We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good hotel.. But, not a real resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Raviz Resort & Spa, Kadavu
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Kozhikode
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Pretty good hotel.. But, not a real resort”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We wanted to do something different for new years and decided to try out Kadavu for a 4 day New years vacation.

The airport is good 20-30 minutes away from the airport. Everyone knows this place and hence, getting to it (as an outsider who doesn't know much about the city) was a breeze.

Check-in was smooth, the staff at reception was friendly, efficient and answered all the questions. We had booked the "Superior River-view" room after reading a lot of tripadvisor reviews and it was totally worth it. The room was spacious, very well appointed, very comfortable beds, huge balcony with comfortable chairs where you can sit and enjoy the views or read a book.

The pool looked very inviting and was clean though we didn't really spend much time in there. You can walk along the river as well. Now, here are our reasons why we wouldn't call it a resort..

1. We were told there are multiple options for dining (they have fixed their website since and show 3 places). The staff was honest once we got there saying they "had" them and now, they just have one place. There was a buffet area and another area overlooking the river just outside the buffet area. The views from the "lounge" were nice but they just served some stuff that was available in the buffet area. The food was pretty good and service was alright.

2. A lot of locals frequent this lounge.. while it is not really a problem it can get louder and you don;t really feel that you are in a resort. The other problem we faced was too many strangers came and knocked on the room door only to say "sorry "wrong room" or asking for someone we had no clue about and we were on the thrid floor!! I would expect hotel to ensure that only people with room keys get to move around the place freely and not everyone.

3. The bar's beer menu is like Ford's Model-T.. You can get anything you want as long as you ask for what they have in the fridge. They do not believe in serving you a cold beer at all even when Calicut is generally pretty hot and humid.

4. It is pretty hard to get an appointment for a ayurveda massage .. May be because it was new years and way too many people. WE had to wait until the day we left for a massage. Wife told me it was very good ans worth the money spent.

5. They have boat tours in the morning and evening.. but try getting a place in the boat :-) We were told both sunrise and sunset boat trips are either booked full or not available. We were offered a tour for couples at a price we thought was a bit outrageous.

6. They do have some evening events.. but most are probably interesting for first time india visitors with events like henna, cocount tree climbing demonstration etc (at least, that's what they had when we were there)

They had a new year party... but it was "outsourced" to an external agency and the hotel could not sell the tickets to the event held in their premises. We were also told that most of the crowd will be locals and tickets have to purchased from the outside event organizers. We gave it a pass after giving it a thought. They did arrange for a new years dinner around the pool and it was packed with locals and we had to fight pretty ahrd with the hotel managers to get a table. The dinner was good, we were told they have run out beer and have only one brand in stock which was alright by us. There was some music (the same which was played in the buffet area the previous night).


Bottom line, there are not too many options in calicut and if you are going to be there, you will probably stay here.. But, we wouldn't consider calicut as a destination anytime soon :-)


Note: The rooms and the property are located such that you can;t see sun rise or sunset anywhere .. you probably have to get to the bridge that's just outside the resort.

Room Tip: Get the superior river view room.. book your ayurveda spa well in advance.. they also have houseboat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheshagiri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    195
    110
    32
    27
See reviews for
208
137
23
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level Contributor
159 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Situated right on the banks of Chaliyar River this resort offers you a serene backwater spot for total relaxation. rooms are so tastefully decorated. The whole ambience gives the look of traditional Kerala architecture. Right from the reception till your departure be assured of a lifetime's experience. Close to the Calicut Airpot, (12 km) and close to Feroke in Kozhikode this is easily accessible. If you have a business meeting there, the resort has a palatious conference hall and a business centre.
The food is a delight to any connoiseur. Multi cuisine restaurants mand buffet spreads satisfies any tatse.
Try out the spas and you will never be satisfied with any thing less in any other hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sbchand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I booked this for our last night in Kerala through booking.com. When we got there we found it to be just what we needed after a long travel and some rough and ready accommodation we stayed at in the hills. The wifi was chargeable and expensive so I had a made an issue of it as this is unusual in India. They kindly offered to make an exception and give it to me for free which I appreciated. The pool was delightful, the evening entertainment wonderful and the buffet dinner and breakfast very good. The beds were comfortable but it needs a bit of sprucing up to be considered a good 5 star hotel. Its not far off though! Note if you book through booking.com that there is tax to go on top so the room with all the extras ended up being very expensive (but worth it cos we thoroughly enjoyed our day and night). Its handy when flying from the local airport.. about 20 mins ride. Oh one major gripe is that they book your taxi to the airport for you and charge you twice the going rate!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I have stayed here twice before and was enchanted by the service and the location. The location remains the same, but I didn't feel the same warmth in service. Not only that the property is set in a good location facing backwaters, but the hotel itself looks tired with wear and tear. I will go back again if Kadavu regains its lost charm.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

A 3 days trip to the City with plenty of time left for recreation and a 'Spa resort'. sounded good at that time. The entrance and the lobby look very good. The welcome was very friendly with the ladies at the desk leaving no stone unturned in making us feel at home.

A 5 minute delay and the rooms were ready. Our rooms faced the river,pretty nice,I'd sit in the balcony look at the river (which barely had any activity ) and sip a drink. The room however was pretty average.

The room was spacious but not luxurious from any angle. the mini bar was empty, it had a small 30 inch Tv on the wall with a pretty sad supposed 'HD' set top box. The bathroom was clean however the shower booth wasn't completely closed which made sure a lot of water went out and flooded the bathroom floor.

the air conditioning is inadequate and thankfully there was a fan. An over-weight companion of mine sweated through the night and was in discomfort for the most part owing to the heat.

If the Room was average the room service was pathetic. Not only is the food at this hotel below average the service is sub par too. The staff is very courteous however the time they take to do anything is bound to get anyone annoyed.

I ordered perhaps 50% items from their moderately sized menu. From pasta to prawns to kingfish to dal makhani to their desserts and i can safely say that the food is un-forgettable In a bad way.

Don;t expect any authentic tastes here unless you are going for Kerala beef/mutton based recipes. the fish had a raw smell/taste. the prawns while somewhat tasty gave me an upset stomach within hours. The sambar had loads and loads of coconut in it making it inedible. the northern dishes were full of salt for some reason. meanwhile any attempt at continental dishes was futile primarily owing to the cheese they used. Was it even cheese i am not sure

All in all use room service for boiled eggs, Juices or gulab jamuns for everything else u better find a better restaurant in the area.

The TV and the Fridge also made a lot of electric sound which was particularly annoying at night when it was all very quiet. There was also a noticeably annoying hum/whistle kind of a sound which i assumed was coming from the AC Duct. on the second night of my stay i couldn't take it anymore and got up in the night to search for the source of the sound but couldn't figure it out. i am guessing it was coming from outside. thankfully i was carrying earplugs which helped a little.

You can also book a houseboat ride at the resort which i did and it was very pleasant. We ordered some beers and sat on the deck of this houseboat while we were driven around the river for an hour. didn't see much except a few species of birds here and there but all in all it's a good way to chill with your friends and have a few drinks.

The pool is forgettable unless you just want to lounge around. it's 3.5 Ft deep.

Overall the only reason i would go back to this place would be for the Boat ride and the view. And perhaps the next time i would find another place to eat at.

Room Tip: The 5th floor provides good views !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank somedevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the cottage facing the river for 3 nights.
Excellent room, clean and well furnished. The balcony with the chairs was very cozy.
There was some conference going on and therefore the rooms were fully booked and most of the service was oriented towards the conf guests. As long as we went for the buffet breakfast/lunch it worked fine. Any ala carte food order or room service took plenty of time and not always resulted in good quality stuff. I expected to get some authentic Kerala dishes, but did not work out as planned, as we were forced to eat from the buffet.
As long as you had all the time in the world, the slowness might not be bothersome.

The complimentary house boat ride was very nice.

The front desk staff were helpful and so was the travel desk.

Would recommend it for the location. Check if any any events are happening before booking!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank san_gee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great location, set amongst trees and a river. It is an ideal place to enjoy the sunrise. The Bfast buffet is awesome, with a wide range of items.

The cottages are great, privacy is ensured. It is a treat simply walking around the resort. The seafood in the restaurant is specially noteworthy.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharathN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kozhikode hotels
7.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Beach Road Calicut
0.0 mi away
Vasco Da Gama Beach Resort
Vasco Da Gama Beach Resort
#14 of 38 in Kozhikode
78 reviews
4.8 mi away
Copper Folia
Copper Folia
#5 of 38 in Kozhikode
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hotel King Fort
Hotel King Fort
#9 of 38 in Kozhikode
132 reviews
2.0 mi away
Park Residency
Park Residency
#10 of 38 in Kozhikode
97 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hyson Heritage
Hyson Heritage
#7 of 38 in Kozhikode
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raviz Resort & Spa, Kadavu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raviz Resort & Spa, Kadavu

Property: The Raviz Resort & Spa, Kadavu
Address: NH 17, Calicut Bypass Road | Azhinjilam P.O., Calicut, Kozhikode 673632, India (Formerly WelcomHotel Raviz Kadavu)
Location: India > Kerala > Kozhikode District > Kozhikode
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kozhikode
#3 Spa Hotel in Kozhikode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Raviz Resort & Spa, Kadavu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raviz Kadavu is a Five star deluxe property having best of all facilities and comforts. Your trip to the God’s own country shall remain incomplete without being in the Raviz Kadavu Resort. The property is 12 km from Calicut International Airport and Kozhikode Railway Station. It represents a unique blend of ancient Mappila and Hindu culture aesthetically designed with traditional architecture to make you discover a different era. This traditionally built luxurious Resort is in the midst of nature on the banks of the Chaliyar River. With flowing gentle breeze, beautiful swaying groves, graceful coconut palms and glittering river, it is truly a heaven for nature lovers. One can experience high quality room facilities during your stay here, which includes television LCD/plasma screen, internet access – wireless, air conditioning, wake-up service, desk, provided to help guests recharge after a long day. The hotel also offers fantastic facilities, including fitness center, outdoor pool, spa, massage, children's playground, to help you unwind after an action-packed day in the city. Guests can enjoy palate pampering all day dining offerings at Keraleeyam, with a unique selection of a la carte menus as well as a buffet. Round-the-clock dining is also available in the comfort of your room. Garam, an al-fresco dining option specializes in grilled food, whereas Zirkon is a contemporary bar serving Cocktails and Mocktail creations. And nimble expert hands caressing your body and mind with centuries old Ayurveda treatment is heavenly. Its unique and languorous backdrop makes Raviz Kadavu Resort an ideal gateway into a tranquil ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your The Raviz Resort & Spa, Kadavu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kadavu Resort & Ayurveda Hotel Kozhikode
Kadavu Resort And Ayurveda Center
Kadavu Hotel Kozhikode
Kadavu Hotel Ayurveda Center
The Raviz Resort & Spa, Kadavu Kozhikode, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing