We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very peaceful.”
Review of Liberty House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kozhikode
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Liberty House
Ranked #20 of 44 Kozhikode B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This place belongs to Mr. Sukumar, in Kozhikode (calicut). Very nice location away fromcrowd and traffic just adjacent to the beach. Extremely clean and empty beach of miles and miles. This place has rooms on the first floor and ground, but one would prefer first floor which has a big bed room a lobby and a kitchenette. Food is cooked at home. If you want you can get fresh fish in the beach and cook it yourself. It is value for money and if I have a choice to stay here or in Goa I will prefer this place any day reason is the sea beach. Couple who are running the show are very polite and helpful. They must change their tiny TV set because one have to carry a magnifying glass to see it!!!

Room Tip: Always select first floor room. Nice specious and with a balcony where you can have a view of the se...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sugato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
There are newer reviews for Liberty House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 30 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2012

Liberty House is lovely. Our room had a lovely little outside lean-to lounge so if one of us was up earlier than the other (I was travelling with my teenage daughter so that was always) there was a comfortable light place to read, browsa, listen to music etc. Uma or the exxcellent help Mohan would bring me a cup of tea while I waited for the day to start. Some homestays are just small hotels but here you feel you really are in someone's home.
You are made to feel really welcome, eating the same food (ask for a special fish dinner), easy conversation and a great welcome.
We booked for six days and extended that to eleven.
The beach is the kind that doesn't exist in Europe now - miles long, white sand, but still almost completely deserted. It's all yours apart from a few fishermen, birds and the odd dolphin.
So peaceful there's few choices to eat out. V ordinary food in the 'luxury' hotel ten minutes walk away, but some lovely traditional resaurants a short busride away on Koyilandi (guessed spelling) where you'll need to go for the ATM.
You can also see where Vasco de Gama landed. Returning is a top travel priority for me.

Room Tip: Ask if prices are firm. There was some building noise near my room but the family sorted me out befo...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dearauntie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Liberty house has it all...a nice view to the arabic ocean from the hammoc in the nice fruit garden, excellent food and great hospitality!! The room we got was clean and temperered.
It was a national strike\protest so all public traffic was shut down, but we got all the help we needed to find out how to get to the railwaystation and when we could go there the next day after we arrived. We stayed only for one night, but if we have had more time we would absolutely stay there longer!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vinod Baba O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

At the offset, i would like to thank Mr. Sukumaran for a fanstastic 36 hours at his resort. We had actually planned for a two day trip, but unfortunately, my wife suffered acute back spasms and we had to cancel our entire 10 day trip in Kerala.

My intention was to bring forward the warmth and kindness extended by Mr. Sukumaran and the Liberty house staff during our stay, and helping us in this time of need.

Till the unfortunate turn of events, my family thoroughly enjoyed the stay and were treated very well by the staff. The rooms are neat and tidy. There is warm water when you need it. And the best of all, it is just beside a beautiful and clean beach. Coming from Mumbai, I was astounded by serenity of the place, and the sheer natural beauty. I plan to come back here when times are better. My 2 year old son still remembers the place fondly, and keeps asking when we are going back! MUST STAY!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MithunRaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We arrived at the Libertyhouse and could not recognize the place that was described in the other comments.

The place is a rubbish dump. Rooms are very dirty, rubbish bin in the bathroom with used tampons in it ...

Sheets were stained and filthy, The dust in the place is amazing, No WiFi and the owner made us wait 2 hours while he finished some urgent web surfing.

Our host spent a lot of time screaming down his mobile, especially next to us when we were eating.

When we shortened our stay from one week to one night, we asked the owner why the place was so full of rubbish: he replied " We had a party and did not have time to clear up".

I told him that I could do it in 30 mins...

Last issue: to get to the beach you have to walk around a long wall...

Avoid this place at all costs ...

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dlbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukumaran, Manager at Liberty House, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2012

Dear Mr. David,

We apologize for being unable to meet our usual high standards on your day of arrival.

As you have correctly mentioned, it was the day after the New Year party , which usually is our biggest party night of the year. We had some walk in guest and our staffs were working all night to accomodate the unscheduled arrivals. The temporary help we had arranged for the day after New Year did not show up at all which added to the confusion.

You are also right on the fact that we had to spend some time on the internet because we are mandated by the government to report online the arrival and departure of foreign guests within a small window of time. This is because we are a govt. approved home stay with gold standard.

We have provided accommodation for hundreds of foreign and domestic travelers since 2005 and have excellent reviews as you might have seen in our guest book. Ours is a family owned home stay and we usually do every thing in our power to keep our guests happy.

You being an entrepreneur will know that, sometimes things don't go as we plan. We had all intentions to provide you the best services, unfortunately we where overwhelmed by the circumstances beyond our control. We take this matter seriously and the management had reviewed the events that led to this situation. To avoid any such incidents in the future we have taken the following measures.

1 - We have reduced the reliance on temporary staff and hired full time employees.
2 - We have increased the number of garbage bins on campus and the frequency of garbage disposal.
3 - We have also come up with a standard after party follow up procedure to make sure that it has no negative impacts on the guests who are arriving the next day.

We thank you for bringing this up to our attention and hope that you will visit us again.

Managing Partner,
Liberty House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

I have travelled a lot, but I have never ever met a host like the one at liberty house. On new years eve he drove my family to calicut while he was hosting a party at home and not leaving us until he was sure that we were taken good care of. He is a gentleman who puts his guests needs before everyting else. And on top of that his sweet wife is a great cook and the beach right in front of the house is beautiful and perfect for kids.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank claus6142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

I spent couple days of my honeymoon at Liberty House, Kappad Beach in June; the beginning of rainy season in Kerala. It was not the busiest touristy season; hence we had the entire house to ourselves. We felt as if it was our own beach house. The hosts were awesome and very understanding. They let us alone to have a great time and catered us with good food at our request no matter what time it was.

The best part was the clear morning walks at the beach and the comfy rainy nights in bed, a perfect combination for honeymooners. We highly recommend this place to everyone because we had a great time and lots of good photos. Hope this place remains the same so many others like us can create and treasure beautiful memories in an affordable way.

Room Tip: The suite we stayed in was very comfortable. We couldn’t get Ayurvedic massage because we didn’t boo...
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Sam_Pinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kozhikode
0.0 mi away
Vasco Da Gama Beach Resort
Vasco Da Gama Beach Resort
#23 of 38 in Kozhikode
81 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renai Kappad Beach Resort
17.1 mi away
The Raviz Resort & Spa, Kadavu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Beach Road Calicut
11.0 mi away
The Raviz Calicut
The Raviz Calicut
#2 of 38 in Kozhikode
145 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hotel King Fort
Hotel King Fort
#9 of 38 in Kozhikode
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty House

Address: Liberty House Liberty House Cp 1/333 | Kappad Beach, Chemanchery P.O., Kozhikode 673304, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kozhikode District > Kozhikode
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Kozhikode
Price Range: $85 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liberty House - Kappad Beach is a Kerala Government approved Homestay. Liberty house is located inside 1.3 acre plot that overlooks the beach. Available facilities include AC/Non AC rooms with attached bath, 24 hrs hot and cold water, Beach view balcony. Other amenities include Pickup from and drop-off service to Calicut airport/train station/ City center, Traditional/Gourmet meal, Internet, Phone, Private Conveyance, and Laundry service can be arranged at the facility on demand. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Liberty House Kozhikode, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing