We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Periyar Nest Resorts
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Spice Village(Thekkady)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ambadi(Thekkady)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
White House(Thekkady)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Treetop(Thekkady)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveler rating
63
30
15
16
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
30
15
16
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplace to staycomfortable stayindiaperiyarhospitalityjunglechef
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 148 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2010

Sitting next to the Periyar Tiger Reserve with no wall or fence in between, by the villiage well and only a short walk from the Bus Station and the bussle of Kumily’s main street Periyar Nest is an absolute gem. The accomodation is excellent and scrupulously clean, but it is the kindness and honesty of the people here that really make it something special. The owner Kabir, his relatives and staff are a joy to know. Ask for the Keralian Breakfast and you will not be dissappointed offering a freshly made and different dish each day. Visit Kabir’s Spice Shop in Kumily with him and you will treated to some of the best prices and quality anywhere around. His employee Dileep will arrange your visit to the National Park through the official Thekkady gate (5 minute rickshaw ride) and make sure you get a 1 to 1 guide for morning Jungle trekking. He can also arrange an Elephant ride which is well worth it and suitable for all as you can either straddle or ride side saddle as well as other trips for the more adventurous. Or he can help you find the best value money exchange or shopping. My wife took some M&S trousers and tops and with Dileep’s help he arranged for the tailor to meets us at the material shop and the clothes were made up within 48 hrs at a fraction of the UK price and to a high quality. Kabir’s cousin Shanavas lives across the road and runs a taxi firm offering very competive prices to pick up or drop off in Kottyam 2 ½ hrs drive away and the nearest transport hub for either ferry crossings to Alleppey or trains north or south. He also offers a very good half day tour of Tamil Nadu.
Tip 1 - take as many pens with you as possible to give to the local children it is all they ask for.
Tip 2 - take a spare passport photo, a passport photo copy and an unlocked mobile and you can purchase an Indian SIM Card and get cheap calls both local and abroad.
Kabir email [--] tel: [--]
Shanavas Azad - Taxi email [--] tel:[--]

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DplusH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2009

We stayed at Periyar Nest for 2 nights in April 2009 with our 2 adult sons and one girlfriend. It is a lovely place, set at the edge of the wildlife sanctuary . The rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean . The only downside was there was nowhere to store or hang clothes, but, for 2 nights, this was not a major problem. But what makes this place so special is the owner, Kabeer, his wife and family, and his staff. They are, without exception, perfect hosts.
As it was our wedding anniversary we had asked if a special dinner could be prepared. Over 20 dishes took most of the afternoon to be prepared by Kabeer's wife, who was happy to let us watch her at her work. Just before the appointed hour we were asked to leave the property and "go for a walk". With our driver, Subhash, leading the way, we returned after 15 minutes to find the garden decorated with dozens of burning oil lamps. Just inside the gate, Kabeer's 5 year old daughter hung garlands around our necks, wishing us a "Happy 24th Anniversary". What a delight she is! We were then escorted up the path past the bungalows to the garden where we were to eat, to be greeted by more oil lamps and a roaring log fire.
The food was brought on a succession of dishes and it was extraordinarily good. A real taste of Kerala. And then the children appeared bearing a cake that had been specially ordered by Kabeer. After we ceremonially cut the cake, we invited everyone to join us and the children needed no second asking!
It was a delightful evening. Kabeer and co. just could not do enough for us, and it was clearly a genuine pleasure for them to make it such a special evening for us. As the fire died down we wandered back to our bungalow along the oil-lamp-lit pathway after an evening we will never forget.
Thank you, Kabeer, your wife and children, and your staff. We would certainly come back and unreservedly recommend Periyar Nest to anyone who wants either just a couple of days relaxation or to celebrate a special occasion. All you have to do is ask!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Provarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

Periyar Nest is nicely situated at the edge of the Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary.
The rooms look like small bungalowes with a porch. They are spacious and clean and equiped with TV.

Kabeer, the owner, and his staff are very friendly and helpful.
On our first night he arranged dinner for us which we enjoyed with candle light after a thunderstorm took out the power in the entire village.

The second day Kabeer arranged a trekking and a boat trip through Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary. For this he sent along someone from his staff who helped us with the paperwork, got us a private guide through the park and waited for us to see if we needed anything else when we got back.

On our departure day we asked Kabeer if he could help us with transport to Allepy. He called a taxi for us, the price which was much lower than similar rides in Tamil Nadu.

Periyar Nest is a grreat place to relax. Kabeer and his team will look after you really good.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MaartenVWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2008

stayed with my girl friend three days in periyar nest that was the high lights of our holiday in india. kabeer and his family are the perfect host they helped us with all the information we need about the town and the wild life reserve. the rooms are spotless very clean with insuit bathrooms and solared hot water shower. kabeer wife hariza cooked for us the most delicious traditional kerla meals. the views from the rooms are over looking the jungle with it's trees and coloured birds. all together it was very peacful full of very good memories about the family and the periyar nest.we just loved it.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank jungledreamtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2008

We stayed with Kabeer and his family for 2 nights and loved this place.
Kabeer is a successful young, business owner that is eager to please. He also owns a spice/tea store in the village.
It was pretty chilly at night but there were lots of blankets and hot water and masala chai to keep us warm. Kabeer also serves up a delicious dinner for you if you wish.
Kabeer constructed this place in the last year or so...the rooms are large, fresh and clean. The property borders on the sanctuary, so one has nice views of the open area/jungle. It's a nice quiet spot here but is within easy walking distance to the main part of town.

Kabeer made affordable arrangments for us to the tea and spice plantations, a jungle trek (it was misty that morning so we didn't spot any animals, but it was a nice jaunt regardless!), a car hire to Munnar, etc. He is a sweet man with an infectious giggle and smile and is a wealth of information.
I thought I had photos of our room here but I can't find them!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank giddyup07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews