We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel but needs renovation”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Malabar Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Malabar Palace
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Kozhikode
Pune, India
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good hotel but needs renovation”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Ideally located at the heart of the city. Just a KM away from the railway station.
Stayed there twice over the last one month. Decent rooms (Though some of them may smell cigarettes). Not very stylish or polished like new Hotels.
Rooms: Decently big and spacious with TV and cable connection and other basic amenities. Carpet laid floors can make the room a bit smelly if not properly kept.
Restrooms are decent

Restaurant: Is really good with good options of food. Lunch buffet is also worth the money. Room service is also nice.

Cons: Really bad corridors with water leaking from every corner of the centralized AC system. Pretty badly kept.. Rest is okay for a business traveler.

Room Tip: Rooms on fourth floor seems to be better than 3rd/5th!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank harisreez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    28
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
18
9
6
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

A very nice property to stay in Kozhikode, with great kerala food, nice ambiance and humble and well groomed employees. Rooms are very clean and nicely maintained. One must make it a point stay atleast once whenever visited Kazhikode.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smborole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I and my family stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on our way from a trip to Wayanad. It's a regular city hotel, which is centrally located. The restaurant has got both buffet and a-la-carte options.
, but the food was ordinary and only the local specialities were better like app am and fish. The rooms are smallish but some have a balcony with a view. No real facilities for kids. There are some nice restaurants at walking distance. Kappas beach is about 20 Kim's away. Service staff is courteous.

Room Tip: Prefer the rooms with balcony or terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nashp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

was here on 2 feb, 2012 for a single day. had buffet lunch at dawn the multi cuisine restaurant which had a good spread for Rs.300/-.which was more than worth for money.the staff were courteous and helpful. good spacious well appointed rooms and well maintained. Keep the good work going

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sandy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madras
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Stayed at this place on feb 1st for two days. The Moment we enter the lobby feel like we have stepped into a palace.. the lobby is so huge and spacious. and so are the rooms. excellent food too.. wonderful location, which to me is very important to me..

Room Tip: real value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank manoj a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Just stayed for a single day. The location of the hotel is superb but the hotel has not been renovated for atleast 2 decades. The rooms are ordinary and the washrooms are in a bad shape and is not worthy of 3 star hotel. The breakfast was nice but there was no staff who was attending to you or anyone. No one was there to ask for any assistance and you have these 3 to 4 waiters gossiping the entire time I was having breakfast and literally had to get up walk to them and ask for something which was amiss. The place needs a make over that also urgently and some good staff to keep the place running smoothly.

Room Tip: I would say choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank maxmanav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kozhikode hotels

Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
421 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Had high hopes from seeing outside, the rooms are shabby and the furniture were dirty. Dimly lit rooms and non functional a/c made things worse. Food was tolerable and room service is passable.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yesarar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kozhikode hotels
0.8 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Beach Road Calicut
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marina Residency
Hotel Marina Residency
#6 of 37 in Kozhikode
264 reviews
5.8 mi away
Copper Folia
Copper Folia
#5 of 37 in Kozhikode
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Keys Hotel Malabar Gate
Keys Hotel Malabar Gate
#13 of 37 in Kozhikode
61 reviews
7.9 mi away
Park Residency
Park Residency
#10 of 37 in Kozhikode
93 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel King Fort
Hotel King Fort
#9 of 37 in Kozhikode
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malabar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malabar Palace

Property: Malabar Palace
Address: G H Road, Kozhikode 673001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kozhikode
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Kozhikode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Malabar Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manuelsons' Malabar Palace is situated in the heart of the bustling City of Calicut (Kozhikode) at Manuelsons Junction, Mananchira which is less than 1 km from the Kozhikode Railway Station and the City Bus Stand and 26 kms from the Calicut International Airport. Calicut's business and trading centers are just around Manuelsons' Malabar Palace The first classified star rated hotel in all of Malabar, we are now a 4-star rated luxury business hotel that is a perfect partner for the business traveler with all facilities that you need to make your stay both pleasurable and productive. Unwind in one of the 52 luxurious furnished, centrally air conditioned suites, executive rooms with extended balcony or standard rooms. Room service, direct dial telephone, individual thermostat control, cable TV- as you can see, we have your comfort in mind! Start each day with a complimentary bed coffee/ tea and buffet breakfast. For an ideal way to end a strenuous day step in to Bottoms Up, our bar. Its intimate and restrained atmosphere helps you relax. If your mind is still on business, this is a great place to take your business associates for a brainstorming session. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Malabar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malabar Palace Kozhikode, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing