We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary Hospitality, Unforgettable Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
GK's Riverview Homestay
Ranked #1 of 55 Kottayam B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Extraordinary Hospitality, Unforgettable Experience”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The two days we spent at GK's Riverview Homestay were among the very best of our two week trip to southern India. Situated right on a rice field in the midst of a village of canals and rivers, the homestay provides a wonderful base from which to explore a unique way of life. What made the experience even more special was the hospitality we received from our kind and charming hosts, George and Dai. George responded quickly to our email inquiries. Dai prepared delicious Keralan food for us, and she, her mother and George even taught us how to make appam, a popular pancake. We really enjoyed our conversations with George during our meals. He also helped us figure out where and when to get a local ferry and arranged an excellent canoe trip for us. The accommodations were basic but comfortable. All in all, this was an unforgettable experience, that we highly recommend to anyone visiting southern India.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJTraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    22
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
18
65
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Roath, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We were originally going to stay for two nights, but stayed for six instead! The accommodation was nestled between expansive rice paddies and the glittering backwaters; truly beautiful. Moreover the hospitality we received from George and his family was exceptional. We will be back in the future for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Torik_and_Lottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Spent 3 nights here recently, as the only guest in George and Dai's fantastic homstay - if you want the experience of how people live among the backwaters without any other tourists, motorised houseboats or any artificiality, then Aymanam near Kumarakom is the place to come (also the childhood village of Arundhati Roy and setting of God of Small Things). George has 4 rooms separated from the main house overlooking the rice fields, I must have seen 10+ bird species (flycatchers, sunbirds, woodpeckers, egrets...) within 10 minutes of sitting in the hammock. The dinners, breakfasts and canoe trip were all superb too. Rooms are basic but comfortable, and more luxury somehow would have seemed out of place. Just get out there and walk about (and get lost in my case!).

Room Tip: You can get picked up (for free if staying 3+ days) from/dropped off at Kottayam easily which has go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alec T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We found this homestay by chance and what a piece of good luck it turned out to be! Our hosts George and Dai were wonderfully welcoming and lovely company, with George even coming collect us at very short notice. George was the most helpful and charming host we have come across in Kerala and rightly deserves the awards he has won. His obvious love and knowledge of the local area really enhances your stay. He pointed us in the direction of boat trips that show you the true Backwaters and you wouldn't see on the expensive, touristy and environmentally unfriendly houseboats. The homestay is tucked away in a quiet spot between the river and the rice paddies and is a very quiet location. This means it is very peaceful and tranquil and also gives you the opportunity to meet local people.
Dai's cooking was truly authentic Keralan and absolutely delicious and we enjoyed the communal meals with other guests and also George. George is very happy to answer any questions you have about the area, which we found very helpful.
The rooms are situated in a separate building behind the family's home and are unassuming, but very clean and comfortable. They overlook the rice paddies and there are hammocks where you can relax and enjoy the peace and quiet.

We would highly recommend this homestay if you are looking for something authentic and special.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ktuk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at GK riverview for 4 nights and it was the most relaxing and peacful 4 days of my trip. It was so nice to stay in a Keralan village and get a slice of the way of life and see the lives of the locals on the riverbanks on the lovely canoe ride. George was so attentive and caring and really welcomed me into his home. His wife Dai cooked amazing keralan food and it was nice to eat in their home every day and I never felt unwelcome or like I was intruding. They really looked after me. I loved the hammock overlooking the rice field and managed to switch off and read a lot. I really recommend gk if you want a good mix of relaxation and want to experience a traditional Indian village and beautiful backwaters which hasn't been affected by tourism.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatrinStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I really loved staying at Georges home stay for 3 nights. It was a change from the hustle and bustle of the cities. While staying in this small village I got to experience the real calm rural India that no one believes exist.
George organized a canoe trip for us and we got to mosey a around the backwaters of the village. It was especially great because their weren't any flocks tourist around like in alleppy. On slightly lazier days you can read a book a hammock overlooking rice fields or go for a walk around the village. also, the food was amazing! The family shared with us the best traditional Kerala dishes and made sure we didn't leave the table hungry.
The best thing about Georges home stay is that most of his guest come to him by word of mouth. I got recommended here by a fellow traveler who sensed my distaste with the city, and I'm sure to recommend plenty of others in the future as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floflo326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at GK Homestay for 4 nights in August 2012. It is located in the backwaters in the most tranquil and picturesque location. The rooms are clean and comfortable and have the most heavenly outlook over paddy fields. There is plenty of bird life around and the changing colours seen from the deck chairs on the verandah make for a very relaxing scene. George went out of his way to ensure we had a great local experience by arranging a canoe trip around the nearby canals and also by arranging for us to see the snake boat races in Alleppey with other guests at the time. Nothing was too much trouble for George and his lovely family. Breakfasts and dinner were prepared by his wife and were always delicious and plentiful. The highlight of our stay was being able to wander through the local villages and to gain a personal experience of backwater life.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aunties_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kottayam
3.8 mi away
Tharavadu Heritage Home
Tharavadu Heritage Home
#17 of 26 in Kumarakom
112 reviews
1.1 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
4.9 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Coconut Creek Farm and Homestay Kumarakom
4.2 mi away
Coconut Lagoon
Coconut Lagoon
#3 of 26 in Kumarakom
1,215 reviews
3.7 mi away
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Kumarakom Lake Resort
#4 of 26 in Kumarakom
1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GK's Riverview Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GK's Riverview Homestay

Property: GK's Riverview Homestay
Address: Aymanam | Near Kumarakom Backwaters, North West of Kottayam, Pulikkuttyssery, Kottayam 686015, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kottayam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Kottayam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of State Tourism Award for the Best Homestay facility in Kerala. The Genuine Backwater,Ecofriendly and Green accommodation with warm Hospitality provides the facilities such as mosquito-free AC & Non AC rooms, hot and cold water, veg/non-veg food, Canoeing,Bird watching, Boating, Sightseeing, Ayurvedic treatment and body massage,Yoga classes, fishing, temple and snake boat visit, giving a chance to mingle with the locals to learn the culture and village life, to see the cultural activities, festivals etc. and also arranging trips to hill stations, plantations, wildlife sanctuary. It is an ideal place for Bird watching and for a long stay for relaxation as it is in 100% pollution-free zone and peaceful Green Eco-friendly accommodation.It is a Romantic place for Honey moon.We accept all major Credit cards for payment and provide free Wifi and offer complimentary breakfast,Dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your GK's Riverview Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
GK's Riverview Homestay Kottayam, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing