We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel with good staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Michael's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Michael's Inn
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Thekkady
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with good staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here for one night as part of a package tour, so I can't comment on whether the hotel is good value for money or not, but overall it was an excellent stay that I am happy to recommend.

PRO:
- Very clean rooms (albeit with a wet bathroom that doesn't separate toilet from shower)
- Free wifi in the lobby
- Helpful staff who told us how best to score a visit to Periyar Lake, though they didn't seem very clear on how to get tickets in advance
- Limited but tasty breakfast with a dosa and omelette station

CON:
- Cheeky restaurant that overcharged us for food we ordered for lunch (though it tasted good)

Overall, the hotel was nice, with a good location and comfortable, clean rooms -- I'm happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigintangibles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelsInn, Public Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
We at Michael's Inn would like to Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Thekkady. We are happy to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. Your special mention about the staff is highly appreciated. I would also like to politely remind you that the food served in the Restaurant is only served on order by the guest after a menu card with clearly marked prices are presented to the guest. The computerised billing cannot over ride and change prices of items other than what is mentioned in the menu card. Hence the question of over charging does not arise. If such a thing has happened, please send us a copy of the bill and we will verify, investigate and if found wrong, we would definitely refund you. I hope you understand. Thank you once again for staying with us and do come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    61
    55
    14
    18
See reviews for
85
61
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

The rooms in the hotel were very clean. The bathroom was also clean and there were amenities required (soap, shampoo etc). Did not have much time to taste the food there as we stayed there only for a day, but i must admit the staff is helpful .The hotel is located near the market and other activities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OmkarKMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelsInn, Public Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Omkar,
We, at Michael's Inn would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Thekkady. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you once again and please do come back to stay with us during your next visit to Thekkady.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed at Micheal's Inn in October. Nice well maintained rooms, clean bathrooms, very nice food especially the buffet breakfast and finally the staff - polite an very helpful. Close to all the activities in Thekkady! Overall a very satisfying experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jade c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelsInn, Guest Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Jade,
We at Michael's Inn would like to Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Thekkady. We are extremely delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. I also understand that this is your second visit to our Hotel and that you have been thoroughly satisfied with us during both the times. Comments such as yours are highly appreciated and valued at our organisation. It will definitely spur us to maintain our standards and raise it wherever necessary in future. Your coming back to us is testimony enough of the goodwill that we enjoy among our guests. We are honoured. Thank you, once again and do come back to us during your next visit to Thekkady.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I had stayed for 2N & 3D..It was pleasant staying...! Market nearby..!
There was a bit mistake by hotet staff...No...No... not so serious...!
Like they added some other tea bill to my account. I stayed in room no like 305...and couple form room no 306 order some tea/coffee but while checking-out they handed some bill of around 45-50 rs. but problem was cleared / and solved.
Ahhhh rooms
Rooms were comfortable but small. Bed, bathroom were clean & tidy...
Good experiance...!

Room Tip: Rooms no from serious no 301-306 small rooms but neat..!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pankaj C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelsInn, Guest Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Pankaj,
We at, Michael's Inn would like to Thank you for choosing to stay with us during you visit to Thekkady. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. Please do bear with us for the clerical error that you mentioned. I assure you that we would not repeat it again. Thank you, once again, for being with us and do come back .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

It was a one night stay there, but was not a good experience there. The check in experience was not good, we were not informed about anything there. The checked in room was having seepage on the walls and room was all humid. When requested for the change the behavior of hotel staff was not proper. Please think twice before going for booking there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dr_Dev11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelsInn, Guest Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Dr.Dev,
We at, Michael's Inn, would like to Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Thekkady. We are disappointed to learn that you had an indifferent experience while staying with us. I apologise to you for the indifferent service rendered to you. The matter has been investigated and the erring department and concerned staff members have been given the due memo. It has been a mistake on our part and we sincerely apologise for the same. Dr. Dev, I assure you that such a thing will not happen again. Do accept our humble apology and come back to us during your next visit to Thekkady.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thekkady hotels

Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

It was a short stay enroute to Munnar and its location closer to the the Periyar wildlfe sanctuary was an advantage. Was a sort of disappointed as we couldn't spot any wildlife during our boat ride. Overall a decent and value for money for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank Swaminathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelsInn, Guest Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Swaminathan,
We, at Michael's Inn, would like to Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Thekkady. We are happy to learn that you found our Hotel good enough. We assure you that we would maintain our standards and improve where necessary. I gather from your review that you did not sight any animals during your visit to the Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary. Well, all I can say is that the Periyar Sanctuary is not only about the wild animals but also about the natural flora and fauna endemic to the region. I'm sure if you had looked at it from a different perspective you would not have been disappointed. It's just a suggestion, though. Hope you do come back again and I'm sure you would get lucky the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Much more than what I expected, felt like 2 start hotel. Cleanliness, Total ambiance, room quality and finally a super class bathroom for the cost of room. Everything was presented neat and clean, wrapped in hotel name printed covers - that point - this minute perfection caught the eye and gave a full satisfaction at the very beginning. We did not try the restaurant there but it seemed that was good also by the crowd present there. Hotel had good parking place within its boundary. And moreover, was very close to main tourist spots. While driving from Munnar, did not have any difficulty to locate it. We 3 friends stayed in a room, but it was enough spacious to give us a very good and warmth felling. Will recommend Michael's Inn. Superb value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank apim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelsInn, Guest Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
We, at Michael's Inn, would like to Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Thekkady. We are delighted to learn that you and your friends had a pleasant stay with us. Your comments regarding our quality are highly appreciated and we assure you that we would keep our standards at its very best in the future as well. Thank you, once again and do come back and stay with us in your next visit to Thekkady.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.3 mi away
Chrissie's Hotel
Chrissie's Hotel
#12 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jungle Palace
Jungle Palace
#20 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ambadi
Hotel Ambadi
#29 of 41 in Thekkady
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Himarani
Hotel Himarani
#36 of 41 in Thekkady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elephant Route
Elephant Route
#31 of 41 in Thekkady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kumily Gate
Hotel Kumily Gate
#39 of 41 in Thekkady
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michael's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael's Inn

Property: Michael's Inn
Address: Thekkady 685509, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Michael's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The paradise concealed within the enigmatic spice gardens. Michaels Inn is the place where you want to stay in at Thekkady. Tucked away in the midst of verdant tea and spice gardens of the Western Ghats, Michael's Inn stands close to the Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary. Nestled in the very heart of a host of inspiring surroundings, Michael's Inn offers you the very best, with an elegant combination of native beauty, rural serenity and modern amenities. Let Michael's Inn look after you. Caressed by the nature around, this fine tavern helps you to discover Thekkady. Witness the pageantry of natural forces at work from a stage set in at a magnificent place by the name, Michael's Inn. Cradled in an exquisite altitude of the Sahyadris, Michael's Inn is sure to provide a different facet of nature to the discerning nature lovers At Michael's Inn our motto is 'It is very personal'. True to the motto we maintain a very personal experience to the guests visiting us. We provide a neat, clean and friendly environment at Michael's Inn. The guests can be assured that in trying to keep up with our motto and policies we are willing to travel the extra mile to meet their expectations. A weary traveller should always leave us with a refreshed and relaxed mind and body. Comfort prevails in our comfy rooms, roomy enough to house the fresh air. Nature and culture, ethnic and luxury, all these in several forms enliven lives at Michael's Inn. Life is a splendid affair in the company of virgin nature. Live in and revive your smile. All sorts of modern amenities accompany the 25 well designed air-conditioned and non-air conditioned rooms. Eat Inn - the rich taste of an enriching Kerala cuisine. The aromatic spices bring out a special flavour to the food varieties that's especially lip smacking. The multi-cuisine restaurant serves delicious food extending the excitement. The choice of food includes Kerala delicacies, as we've emphasised, Indian, Continental and Chinese. Let Michael's Inn treat your taste buds with the exotic aroma and delicious food that's specially prepared with lots of love and skill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Michael's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michael's Inn Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing