We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful building, helpful staff”
Review of Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 42 Kozhikode B&B and Inns
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
“Beautiful building, helpful staff”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We had a big and beautiful room upstairs, with ceiling fan, mosquito net and a windowed varanda to the sea front. The hotel could do better if it made a small investment, for it has a fab location and a beautiful building and furniture. It isnt cheap, though (3000 INR).

We had dinner at the garden, which was crowded with indian families. The food wasnt the best we had in Kerala, but it was ok.

The staff was very helpful. They helped us getting a train ticket the next day to Alapuzzha (it was sunday, and the train station had closed at 2 pm). They transferred us to a groundfloor room downstairs during the night, when a power failure left us without fan. That other room had an independent electrical system, and we got to sleep with A/C with no further charges.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boraibobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    12
    6
    8
See reviews for
12
12
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

I liked the situation, overlooking the seafront. I liked the heritage buildings and the furniture and the gardens. Our upstairs room was large and airy - the a/c did work for the two nights we were there - and I liked the big table and chairs on the glassed-in balcony. All the windows opened and the sea breeze blew in - admittedly with mosquitoes... I also liked the large bathroom, despite/because of the period fixtures and fittings! We were certainly not tempted to eat there, other than the mediocre breakfasts, but there was an excellent restaurant a short walk away. The service was very variable. Smart and luxurious it certainly isn't, but I'm glad we stayed there, though two nights were enough! The funniest thing was the 'guide' the hotel provided us with one day: he knew nothing! Armed with the Rough Guide, we knew far more than he did!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kewfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

We had a ground floor room-a/c not working for the first night but they did get it working for the second night. The hotel had potential but as other reviewers say, there is so much room for improvement. Prices are a rip off for what you get-not to mention the 20% ish extra luxury tax. It certainly should not be listed in the Lonely Planet.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mature-traveller49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kozhikode hotels

Frankfort, Michigan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Bar none, the worst service - uncommunicative, inattentive, disrespectful and the second floor room with glassed in balcony room was tired, and dirty. The front desk staff at check in was more interested in interacting with the young men milling about than checking in overnight guests or returning passports. Another 'staff member' spent his time trying to get us to the bar in inappropriate ways. Mosquito net was not tucked in so all of the mosquitos from under the bed were inside the net. A/C was broken with room temperature at 98 degrees F. No recourse. Directions given to get to a guide book recommended restaurant were inaccurate. Ultimately, but only after most unpleasant interactions, were we transferred to another hotel where the staff were impeccable in their care of us. We travel frequently and have never had this level of dissatisfaction with accommodations. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bilaspur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
223 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

This hotel, which should be wonderful considering the history and pleasant appointments, is banking on its past glory and not providing decent service. We checked in to find a large and pretty room -- but the sink in the bathroom was falling off the wall and the room was infested with mosquitoes (even under the netting on the bed!), plus the AC didn't work and the room was 34 degrees celsius (>90 F). After reporting these problems to the front desk and being assured that they would be fixed (well, not the sink), we went to dinner. When we returned -- no improvement. We were told, "just a few minutes" for more than 4 hours. The staff is busy helping customers at the bar/restaurant and could care less about tired travelers trying to stay the night. Eventually, after a loud argument in the lobby (as we couldn't get service in any other way), they transferred us to another hotel in the city.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SESNoVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

The room cost 4707 rupees including all taxes, for 3 people. 3000 for the room plus 1000 for an extra person. Why 1000? They keep a spare bed in all the rooms so it's no extra hassle. The most we paid for an extra bed anywhere else in Kerala was 300.

We had an early flight so wouldn't be able to have breakfast, so we asked for a light snack in the evening instead. We were told this would be OK, only for there to be a change of staff and for it to become not OK. We were offered a discount off a main meal instead, as the breakfast was 'free'. After speaking to the manager he offered us some soup and sandwiches, which was hot water with some carrot, with a cucumber and tomato sandwich.

They haven't got a clue how to treat a customer. I've stayed in places that cost a tenth of this place and received service, hospitality and room standards that would make them blush.

Here are my main concerns:

Rooms dirty, dead mosquitoes and filthy floor. We all ended up with black feet.
Bathroom very tired, fitted with a very poor shower.
Furniture looks cheap.
Asked for extra loo roll, plug in mosquito repellent and extra towel. Received towel only, which turned out to be a bath mat. Asked again for other items, and when the man came to the door he rang the doorbell and burst straight in.
Food rubbish.
Staff cannot authorise anything, they have to call the manager every time. There were 4 members of staff at the desk and not one of them could do anything. Bizarre.
Bed has a duvet on it. Of all the things you don't need in Calicut.
Mozzies will get under the loose fitting net, as my wife can prove from the bites on her arms and back.

PLEASE DO NOT STAY HERE. ITS A RIP OFF.

The rooms themselves are very nice and grand, but everything else around them is awful. Go somewhere else and spend a third of this for a much better experience.

Room Tip: Upstairs if you want high ceilings and windowed balcony, downstairs for garden veranda and AC. But i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welly67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

The hotel is the former British Malabar club and my room certainly reflected this, large spacious and airy with fan and a/c a double bed with full mosquito tent and a huge bathroom with victorian fittings which look like something from Nemos Nautilus. Outside the room I had a private screened patio with fan. I ate in the lawn restraunt the first night of a two night stay and had a very pleasant and reasonably priced meal. Breakfast was not up to the same standard and service was rather slow. Room service was reasonably prompt and the staff were friendly. Overall I found the stay pleasant and reasonable value for money and if i find myself in Calicut again I would happily use the hotel.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have a/c and a private patio, upstairs rooms have a sea view but no a/c.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hardlyableson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kozhikode hotels
0.5 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Beach Road Calicut
0.0 mi away
Vasco Da Gama Beach Resort
Vasco Da Gama Beach Resort
#15 of 38 in Kozhikode
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel King Fort
Hotel King Fort
#9 of 38 in Kozhikode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marina Residency
Hotel Marina Residency
#6 of 38 in Kozhikode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Queen Hotel
Sea Queen Hotel
#23 of 38 in Kozhikode
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
8.6 mi away
Park Residency
Park Residency
#10 of 38 in Kozhikode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hotel

Property: Beach Hotel
Address: Beach Road, Kozhikode 673032, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kozhikode District > Kozhikode
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kozhikode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Beach Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1890 to house the Malabar English Club,and changed hands as a hotel in early 40's. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Kozhikode, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing