We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Official stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Beach Road Calicut
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Kozhikode
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Official stay...”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Have been here a lot of times... the rooms are just ok... during my initial stay the rooms were in pretty bad shape... though they have marginally improved upon that...the food also is not very good either just average... now the best part has to the pool... pretty good size... enjoyy your stay...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashish-bisht1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    162
    73
    20
    9
See reviews for
118
53
20
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here for four nights in February, 2013 and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
We loved the room, the shower was really nice - we read some of the previous reviews and someone said it lacked power; it was totally untrue in our case - ours was almost playing the role of some hydromassage tool. The bed was extremely comfortable and it was important to us, since we were in desperate need of rest, to which the swimming pool also contributed. The swimming pool area is nicely maintained, extremely clean and we took advantage of it every single morning during our stay there.You can serve your breakfast by the pool, you can relax in a perfectly peaceful environment. There coconut trees by the pool that complete the picture in a nice way.
The ayurvedic massage is also worth giving a try (my wife was totally impressed with the lady who did the massage for her).
Breakfast was amazing! Beautiful dishes to choose from and they also have a dosa/appam/omelette etc. station. The chef who prepares the dosas (unfortunately we don't know his name) was extremely nice. He was really caring and helpful and kind to us, especially on our last morning when he offered to prepare some snacks for us to have on our way to a different destination on a flight that was preponed and sort of ruined our plans (and sleep) for the day a bit. Thus, he offered to prepare some food for us, though we told him that we didn't want him to go through the trouble of waking up earlier than necessary (it was very early in the morning that we had left). He nicely packed everything for us and we did enjoy it.
They don't offer WiFi in the rooms, though this is something that we thought they would after having made the reservation through booking.com and it appeared in the hotel description as being offered. They offer it for a price but we thought it was not up to the standards of a Taj hotel to do this, since much, much more modest hotels in India and everywhere else in the world offer a wireless Internet connection that is included in the whole package.
One last thing to mention is the incredibly beautiful smell in the hotel lobby, toilets etc. that we totally loved (reminiscent of Malabar sandal oil).
We would certainly visit again if we were to go to Calicut.

Room Tip: Upper floor room - with a beautiful view towards the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby_g_6600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

You will love the interiors and service of The Gateway at Calicut. Location is also prime - very close to city, beach and airport.

Keralite food that they serve is extremely delicious. Lovely hotel to stay at.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AbdulfromTNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel was visited 8 months ago, and has improved noticibly. The management has made quite an effort to improve food, and upgrade to the pool has been superb. Presently upgrading the Ayurvedic Center, est 1 month to completion (1Apr). Needing improvement remaining are room furnishings and bedding. A/C is ok, but yields somewhat damp air. Local power cuts are frequent, but management has an efficient generator that cuts on within 10-25 seconds after a power outage.

Friendly and efficient staff more than makes up for the difficult operating conditions. One real improvement, the Indian Supreme Court outlawed "noise pollution" so the 4 mosques in the immediate vicinity with attendant loudspeakers have been silenced. Much traffic noise has also been eliminated.

Overall improvements and continuous progress mean a good visit.

Room Tip: ask for poolside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
206 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This was our first introduction to Kerala. Calicut isn't the most interesting city, but the beach is interesting, the people are without exception charming and it was a good jumping off point with good connections to the Gulf.

The Taj Gateway was comfortable, well-appointed and conveniently located for the center of town. It was about 40 minutes form the airport.

Our room was fine, comfortable and clean. The dining room served a wide variety of nicely presented Keralan specialities. The Chef was keen to prepare for us his versions of Dhosa and Appum, the latter being prepared to look like a lotus blossom…it tasted good too!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hct1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

simple, neat clean,no flamboyance, good food and service.. its a good hotel to stay at... very clean rooms, and spacious lobby, good cafe... makes for a good stay ... it has the old world charm to it.. away from the noise yet close to the city to make in time for meetings... i would prefer if the rooms were done in more modern style .... but no complaints... good for business stay.. not leisure or luxury

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Yesha19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivandrum
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I took my family on holiday to Kerala after Kumarakom The Zuri we went to Kovalam on 25/10/12. We Stayed here for 2 night.This hotels appeared to suit us. Located on the main road high above the beach,
The rooms were very pleasant. We had booked our room in main building having garden view. The Room had a very nice decorative furniture, its bathrooms were also nice,with all modern fittings. The room was very Spacious its Mattress was very soft.We had a good sleep in this room. The Hotel Environment was very pleasant.The Swimming pool, Restaurant and Buffet Breakfast was Excellent.
The whole about the hotel and foods were very good.
The Experience was nice after we meet BINAJ who was very helpful,nice,decent, & promising person. He was the only person in the hotel who was able to make me stay in the hotel or else i would have searched for another property.

My Opinion :- If you are planning to stay in this hotel and booking in advance then i would recommend you to say your traveler agent to book only in main building or else whole experience would become worst.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biju B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kozhikode hotels
3.3 mi away
Copper Folia
Copper Folia
#5 of 38 in Kozhikode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vasco Da Gama Beach Resort
Vasco Da Gama Beach Resort
#15 of 38 in Kozhikode
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marina Residency
Hotel Marina Residency
#6 of 38 in Kozhikode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel King Fort
Hotel King Fort
#9 of 38 in Kozhikode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.2 mi away
Westway Hotel Calicut
Westway Hotel Calicut
#12 of 38 in Kozhikode
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
8.8 mi away
Park Residency
Park Residency
#10 of 38 in Kozhikode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Beach Road Calicut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Beach Road Calicut

Property: The Gateway Hotel Beach Road Calicut
Address: PT Usha Road, Kozhikode 673032, India (Formerly Taj Residency Kozhikode)
Location: India > Kerala > Kozhikode District > Kozhikode
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kozhikode
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kozhikode
#2 Business Hotel in Kozhikode
#2 Spa Hotel in Kozhikode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel Beach Road Calicut 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spices and History. Beaches and Business. Calicut has it all. The Gateway Hotel keeps you close to the city centre while providing a smart retreat. Step out into this historic city and when you're ready, back to modern comfort tucked away in lush greenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Beach Road Calicut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Kozhikode
The Gateway Hotel Beach Road Calicut Kozhikode, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing