We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property”

Whispering Palms Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kottayam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whispering Palms Resort
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Kottayam
Vancouver
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful property”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is a very nice place to stay. Lovely clean outdoor pool, nice rooms, good restaurant. A great location beside the backwaters, you can take a canoe or motorboat ride to admire the other properties along the backwater, and fishers as well. Only downside is that there is no beach or way to access the water itself, so you will have to content yourself with cooling off in the large pool.

Room Tip: My friends recommend the ayurvedic massages here - reasonable price, good service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BK_Vancity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
12
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Telford, Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
132 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Lovely location, just the place to unwind after 2 weeks of travelling around Kerala. We arrived by houseboat, checked into our lakeside view cottage, lazed around the pool. We had 2 nights there, fortunately we had our own supply of alcohol with us as we were aware the hotel did not serve booze. Staff, in the main, were friendly and helpful. The service in the restaurant is appalling, so slow, even when hardly anyone in there. Food ok, not great. Room clean and had everything we needed. A good place to recharge the batteries.

Room Tip: Lakeside cottages for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mango676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Beautiful property. With a superb scenic location. Morning scenery is beyond words. If you have a good budget then u can stay at the bamboo cottages . Pool is excellent which faces the lake. Indoor games like carom & TT are also available. Food is good

Room Tip: lake view rooms & bamboo cottages will be a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anwar23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trichur
Level Contributor
111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Had a blast with friends and family...The house boat ride was amazing..! Food needs a special mention,...!

The view of sun rise and sunset was worth mentioning...Service was fine...!Privacy was provided for every cottage...!

Play area was worth it..Indoor games were worth mentioning...!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 11Vidya11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

For me a hotel is not about just scenic location and beautiful construction. A hotel or a resort is defined by its service and its staff, who actually makes the stay for their guests enjoyable, relaxing and memorable.

Abad Whispering Palms has a beautiful property located at perhaps one of the best locations of Kumarakom, but unfortulately it is ruined by the astonishing incompetence, deliberate negligence and downright disrespect of its guests. The staff, especially the restaurant staff has absolutely no regard for its guests and they don't give a damn about what they think.

We stayed there for 1 night for our family vacation. We booked 2 Bamboo Pool Villas and 1 Bamboo Villa. The rooms were great but let me share some of the experiences we had at the hotel.

At the dinner table we wanted some Salt and Lemon. We asked four different staff for the same but none of them got it for us. We finished our dinner without the same. We must have asked for the same about 7-8 times to all the different staff we could see there. At no point did we shout or were rude to them. After a while we could see them smiling and laughing with their co-workers every time we reminded them that we were still waiting for the salt and lemon. It was downright disrespectful and we felt so unwanted there.

We had ordered pasta and were told that it would take 20 mins for the same. After 30 mins had passed and there was no sign of the same we asked how long would it take and the staff said it is ready and he would bring it right out but he did not. This was repeated another 2 times. We could see the staff not even going to the kitchen to check he would just return to his old position and start chatting with his coworkers. After 1 full hour when half of our party had already finished their meal and returned to their rooms we finally got the dish and we asked why it took so long. The reply was "Do you want it or not"?

Apart from these there are a lot of other bitter replies and examples of rude staff behavior which was quite surprising and hard to believe. It was so bad we were even scared to let our children play alone in the play area and we spent most of our time cooped up in our room to avid seeing the hotel staff.

Though the check out time was 12. We checked out at 10 in the morning because we could not stand staying at a hotel which made us feel so unwanted.

I would not recommend this hotel and request the reader to stay away from this hotel if they do not want to spoil their holiday mood.

Room Tip: Select the rooms facing the lake to enjoy beautiful views outside your rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nilesh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Positives: Abad brand name, location, pool with lake view.
Negatives: No BAR, too expensive for the property available, unpleasant front office, not great food. Felt like locked up in a scenic jail! This is not a bad place if the tariff comes close to INR3500.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nairbarun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

it was only one night stay at Whispering Palm resort, during my travel to Kottayam for work.....but i loved the evening and morning at this beautiful resort.

food quality is just ok, not great ....i liked the variety of Kerala food items in dinner. breakfast not upto the mark, service at restaraunt was poor.

staff is friendly & helping. Swiming pool is well maitained with beautiful back waters view.

one big negative is -NO BOOZE at hotel....

Room Tip: stay at rooms with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arunbhati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kottayam
0.0 mi away
The Lake Village Heritage Resort
0.0 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
0.0 mi away
The Windsor Castle
The Windsor Castle
#10 of 28 in Kottayam
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Arcadia Hotel
Arcadia Hotel
#3 of 28 in Kottayam
179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aida
Hotel Aida
#2 of 28 in Kottayam
178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chrysoberyl
Chrysoberyl
#7 of 28 in Kottayam
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Palms Resort

Property: Whispering Palms Resort
Address: New Nazareth Church Road | Lake Resort Kumarakom, Kottayam 686563, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kottayam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Kottayam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 53
Also Known As:
Whispering Palms Hotel Kottayam
Whispering Palms Resort Kottayam, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing