We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveler rating
18
22
9
3
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
22
9
3
8
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 60 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2016 via mobile

This hotel has the potential to be top class but as it is new there are still some things to improve.
What works well- The entrance is clean, spacious and cool and the welcome from the staff was gracious and relaxed which makes you feel welcome after a long journey.
The room, a suite, was good for business or leisure. The bed was large and comfortable. Everything was clean.
The pool on the roof top was great. Clean and the perfect temperature.

For a 5 star hotel there could have been a little more attention to polishing mirrors and to doors where people's hands have constantly touched.
The plumbing was good although an option to fix the shower head above the bath would be better.
The wi-fi system was not very effective with a complex login and intermittent service. This needs to be addressed for business guests.
The food was good in the restaurant on the ground floor but could have a better variety.
Perhaps due to low season and low occupancy the spa, the main restaurant and the toilets and changing rooms by the pool were all closed.
There were also a couple of power outages while we were there whenever it rained.

If I go to Kottayam again I would definitely stay here and hope that the small issues I have mentioned will have been addressed.

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
1  Thank wanderer061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHRYS O BERYL H, General Manager at Chrysoberyl, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending your valuable time to review us. Your all observation about the minutes will help us to improve for our future. We will take all your points seriously to become our self perfect...

Team Chrysoberyl...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2016

My wife and I were on a one day visit to Kottayam and we did not feel like driving back to Thiruvananthapuram on the same day and hence decided to stay overnight. We had no real issues at the property although we felt that in terms of value for money, the facilities at the hotel seemed a bit lacking. We had expected a buffet breakfast but instead we had to order from a set menu. The treadmill machine in the gym was out of order and it appeared that proper maintenance had not been carried out. On the positive side, the room allotted to us was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Deepak N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHRYS O BERYL H, General Manager at Chrysoberyl, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feed back and the comments. The buffet was not due to low occupancy, on those days we will serve the Ala carte breakfast. The treadmill doesn't have any problem because we have the maintenance visit in all months. If you could let us know we would send our engineering team to set it and give. Once again thank you for finding out the time to give your valuable comments.

Team Chrysoberyl..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2016

Clean modern hotel, polite staff, buffet break fast was good. Roof top restaurant was not functional. Spa services are available onsite but you have to book it in advance and therapist comes from a near by spa.This is the best hotel around town centre, you will see a better hotel nearer to Chrysoberyl at Kumarakam only.

I saw in comments that this is classified as a five star hotel, but this is no where near a five star hotel. This can be an excellent three star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HariChingapuram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHRYS O BERYL H, General Manager at Chrysoberyl, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us and happy to hear that you have enjoyed the stay in all aspects. We all at Chrysoberyl thank you for rating us...

Team Chrysoberyl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2016

Excellent choice if you want to stay in the town itself. Easy to locate.

Food - Good tasty food but expensive (after all its 5star)

Amenities. Nice health club with facilities for the ladies also. Parlor and Ayurvedic massage (Didnt have time to try it). Swimming pool: Rooftop -Neat but Childrens pool missing. Depth was 4mtr so my 4year old kid couldn't play however floaters were provided for my elder daughter. Childrens play area (indoor) was too small and nothing outdoor.

Rooms - Ok but not upto the mark. The extra bed was very hard.

Toilet - Should have been bigger. Not much space to move around. No bath tub even though the pic showed bath tub. Clean towels. Toiletries were cheap.

Staff - Good but expected more warmth (its 5 star and you are paying for it, so staff should not be like a local lodge attender. Lady staffs were missing. Usually you are surrounded by beautiful ladies who cheer up your kids :-)) Didnt find any welcome drinks or any welcome, come to think of it.

Buffet - Missing (Huge loss!)

Entertainment - Nothing other than a cable tv with many of the international channels missing and of course HD missing - Uncle ka TV dabba hai. Wifi is fast but maybe becos there are very less customers.

Overall - Ok but lots of room for betterment. Since its new, hope on the run they will improve and make it the best. I will be visiting once more to see if they have changed - maybe next year or X`mas time.

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louieterence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHRYS O BERYL H, General Manager at Chrysoberyl, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review and your detailed valuable comments where we can correct ourselves in each and every points.. The bath tubs are only in or suit rooms, so next time when you stay try to choose our suit room so that the bathroom also are large in suit rooms. We started welcome drinks, thank you for your suggestion. Buffet is laid only on high occupancy days due to avoid the wastage of foods..kindly comprehend us even though we know the buffet is required. We will try our level best to improve our self with taking all your comments in positive way.. Pleasure to welcomes you for your next stay which could be a memorable one to you & us.

Team Chrysoberyl...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2016

We stayed at Chrysoberyl for 2 nights in July. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The service was excellent and the manager and staff were very accommodating to our needs. They were able to arrange transportation whenever we needed including from the airport in Cochin. The food at the restaurant was actually really good Kerala style food. The whole family enjoyed. Not all parts of the Hotel seem to be fully functional yet, (i.e. the spa and the rooftop garden restaurant) but that didn't affect us at all. Overall a very good experience!

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank selakkatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHRYS O BERYL H, General Manager at Chrysoberyl, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and the appreciation....

Team Chrysoberyl...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews