We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Raviz Resort & Spa, Kadavu
Nearby Hotels
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel King Fort(Kozhikode)(Great Value!)
$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Room Service
Copper Folia(Kozhikode)
$64
$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Park Residency(Kozhikode)(Great Value!)
$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$26
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hyson Heritage(Kozhikode)
$52
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$43
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (728)
Filter reviews
728 results
Traveler rating
315
223
122
35
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
315
223
122
35
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverback watersboat ridehouse boatriver view roomswimming poolthe cottagesayurveda centercoconut treesayurveda treatmentspecial thanksnatural beautygreat propertymemorable experiencecalicut airportget togethertravel desk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
577 - 582 of 728 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed here for 3N/4D and found the place to be comfortable. The icing on the cake was the friendly and courteous staff. One always found a smile on their faces. The location and ambiance is peaceful adding to the pleasure factor.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcariappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KadavuResorts, Front Office Manager at The Raviz Resort & Spa, Kadavu, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Kadavu resort and Ayurveda Centre and taking time out to share your experience.The Kadavu family is delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we enjoy being at your service.

It is such words of encouragement that makes our day and drives us in our commitment to improve the services and facilities offered to all our discerning customers.

We look forward to welcoming you back and assure you of an even better experience.

Regards

Sinduja Dilish
Front office Manager
R P Group Kadavu Resort and Ayurveda centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here for 4 D/3 N and we had a amazing time. The staff at the front desk, Sinduja, Arti & Mandakini were so helpful, courteous and that they made us feel at home. They guided us well, saw that the arrangements were proper and were prompt in everything. Any problem or query we had, they had the solution. The resort is just beautiful, well maintained . The pool is awesome, clean, silence . The gardens are well done and clean. The evening boat ride ( complimentary)at the backwaters is a good one . The Ayurveda massage ( included in the weekend gateaway) is acomplete rejuvenation ; proper time given and cleanliness and privacy maintained. Overall a superb stay, ever smiling and ever helpful staff.The cottage were facing the backwaters and has lovely interior and the outside deck gave a feel amidst nature. There is a play room for kids with card, chess, books, board games, table tennis. There is a well equipped gym but we never used it. All they need is to improve their restaurant food .

Room Tip: Cottages are the best .
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drgap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KadavuResorts, Front Office Manager at The Raviz Resort & Spa, Kadavu, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Kadavu resort and Ayurveda centre and taking time out to share your experience.The Kadavu family is delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we enjoy being at your service.
It is such words of encouragement that makes our day and drives in our commitment to improve the services and facilities offered to all our discerning customers.
We look forward to welcoming you back and assure you of an even better experience.

Thank you

Sinduja Dilish
Front office Manager
R P Group Kadavu Resort & Ayurveda Centre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

November, 2012

We visited this so called Resort for a quick lunch, as we were passing by. Since hygiene & service of hotels is questionable, we opted for the Kadavu Restaurant, where we can be sure about food quality. We reached at about 02:45 PM & were seated & ready to order by 3:00 pm. We were informed that a certain part of the kitchen has closed at this time & there were limitation to order from the full menu. Hmmm we thought well we need to order something Indian itself. After much discussions with the waiter, we settled for the Kerala Thalashery Briyani, understanding that it would arrive quickly. The clock ticked a good 45 mins before something was placed on our table. A soup pot filled with putrefied fruits was placed. On enquiry it was christened as a "fruit chat". In short, It wasn't pleasing & we didn't care for a second dip. The side dish yoghurt had turned sour, but manageable. By now it had been an hour from order. Whilst waiting I noticed 2 other guests visit the cash counter, enquiring on the delay in serving their order in a disgruntled tone. Felt relieved that we were no the only one being tested on our patience. Their order were just a soup & burger!!!

The food arrived, mine was Fish Briyani & my partner's Chicken Briyani. I must tell it was one of the best Fish Briyani that I have ever eaten. The fish was fresh & crisp with all the malabar spices & masala intact. It's a definite worth the wait & moolah (obviously 3 times the normal cost at non star hotels). However, my partner had a difficult time with her dish. The chicken disnt taste fresh & definitely took a toll on her appetite. The pickle too was good & is worth mentioning here.

At the end of our meal, the clock had ticked well past 04:30pm. Since we lost time enroute satisfying our hunger, we thought of making a dash ASAP on settling the bill. This too was "ordered", yes ordered similar to an item on the menu, as we had to scout for our waiter to ask him to bring the bill. Our time & patience were on the verge. Our infant also grew restless. The bill came, I put in the cash & waited yet another 10 mins before I caught hold of another waiter & asked him to settle it, as our waiter was playing hide n seek. This act proved to be a mistake, as this person went back to the cash counter & fell in a rapport with his colleague. The usual " Not my Table" attitude gleamed on his face. So much for the customer service!!! This really irked me. I went back to the counter & asked him to kindly free me from this hassle. He sheepishly smiled as if he's doing a great favor. After settling the bill i just walked away, intentionally leaving a smaller tip on my table, to show my dissatisfaction in the service.

So my recommendation is that if you planning for lunch, be there before "a part" of the kitchen closes. If late, have some snacks before you order. The main course, as it would take time. Have the waiter bring the bill along with the order, in case you're planning to leave soon.

The location of the resort was hard to find, as there were no sign board. I was just in front of it & had to ask around for it. Not easily visible from the road. Located in front of a toll booth area, causing traffic congestion, pollution & the noise is terrible. The road to the hotel is not maintained at all. I can't agree on the star rating awarded to this hotel.

I didn't stay here, but after reading some of the reviews here, I definitely would pay this hefty price for this kind of service!!

Note: The above is based on my personal experience & not biased with any personal or conflict of interest based opinion.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Good Stuff :)
-The food was Excellent!!!
-Surrounding and view was beautiful!
-Staff was helpful & pleasant..
-Kadavu gave a good essence of South India with its architecture, Interiors & cultural programmes. It was indeed very well maintained. -Swimming Pool was clean with good changing room & fresh towels

Lacks :(
-The Ayurveda massage was not very effective, We went for the Punarnava - though it claims to be a 60 minute massage session, It rather felt like regular oiling and then sending us for a bathe. There should be more focus on stress points to release locks (even for the single session of 60 mins). It would be good to provide the masseur with more training so that they are more proficient in massaging..(otherwise they were very pleasant - no qualms about that!)

Room Tip: Delixe Room with River View is where we stayed. Quite beautiful! (House Boats are also a must try!!!) :)
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DivyaUnni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Kadavu, General Manager at The Raviz Resort & Spa, Kadavu, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay at Kadavu Resort & Ayurveda Centre and taking time out to share your experience. The Kadavu family is delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us as much as we enjoyed being at your service.

With regard to your feedback on Ayurveda treatment undertaken, it is to be noted that Abhyanga Swedam, the treatment undertaken by you, consists of Ayurveda oil massage followed by a steam bath. Ayurveda oil massage is very different from the normal massage focussing on pressure points. However, we have noted that the treatment was not clearly explained to you and are taking steps to ensure that the treatment is clearly explained.

We look forward to welcoming you back and assure you of a better experience.

With kind regards

Peter J.Pulliattu
Area General Manager
RP Resorts Pvt. Ltd. / Kadavu Resort & Ayurveda Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

If you survive the obligatory harrowing drive to the hotel, you'll enjoy the lush greens and serene river that flank the establishment. For some reason, the whole experience, the local attire and the seemingly untouched forests reminded me of "A Passage To India."
Now seriously, it's a nice location, great view from the upper rooms, swimming pool, occasional entertainment programs as in local dancers, etc, make it an interesting place for a stay. What takes away from five stars is the quality of the rooms on the bottom levels which you get to through what seems like a dark basement corridor. Once inside, you'll see a not so well-thought out bathroom. It is very small with the door getting in your way when opened, and then to shower you have to enter the glass partition and stand in front of the spout before you can reach to turn on the water, and do a contortion to avoid the cold splash. The bathroom is not unclean, but you don't feel comfortable in it either.
There is a cabinet for clothes with slippers, and a small desk with cable hookup for free internet, otherwise wireless internet is chargeable.
The bed is comfortable and clean, but your sleep might be disturbed by the customers next room if they turn a TV on. The beautiful view outside is marred by tall walls separating the balconies, creating a narrow field-of-view.
The rooms on the upper levels have doors opening to the outside walkway, which surrounds a nice garden with the pool.
If you stay at one of the separate bungalows further down the property near the river, you'll enjoy a better stay owing to the spacious layout, furniture, kitchenette, and the nice patio facing the river- just get ready for an uphill walk up to the hotel restaurant or pool if in the lowest rooms. These rooms are also close to the boat dock, and while an interesting view, you'll hear those manning it and other workers talking loudly at odd hours. Same goes for the neighbors. If they're on the porch partying, forget your sleep, might as well join them.
The service from the staff is excellent as with many other hotels in India, but they have to deal with sub-standard elements of the hotel, such as constant power outages, followed by the resetting of internet and air conditioning service, a usually inoperative "business center" with a couple of outdated computers that will alternate between working and being catatonic at random.
The indoor restaurant is of average ambiance and good food quality. Much of the food is less salty than the usual hotel fare which is good. Breakfast is buffet-style and there's something for everyone.
All in all, Kadavu is not a bad place for a stay, whatever your reason for traveling, just insist on a room you like.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexn216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews