Mattresses and pillows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelsInn, Guest Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Vikki,
We at, Michael's Inn would like to take this opportunity to Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Thekkady. We are extremely happy to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed our hospitality. Your valuable inputs and comments go a long way in making our organisation guest friendly. We assure you that we will strive hard to maintain our standards. Please do come back to enjoy our hospitality the next time you visit Thekkady.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    61
    55
    14
    18
See reviews for
86
61
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wuppertal, Germany
Level Contributor
226 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed in Thekkaday for a few nights while we did the wildlife safari tour. This hotel was reasonably priced and the service & cleanliness matched this expectation. Our room was 304, which unfortunately sits at the backside of the hotel above some fuel storage bins (you could smell it in the evening). The restaurant was pretty good, above the standards of many of the places we visited. All in all, for the price and location, it was good and we'd come back but only for a room in 305/306 (West-side of the building).

NOTE: expect that the internet wifi doesn't work!!!

Room Tip: We had room #304 and you could smell gasoline at night whereas another guest said she smelt exhaust...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matthew_vanderheide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelsInn, Guest Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Mathew,
We, at Michael's Inn would like to Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Thekkady, Kerala. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. Your comments are highly appreciated and we will take your feedback positively and improve where ever needed. We hope to host you again during your next visit to Thekkady.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
151 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We came to Thekkady to visit Periyar National Park and did not expect to find such a clean, comfortable and pleasant hotel at all. The hotel is located within wlaking distance to the Elephant rides and the Nature walks in Periyar as well as the lively little town of Thekkady with all its spice merchants, martial arts and fried banana chips. The food was very decent, the staff friendly and extremely helpful and the rooms very clean and functional. Free wifi in the lobby. It is not luxury but an excellent base for your adventures in this rich and beautiful part of Kerala.

Room Tip: Rooms a little away from the road may offer less morning or evening noise from the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coldings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelsInn, Guest Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Coldings,
We, at Michael's Inn would like to Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Thekkady. We are truly delighted by your comments regarding our property and services. Appreciation from guests is highly valued at our organisation and this is what motivates us to serve our guests even better. Your special mention regarding our food will be passed on to the concerned department. Thank you, once again, and do come back to stay with us during your next trip to Thekkady.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

excellent location we very much enjoyed in thekkady opposite kerali cultural center to see marshal art show and kathakali show and mantra ayurvedic massage .all places in walking distance. Periyar lake and wild life sanctuary very near to the hotel we enjoyed very much.
the food is excellent .

Room Tip: excellent any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malvikap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelsInn, Guest Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Malvika,
We, at Michael's Inn would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Thekkady. We are happy learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel to your liking. We appreciate your comments regarding our hospitality. Please do come back to visit and stay with us during your next visit to Thekkady and I assure you that we will do all with our means to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is one of the rare stays we’ve found in South India wherein when we have arrived, we have not been greeted with a swarm of mosquitoes. Although South India is not known and popular with Malaria, the insects here are of a different species and repellants do not work.

The room was standard with hot water although the bed was slightly hard compared to others. I must admit that cleanliness and good grasp of sanitation can be demonstrated in their clean white sheets including their towels. Electrical power comes in an out although they have instant generator replacing it. There was no aircondition but the ceiling fan was enough to cool us during the day and night.

We’ve had dinner included in our stay and admittedly it was very good food and as it was buffet, it is even better for people enjoying to eat to their heart’s content.

I would recommend this place as a decent choice if you want a clean, comfortable stay in Thekkady without having to break a bank.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babydoll_Nexa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelsInn, Guest Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
We, at Michael's Inn would like to Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Thekkady. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. Your comments regarding our hospitality and services are highly appreciated and I assure you that we will keep up our standards and improve where ever needed. Do come back to stay with us during your next visit to Thekkady.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munnar, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed in Michael's Inn during our visit to Thekkady. And I must stay, this was the best hotel during our kerala trip so far. The hotel is clean, the staff is hospitable and they also offered us a complimentary christmas eve dinner!. The hotel is centrally located and very near to the entrance of Periyar National park, Kathakali Centre and The Spice Wholesale market, the main attractions of Thekkady. Since, we were 3 people staying on one room, they provided with 1 extra bed with equally clean mattresses, pillow and an extra bed! ( believe me, many other hotels we stayed in only provided the mattresses and not the bed). Overall a memorable experience

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BTW_traveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelsInn, Public Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
We at Michael's Inn would like to Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Thekkady. We are extremely delighted to learn that you had a pleasant and memorable stay with us. Your comments regarding our hospitality and service is highly appreciated and our entire team would be made known of the same. Appreciation from guests are a great motivating factor for us and that keeps us going and we assure you that we will strive harder to make it even more memorable the next time around. Do come back to stay with us.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

We've been there for one night on december 11th. 2012. Dark and old rooms, wifi service only in the hall. The restaurant service and food was correct. Remarks: as we were visiting the Natural Park very early next morning, before breakfast opening time, we asked the recepcionist if it was possible to have a cup of tea before leaving, and they did. 4 cups as total and nothing more. But as a surprise, when checking out we were presented the bill for that drinks. We complained saying that we did not use the breakfast included but nonsense, they still wanted to charge the price, because it was served before breakfast time. It was a really nasty end. We paid and left but we can not recommend that place anyway.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Teresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelsInn, Public Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Teresa,
We, at Michael's Inn would like to Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Thekkady. We are extremely disappointed to learn that you had an indifferent experience while staying with us. If you found our service to be poor, I humbly apologise to you on behalf of the management for the same. This is unacceptable and shoddy service is not our motto and you have every right to feel aggrieved. I assure you that the matter will be thoroughly investigated and the guilty would be suitably reprimanded. From your comments I gather that you had certain issues with the Buffet breakfast and billing. Dear madam, I would like to politely remind you that food/beverages served outside of a buffet are charged separately. This is a standard hospitality industry practice. More over it is not acceptable to swap a buffet for another meal. The service-in-charge was perfectly within rights to charge you for the beverages that you had outside of a buffet. I hope you understand. I assure you that your other issues will be looked into and required correction/ changes will be made. Please do come back to stay with us and we would be at our best the next time around.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thekkady hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.3 mi away
Chrissie's Hotel
Chrissie's Hotel
#16 of 43 in Thekkady
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ambadi
Hotel Ambadi
#28 of 43 in Thekkady
253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jungle Palace
Jungle Palace
#20 of 43 in Thekkady
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Himarani
Hotel Himarani
#36 of 43 in Thekkady
10 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kumily Gate
Hotel Kumily Gate
#40 of 43 in Thekkady
23 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elephant Route
Elephant Route
#31 of 43 in Thekkady
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michael's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael's Inn

Property: Michael's Inn
Address: Thekkady 685509, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Michael's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The paradise concealed within the enigmatic spice gardens. Michaels Inn is the place where you want to stay in at Thekkady. Tucked away in the midst of verdant tea and spice gardens of the Western Ghats, Michael's Inn stands close to the Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary. Nestled in the very heart of a host of inspiring surroundings, Michael's Inn offers you the very best, with an elegant combination of native beauty, rural serenity and modern amenities. Let Michael's Inn look after you. Caressed by the nature around, this fine tavern helps you to discover Thekkady. Witness the pageantry of natural forces at work from a stage set in at a magnificent place by the name, Michael's Inn. Cradled in an exquisite altitude of the Sahyadris, Michael's Inn is sure to provide a different facet of nature to the discerning nature lovers At Michael's Inn our motto is 'It is very personal'. True to the motto we maintain a very personal experience to the guests visiting us. We provide a neat, clean and friendly environment at Michael's Inn. The guests can be assured that in trying to keep up with our motto and policies we are willing to travel the extra mile to meet their expectations. A weary traveller should always leave us with a refreshed and relaxed mind and body. Comfort prevails in our comfy rooms, roomy enough to house the fresh air. Nature and culture, ethnic and luxury, all these in several forms enliven lives at Michael's Inn. Life is a splendid affair in the company of virgin nature. Live in and revive your smile. All sorts of modern amenities accompany the 25 well designed air-conditioned and non-air conditioned rooms. Eat Inn - the rich taste of an enriching Kerala cuisine. The aromatic spices bring out a special flavour to the food varieties that's especially lip smacking. The multi-cuisine restaurant serves delicious food extending the excitement. The choice of food includes Kerala delicacies, as we've emphasised, Indian, Continental and Chinese. Let Michael's Inn treat your taste buds with the exotic aroma and delicious food that's specially prepared with lots of love and skill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Michael's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michael's Inn Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing