We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very ethnic and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Raviz Resort & Spa, Kadavu
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Kozhikode
Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India
1 review
“Very ethnic and relaxing”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Visited Calicut/Kozhikode for the first time for some work in Feb. 2013 and had to stay for a day. More on the off-season side since it was quite and humid that time.
This property is the quintessential resort setup - open reception/lobby, lush greenery (with palms:), back-water opening cottages, neat amphitheater and the overall architecture. I had a prior tele booking done and check-in was rather smooth, with a refreshing welcome drink! Because of the off-season, the manager was pleased to offer me a cottage at a price only fractionally higher than the standard room. The room (cottage) itself was neatly set and quite spacious, although nothing special apart from being directly opening to the backwaters with a nice view. The multi-cuisine restaurant offers nice ethnic malabar cuisine in addition to indian and continental options and the food was quite good.
Did not try the Ayurveda Center so no views on that but the Center looked decent. Plus not much to do in the evening although they screen movies in the evening sometimes - confirm with the manager before hand.
The location is far from the main city so that point may be kept in mind.
Overall a decent relaxing option and recommended.

Room Tip: Cottages are set in duplex form - choose the one on the top for a good view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shobhit_Ag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    188
    109
    32
    28
See reviews for
201
136
23
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

* fabulous location
* nicely built architecture
* good food... but varieties less..
* courteous staff.... service was good.
* for request of a band-aid for a small injury... the staff brought the doctor itself to attend...
* balcony window glass panes opening ....unsafe for children...
* pool was good...
* ayurveda centre is good

Room Tip: stay in the cottages...lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjbhuvanesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
247 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The name 'Kadavu' or river bank in Malyalam aroused my curiosity. The so-called 5 star resort is set on the banks of river Chalayar near Calicut. The setting is incredibly beautiful. There are lush green trees all around. It's pretty & natural.

The architecture is quite authentic and well laid out for a relaxing resort. The native artifacts seem a little over the top. The wood works could have been classy.

The cottages have a lovely view of the river. Very calming indeed. The Ayurveda Centre is quite good. The massage room is overlooking the flowing river. Incredible!!

But the story ends here. The service is pathetic. Food is just average. The rooms badly need refurbishing. The hotel is currently owned & run by NRI Ravi Pillai. But the good news is ITC Hotels is soon taking over the running of the resort.

So it's a wait game now....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ranjeet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

5 star?
R u kidding?
Try 2 or 3!!!
There is really nothing nice about this hotel Huge disappointment! Rooms are old and ordinary. The balconies are dirty. The property itself is poorly kept and managed. The pool...... yikes!!!! Swamp water! The food is HORRIBLE!!! Enuf said!!!

Room Tip: 4th floor overlooking the river. They have these cute bay window type places where u can sit and rel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DuleepD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangalore, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I had arranged engagement function of my daughter. The total expected guest was around 550 and I had done the buffet lunch accordingly. But when I got the bill to my surprise it was 600 persons. The quality of food is average. They charged Rs.650/- per person. The quality of food thaey offered does'nt worth Rs. 200/-. The pandal in whihc they served the food was shaby and horrible. The service was very poor and far below any star rated hotels.
Look for a better place if anyone is planning any function at this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank warrior63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Kadavu, General Manager at The Raviz Resort & Spa, Kadavu, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

At the outset please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you while dining at Raviz Kadavu.

We appreciate your constructive feedback and assure you that I will personally address your concerns and we will appropriately work on some of the grey areas highlighted by you on a war footing.

At Raviz Kadavu we take great pride in our product and services and I would like to highlight that we are rated amongst the finest hotels in Kerala by our valued patrons. I would like to request you to take this experience, as an one off instance and assure you of the best of services which is truly synonymous to Kadavu.

I hope that you will give us another opportunity to make amends and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you Raviz Kadavu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

The property has everything going for it, well planned, beautiful views, proximity to the airport, backwaters, etc. But the place is poorly managed. Right from the check-in to the rooms and restaurant, everything is in a disarray.
Check-in took us 30-40 mins !! Then when we get to our room (a cottage), and lo behold, we found the room to be dirty, moldy (this place is supposed to be an Ayurvedic retreat), dresser door broken (see pics). We asked to be moved to a different room and there was no much of a difference. This place needs a major overhaul !!! When I complained at the reception, all they had to say was they were sorry (no manager around). The walk to the cottages takes you through the 1st floor, which was under renovation so all you see was the mess in the passage.
As I mentioned, this place has everything going for it. We were able to enjoy the pool, the views, good food, etc. wish it was managed better. The best part of the property is their Ayurveda Center. The masseuses and the director are excellent. We loved our massages. Make sure you consult with them ahead of time. Certain therapies need advance preparation.
Pointers for the management:
- change the roof, you have leaks all over. Even after using the false ceiling tiles, one can see the mold. Don't just renovate the room by replacing the ceiling tiles, fix the problem.
- the cleaning crew needs to be supervised and trained. The bathroom, closets, and even the linens were dirty.

Hopefully the message gets through. Hate to see the property go wasted.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nykonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Kadavu, General Manager at The Raviz Resort & Spa, Kadavu, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the feed back,

I deeply regret that during your stay with us, you have not encountered the level of service that you expected from our hotel. In our business, it is extremely important to be sensitive towards our guest and their expectations in a humble, warm and genuine manner. Obviously, we failed in handling these expectations during your stay with us.

We are in the process of renovating rooms which will iron out most of the issues related the product up gradation.

But our utmost focus will be on better service rendering and continuously giving professional service approach to all guest needs.

It is feedback from esteemed guest like you that helps us to constantly introspect our systems and procedures and assists us in striving for better services to our guest.

Nothing is more important than regaining your trust and all of us here hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you once again at Raviz Kadavu and provide you with an experience that you rightfully expect from us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerala
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed for one night only. Check in was smooth....front desk helpful. Traditional kerala arch. may please few.....not me though. Cottage was well placed with good view and away from the hustle bustle.Good things end there ...room furnitures / fixtures left a lot to be desired. Bed side plug point when switched on to charge mobile at night....switches on bedside lamp. You can either charge mobile and sleep in a well lit room or can't do either. To cap it no night lamp . kitchen sink and cupboards are provided but no kitchenette. Guy who has designed the bathroom should be commended. ....its a cramped space. You can use the shower only if you stand in the bath tub*!!!. Water from shower curtain drips only to the dry area!#. Swimming pool is clean and changing rooms good. Dining area is clean and comfortable. Food is okay.

If you can adjust in the room all other things are pretty good....but then you don't check into a resort to be cramped in a dingy worn down cottage. Alas there is no alternative !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adithya07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Kadavu, General Manager at The Raviz Resort & Spa, Kadavu, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

I deeply regret that during your stay with us, you have not encountered the level of service that you expected from our hotel. In our business, it is extremely important to be sensitive towards our guest and their expectations in a humble, warm and genuine manner. Obviously, we failed in handling these expectations during your stay with us.

It is feedback from esteemed guest like you that helps us to constantly introspect our systems and procedures and assists us in striving for better services to our guest.

We also like to inform that we are in the process of complete renovation of rooms which will iron out most of the technical issues which you have mentioned.

Nothing is more important than regaining your trust and all of us here hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you once again at Raviz Kadavu and provide you with an experience that you rightfully expect from us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kozhikode hotels
7.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Beach Road Calicut
0.0 mi away
Vasco Da Gama Beach Resort
Vasco Da Gama Beach Resort
#15 of 38 in Kozhikode
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
4.8 mi away
Copper Folia
Copper Folia
#5 of 38 in Kozhikode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hotel King Fort
Hotel King Fort
#9 of 38 in Kozhikode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
2.0 mi away
Park Residency
Park Residency
#10 of 38 in Kozhikode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Residency
Hotel Marina Residency
#6 of 38 in Kozhikode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raviz Resort & Spa, Kadavu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raviz Resort & Spa, Kadavu

Property: The Raviz Resort & Spa, Kadavu
Address: NH 17, Calicut Bypass Road | Azhinjilam P.O. Malappuram District, Kozhikode 673632, India (Formerly WelcomHotel Raviz Kadavu)
Location: India > Kerala > Kozhikode District > Kozhikode
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kozhikode
#3 Spa Hotel in Kozhikode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Raviz Resort & Spa, Kadavu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of River Chailyar, The Raviz Resort & Spa, Kadavu offers you a unique getaway. The resort offers you a range of accommodation ranging from rooms, cottages, suites & even option of staying on a house boat. The food & beverage options include *Oottupura, the multi-cuisine coffee shop serving buffet breakfast, a-la-carte orders for lunch and dinner.. Zirkon, the cocktail lounge, where one can enjoy a range of beverages with breathtaking views of Chaliyar River. Kadavu Ayurveda Center, which is green leaf certified, offers Authentic Ayurveda therapies in a picturesque setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Raviz Resort & Spa, Kadavu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kadavu Resort & Ayurveda Hotel Kozhikode
Kadavu Resort And Ayurveda Center
Kadavu Hotel Kozhikode
Kadavu Hotel Ayurveda Center
The Raviz Resort & Spa, Kadavu Kozhikode, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing