We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable hotel with value of money”
Review of Michael's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Michael's Inn
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Noida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Affordable hotel with value of money”
Reviewed October 11, 2011

I had been to Thekkady in Oct 2011 and stayed in this hotel for one day. The reception staff was very helpful and checked us within minutes. The rooms in zig zag fashion give different look. Service is very quick. The breakfast was very tasty and hotel served many varities. One can have Dosa or egg varities cooked as per choice. This hotel is very near to Periyar Tiger reserve. There is no problem in going to this hotel once again. Kathkali and Martial art centres are very closeby.The North Indian restaurent is just opposite to it.

Room Tip: Beware of monkeys and do not keep windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rajnish_Tiwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelsInn, Guest Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Dear Rajnish,
We appreciate your comments and thank you for the same. Positive feedback from our guests are always welcome and it inspires us to serve our guests with passion. Your special mention of the Front Office staff has been noted and they would be let known of the same. Our Chef is also delighted to know that you enjoyed the breakfast at our Hotel. Thank you once again, Rajnish, for staying with us and we assure you that you would be looked after even better the next time you stay with us.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    61
    55
    14
    18
See reviews for
86
61
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Michaels Inn is a Simple hotel but it was nice and clean. They have a wonderful buffet breakfast and the food in general is excellent. The staff was polite and very helpful. I enjoyed my stay at Michaels inn thekkady!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Freddiesjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Michaels Inn is a very well maintained hotel. The food is great , the staff polite and not too expensive. It is located close by to all the activities in thekkady like boating, elephant ride, trekking, tea factory visits, spice shops etc..We had a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jade c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We had a pleasant stay at Michael's Inn during our trip to Thekkady in Kerala, India. Booked the hotel Online. We stayed during the rainy season in this part of the world which is supposed to be the off season. Our stay was very pleasant and we enjoyed a calm and quite stay at the Hotel. Hotel is well maintained and the food was nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mathew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We had a nice holiday in last May in Thekkady and we stayed at Michels’s Inn for 2 days. Hotel is in the town and ideal for exploring around Thekkady. Rooms were spacious and tidy. Food was excellent. The staffs at the hotel were very friendly & helpful. Overall, we enjoyed our stay. It’s a good quality hotel and definitely value for money!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Charlesgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

I have had the worst experience of my life staying in this hotel and I am thankful to god that my stay was limited to one night only. I went to kerala trip last year in the month of november and I must say it was a memorable trip as Kerala is a facinating place. All was going well until I reached Thekkedy after spending some quality time in Munnar. I had booked this hotel through a travel agent and reached there at around 12:00 PM, only to find that my room was still not ready and the hotel staff suggested me to visit the wild life sanctuary while they were prepairing my room (the truth was that no room was vacant at that time instead of prior booking). Although we were very tired after a long journey we still decided to visit the Sanctuary and returned hotel at around 5 PM. We were given a room and decided to take some rest before going to a cultural program nearby. On entering the room we were completely shocked seeing the size of the room, apart from a table, 1 chair and 1 bed (double) there were nothing else in the room and still we could hardly walk inside. The worst part was still to come and as soon as we removed the blanket we discovered that the bed sheet was full of BLOOD STAINS in it. My wife immediately decided to change hotel and I had to really work hard to make her understand that we had already paid for the room and it was only matter of one night. we did face many more suprises like toilet flush not working, delayed room service and complimentary breakfast not available till 9 in the morning. To sum up, this experience had almost spoiled our impression regarding kerala and I promise never to enter this hotel in my life.

Room Tip: I suggest there are plenty of other hotels near by which are cheap and provides much better service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arnab1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelsInn, Public Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Sir,
We deeply regret for what had happened to you during your stay at Michael's Inn. Since your stay happened in the month of November, 2010, We are unable to locate your stay details. Please do write to us and give us your postal address along with a proof of your stay at Michael's inn and we are more than happy to 'Refund' the entire amount you paid for the accommodation. We understand that this is no match for the said bad experience that you had at Michael's Inn, but this is the least we can do to make up for it. Sir, If you had complained to the management, I'm sure that your room would have been changed and the necessary action taken. Anyway, since this did not happen, please let us know the details of your stay and we will definitely take action against the erring staff concerned. Once again, on behalf of 'Michael's Inn', I deeply regret and apologize to you and your family for the bad experience that you had while staying with us. I assure you that such events will not be repeated and that we will do all that we can to enhance our services and make your stay a pleasurable one.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thekkady hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Given the photographs and some of the feedbacks, we thought it will be one of the good hotels in Thekkady. But it was not.


Reception:- When we reached and showed our booking confirmation, the person at the reception checked and told that money was not transferred to their account, hence they would not allow us. We had to call our travel agent to check, where as the money was already transferred. Still they did not allow, though they are one of the preferred partners of our travel agent company. They could clearly see the money paid and the booking done. They should allowed us in and could have managed with the travel agent separately. But we had to wait almost an hour and half till the travel agent faxed the deposit slip to the counter. After 8 hours long journey this was first bitter experience.

Room:- The room was not at all clean. Toilet cover and bath room was not cleaned at all. And over and above that room was way too small. We had to ask at the reception to change the room and for a better room, they charged higher price. We had to call our travel agent to manage this as we had paid substantial amount for booking. Still they did not agree and tried to explain the percentages that they generally get with agents. Finally we had to pay 1000 extra for the new room. This room was clean, little bigger but not comfy.

Food- The restaurant food quality was not good enough. We had to return one food item. Comparatively its costly. Only good part was that they provided coupons for breakfast and it was good.

Other Services- Massage was very costly at the hotel, we had to go to a ayurvedic massage center, hardly 20 mts away from the hotel, which was 40% cheaper. Room service was okay type.

Room Tip: Try to avoid this if you are booking via ur agents
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debadutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.3 mi away
Chrissie's Hotel
Chrissie's Hotel
#18 of 43 in Thekkady
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ambadi
Hotel Ambadi
#28 of 43 in Thekkady
253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jungle Palace
Jungle Palace
#20 of 43 in Thekkady
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kumily Gate
Hotel Kumily Gate
#40 of 43 in Thekkady
23 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elephant Route
Elephant Route
#31 of 43 in Thekkady
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Himarani
Hotel Himarani
#36 of 43 in Thekkady
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michael's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael's Inn

Property: Michael's Inn
Address: Thekkady 685509, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Michael's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The paradise concealed within the enigmatic spice gardens. Michaels Inn is the place where you want to stay in at Thekkady. Tucked away in the midst of verdant tea and spice gardens of the Western Ghats, Michael's Inn stands close to the Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary. Nestled in the very heart of a host of inspiring surroundings, Michael's Inn offers you the very best, with an elegant combination of native beauty, rural serenity and modern amenities. Let Michael's Inn look after you. Caressed by the nature around, this fine tavern helps you to discover Thekkady. Witness the pageantry of natural forces at work from a stage set in at a magnificent place by the name, Michael's Inn. Cradled in an exquisite altitude of the Sahyadris, Michael's Inn is sure to provide a different facet of nature to the discerning nature lovers At Michael's Inn our motto is 'It is very personal'. True to the motto we maintain a very personal experience to the guests visiting us. We provide a neat, clean and friendly environment at Michael's Inn. The guests can be assured that in trying to keep up with our motto and policies we are willing to travel the extra mile to meet their expectations. A weary traveller should always leave us with a refreshed and relaxed mind and body. Comfort prevails in our comfy rooms, roomy enough to house the fresh air. Nature and culture, ethnic and luxury, all these in several forms enliven lives at Michael's Inn. Life is a splendid affair in the company of virgin nature. Live in and revive your smile. All sorts of modern amenities accompany the 25 well designed air-conditioned and non-air conditioned rooms. Eat Inn - the rich taste of an enriching Kerala cuisine. The aromatic spices bring out a special flavour to the food varieties that's especially lip smacking. The multi-cuisine restaurant serves delicious food extending the excitement. The choice of food includes Kerala delicacies, as we've emphasised, Indian, Continental and Chinese. Let Michael's Inn treat your taste buds with the exotic aroma and delicious food that's specially prepared with lots of love and skill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Michael's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michael's Inn Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing