We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service - Michael's Inn”
Review of Michael's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Michael's Inn
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent service - Michael's Inn”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Located centrally near the market with excellent service. Good location & excellent service distinguish it from rest.

We had a memorable stay, Staff was very helpful & was available in no time. Would certainly recommend to all my friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gauravanandgurgaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelsInn, Public Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Gaurav,
We,at Michael's Inn, would like to Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Thekkady. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. Your special mention regarding the service is highly appreciated and the entire team would be made known of the same. Thank you once again for staying with us and enjoying our hospitality. Do come back to stay with us during your next visit to Thekkady.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    61
    55
    14
    18
See reviews for
86
61
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
482 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Good hotel to stay in the heart of Thekkady. Opposite there is a good vegetarian Gujarati & Marwadi Bhojanalaya.

Near to the Kumily market, Periyar reserve and Kadathanandan Kalari Center.

This is more like a lodging facility with no spectacular views or a feel of Thekaddy. See the rooms before you decide.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MumbaiPradeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelsInn, Public Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Darshan,
We at Michael's Inn would like to Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Thekkady. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. We pride ourselves in what we do and true to our motto we try to serve a personal experience to the guests. A neat, clean and safe and secure environment is what we try to create at Michael's Inn. In trying to do so, we are willing to travel the extra mile. Thank you once again for staying with us and do come back during your next visit to Thekkady.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed there in December 2011. Hotel is near to market place and jungle safari on other side. Rooms are average. Hotel restaurant service is very very poor. we ordered for lunch and wait arond 20 minits then the waiter came and told us that they dont have your ordered food i was shocked it was around 2.30 PM and we were quite hungry i came reception and complaint then receptionist go with us and we change our order it took around 20-30 minit to serve the food. Food below average.

Room size is spacious but average only. I will not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: As per my experience i would recommed to look a better hotel with good restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shabab k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelsInn, Public Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Shadab,
We at Michael's Inn would like to Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Thekkady. We are disappointed to learn that you had an in different experience while staying with us. You have particularly mentioned about the food service and the time taken to serve food. I humbly accept that it was short coming on our part to have kept you waiting and then being told that the ordered item was not available. It was a communication error and the concerned staff members have been spoken to regarding the issue. The availability of the item should have been communicated to you immediately. Secondly you had mentioned that it took 20 minutes to serve the order. Sir, I would like to politely remind you that it is clearly mentioned in the menu card that the time taken for preparation of an order is approximately 20 - 30 minutes. We prepare our food freshly and only on order and hence it may not be possible to serve the order sooner. I hope you understand. Sir, I assure you that the issues have been looked into and necessary corrections have been made. Please do come back to stay with us and we will do everything within our means to make your stay pleasant.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thekkady hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

we were 4 couples with 2 kids. The staff was not helpful in terms of food and milk for kids. The rooms in the hotel were very clean. The bathroom was also clean and there were amenities required (soap, shampoo etc). Did not have much time to taste the food there as we stayed there only for a day, but bu the breakfast was good. The hotel is located near the market and other activities. overall good and budgeted

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritesh V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelsInn, Public Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Ritesh,
We at Michael's Inn would like to Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Thekkady. We are happy to learn that you had a good stay. You have mentioned certain issues with certain staff members to helping you out. I apologise to you on behalf of them for their shoddy service. The concerned department has been spoken to and I assure you that such a thing would not happen again. Do visit us again.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed in the Hotel along with my wife and small baby. Hotel is located in the heart of Thekkady. Nice Hotel, neat and clean. Rooms are properly decorated. Room service is also good. Most satisfying experience. I strongly recommend this Hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank H P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelsInn, Public Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
We at Michael's Inn would like to Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Thekkady. We are extremely delighted to learn that you had a wonderful experience staying with us. The happiness of the customer is our satisfaction and that is what keeps us going. We assure you that we would maintain our standards and improve wherever necessary. Do come back to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here for one night as part of a package tour, so I can't comment on whether the hotel is good value for money or not, but overall it was an excellent stay that I am happy to recommend.

PRO:
- Very clean rooms (albeit with a wet bathroom that doesn't separate toilet from shower)
- Free wifi in the lobby
- Helpful staff who told us how best to score a visit to Periyar Lake, though they didn't seem very clear on how to get tickets in advance
- Limited but tasty breakfast with a dosa and omelette station

CON:
- Cheeky restaurant that overcharged us for food we ordered for lunch (though it tasted good)

Overall, the hotel was nice, with a good location and comfortable, clean rooms -- I'm happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigintangibles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelsInn, Public Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
We at Michael's Inn would like to Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Thekkady. We are happy to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. Your special mention about the staff is highly appreciated. I would also like to politely remind you that the food served in the Restaurant is only served on order by the guest after a menu card with clearly marked prices are presented to the guest. The computerised billing cannot over ride and change prices of items other than what is mentioned in the menu card. Hence the question of over charging does not arise. If such a thing has happened, please send us a copy of the bill and we will verify, investigate and if found wrong, we would definitely refund you. I hope you understand. Thank you once again for staying with us and do come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The rooms in the hotel were very clean. The bathroom was also clean and there were amenities required (soap, shampoo etc). Did not have much time to taste the food there as we stayed there only for a day, but i must admit the staff is helpful .The hotel is located near the market and other activities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OmkarKMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelsInn, Public Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Omkar,
We, at Michael's Inn would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Thekkady. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you once again and please do come back to stay with us during your next visit to Thekkady.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.3 mi away
Chrissie's Hotel
Chrissie's Hotel
#18 of 43 in Thekkady
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ambadi
Hotel Ambadi
#28 of 43 in Thekkady
253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jungle Palace
Jungle Palace
#20 of 43 in Thekkady
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Himarani
Hotel Himarani
#36 of 43 in Thekkady
10 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kumily Gate
Hotel Kumily Gate
#40 of 43 in Thekkady
23 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elephant Route
Elephant Route
#31 of 43 in Thekkady
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michael's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael's Inn

Property: Michael's Inn
Address: Thekkady 685509, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Michael's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The paradise concealed within the enigmatic spice gardens. Michaels Inn is the place where you want to stay in at Thekkady. Tucked away in the midst of verdant tea and spice gardens of the Western Ghats, Michael's Inn stands close to the Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary. Nestled in the very heart of a host of inspiring surroundings, Michael's Inn offers you the very best, with an elegant combination of native beauty, rural serenity and modern amenities. Let Michael's Inn look after you. Caressed by the nature around, this fine tavern helps you to discover Thekkady. Witness the pageantry of natural forces at work from a stage set in at a magnificent place by the name, Michael's Inn. Cradled in an exquisite altitude of the Sahyadris, Michael's Inn is sure to provide a different facet of nature to the discerning nature lovers At Michael's Inn our motto is 'It is very personal'. True to the motto we maintain a very personal experience to the guests visiting us. We provide a neat, clean and friendly environment at Michael's Inn. The guests can be assured that in trying to keep up with our motto and policies we are willing to travel the extra mile to meet their expectations. A weary traveller should always leave us with a refreshed and relaxed mind and body. Comfort prevails in our comfy rooms, roomy enough to house the fresh air. Nature and culture, ethnic and luxury, all these in several forms enliven lives at Michael's Inn. Life is a splendid affair in the company of virgin nature. Live in and revive your smile. All sorts of modern amenities accompany the 25 well designed air-conditioned and non-air conditioned rooms. Eat Inn - the rich taste of an enriching Kerala cuisine. The aromatic spices bring out a special flavour to the food varieties that's especially lip smacking. The multi-cuisine restaurant serves delicious food extending the excitement. The choice of food includes Kerala delicacies, as we've emphasised, Indian, Continental and Chinese. Let Michael's Inn treat your taste buds with the exotic aroma and delicious food that's specially prepared with lots of love and skill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Michael's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michael's Inn Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing