We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Truly terrible place”
Review of Malabar Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Malabar Palace
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Kozhikode
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
429 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“A Truly terrible place”
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Had high hopes from seeing outside, the rooms are shabby and the furniture were dirty. Dimly lit rooms and non functional a/c made things worse. Food was tolerable and room service is passable.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yesarar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    28
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
18
9
6
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kochi
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

It is a very old hotel in a good location. Rooms are very bad. Bed was not good. Switches are old. TV was not good. Bathroom was not good. Lift was scary. Restuarant was very good. Had candle light dinner. There was noise from the bar in the hotel and music was playing loud from party hall.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aajk007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kozhikode hotels

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Excellent hospitality and good food. the location is in heart of the city.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarathja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel on 2-3 occasions.... Hotel is located in the heart of the city, about 10 min car drive from the main beach. Service is fine. Rooms as such are okay. Good size. Bathroom is also decent sized. Breakfast was good....

Coming to some negatives. The place needs some renovations desperately. Everything looks outdated. The bed sheets had holes due to Cigarette buds. Bathroom also needs up gradation. I believe its an old property. I am sure they can maintain the same flavor but not by compromising on the comfort aspect of guests.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AshishPuri11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

We stayed for one night at Malabar Palace hotel, Calicut. The outside facade of the hotel looks good and the reception area is done up well. But thats where the good impression ends. The moment we got into the lift to go to our room, we could see the toll, the years have taken on this hotel. The paint had chipped off, the glass was not clean and the floor of the lift was threadbare. On reaching our floor, we found puddles of water in the corridor at specific intervals. It seems the centralised AC was leaking. Our room was no better. It was spacious yes, but the toilets were not well maintained. The toilet seat was yellowed with age. The sink was chipped and dirty. The toilet roll holder had dirt all round it. The towels smelled and were not clean. After a call to housekeeping, we got one new towel which was clean. The dustbins had stuff sticking to it and no dusting had been done in the room.
And for all above, the charge is exorbitant.
On the positive side, the staff at the reception and restaurant were very polite and helpful. The breakfast included in the cost was very good. The breakfast buffet had a spread of southindian and continental dishes. The juices were fresh, cut fruits good and general quality of food was good.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jktra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MALABARPALACE, General Manager at Malabar Palace, responded to this review, October 21, 2010
Dear Guest,

I have noticed the review in trip advisor..
Well I appreciate you to give us the right feedback.
As I have joined in this hotel since May 2010 I am giving full effort to sharppen the hospitality and facilities. As in the review we have noticed all the genuine suggessions.
Now we have started renovation part by part from one floor to another.

I assure you that next time when you visit you will feel the difference.

Thanking you
with regards,

Anish Jacob Kavalam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2010

I have been staying in the hotel for a very long time & recommed it highly, with hope that the tiny improvements required will be made...

The warm service starts at the counter - it makes a great difference to a tired, weary journey, when the face across the counter smiles & says "Welcome back to --- hotel, Mr. XYZ" even though you stay there just 4 0r 5 times a year. Malabar Palace is 1 such place.

The warm & quick service is everywhere. People remember you everywhere. The reception, the restaurant, housekeeping. Mr. Renjith Lal & Mr. George seem to have a good thing going. And I guess the frequent stayers appreciate that as well. I bumped into Manoj K. Jayan (a Malayalam film star on more than 1 occassion here) (& other lesser known artistes as well)

HOWEVER, what is a letdown is the maintenance in the rooms. I could be nitpicking, but health faucets arrived in the hotel only about a year back, whereas they were there in much lower hotels far earlier. (We are Indian, after all) And most of all, the dustbins in both locations had about a hundred cigarette stub-outs on them. (No ashtrays?)

But other than that (I have seen my earlier suggestions being implemented, slowly, but surely) the Malabar Palace is a great hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MALABARPALACE, General Manager at Malabar Palace, responded to this review, October 21, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thanking you for the valuable suggessions.
We are grateful for being with us.

Expecting your future supports.

Thanks with regards

Anish Jacob Kavalam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2009

I had stayed at this hotel when i visited on a business trip. the hotel is one of the older properties in the city. the rooms are large and very spacious. however i found that the property needed a bit of repairs and maintenance. the best part of the hotel was that it was abdsolutely in the centre of town and my work was less than 5 minutes away by cab. as i only stayed at the hotel for 1 night i did not mind the rooms condition too much as the advantage of location was more important to me. would definately stay here again if i had to visit again for business. thaugh there may be other newer hotels, this property is definately got the best location.

  • Liked — the central location
  • Disliked — the hotel needs a coat of paint and maintenance
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dart69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MALABARPALACE, General Manager at Malabar Palace, responded to this review, October 21, 2010
Greetings From Malabar Palace, Kozhikode, Kerala

Dear Guest,

Thanking you for the valuable suggestions.
We are grateful for being with us.

Expecting your future supports.

Thanks with regards

Anish Jacob Kavalam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kozhikode hotels
0.8 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Beach Road Calicut
7.9 mi away
Park Residency
Park Residency
#10 of 38 in Kozhikode
97 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marina Residency
Hotel Marina Residency
#6 of 38 in Kozhikode
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Keys Hotel Malabar Gate
Keys Hotel Malabar Gate
#14 of 38 in Kozhikode
64 reviews
2.6 mi away
Copper Folia
Copper Folia
#5 of 38 in Kozhikode
156 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyson Heritage
Hyson Heritage
#7 of 38 in Kozhikode
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malabar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malabar Palace

Property: Malabar Palace
Address: G H Road, Kozhikode 673001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kozhikode District > Kozhikode
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Kozhikode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Malabar Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manuelsons' Malabar Palace is situated in the heart of the bustling City of Calicut (Kozhikode) at Manuelsons Junction, Mananchira which is less than 1 km from the Kozhikode Railway Station and the City Bus Stand and 26 kms from the Calicut International Airport. Calicut's business and trading centers are just around Manuelsons' Malabar Palace The first classified star rated hotel in all of Malabar, we are now a 4-star rated luxury business hotel that is a perfect partner for the business traveler with all facilities that you need to make your stay both pleasurable and productive. Unwind in one of the 52 luxurious furnished, centrally air conditioned suites, executive rooms with extended balcony or standard rooms. Room service, direct dial telephone, individual thermostat control, cable TV- as you can see, we have your comfort in mind! Start each day with a complimentary bed coffee/ tea and buffet breakfast. For an ideal way to end a strenuous day step in to Bottoms Up, our bar. Its intimate and restrained atmosphere helps you relax. If your mind is still on business, this is a great place to take your business associates for a brainstorming session. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Malabar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malabar Palace Kozhikode, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing