We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Windsor Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Windsor Castle
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Kottayam
Mumbai
1 review
“Restaurant Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Our overall stay was comfortable with co-operative staff.Servicing at the restaurant was not quite up to the mark with delay in serving orders.Customers should be informed before hand if there are any changes being made in meal serving so that they can have prior information about the kind of meals being served to them.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Ram Krishna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    46
    37
    18
    20
See reviews for
52
35
8
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

After being highly recommended by lake kumarakom resort we visited here for dinner.... What a mistake!
Asked for cold beers. Got 3 opened warm ones which they refuse to change then told use there refrigerator is broken!
Tandoori chicken start was cold when told waiter he dismissed the conversation escalated to manager Sarjen who said will change it but all that happened was it was replaced in the tandoor to have the same batch returned now rubbery and extremely over cooked!
Now the interesting part is the manager refused to change it! It was complete unedatible but did not seem to care!
To add insult he excepted us to pay for it! Though only 420 rupees! The audacity!!!
I would suggest don't waste your evening at this poor managed establishment.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Steveuk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kottayam hotels

mumbai
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed between 19/9/13 to 21/9/13. We had booked 10 rooms and 1 suite and it is to the credit of the Front OFfice Mangar Jinu that our check in was very smooth inspite of so many rooms and we were comfortably directed to the rooms and our luggages followed. The rooms were very poorly maintained and taps were leaking. The linens provided were very old and torn.
We had booked the dinner at the restaurant and the quality of food was very poor for the price they were charging. There were no bowls available for rasam/sambhar and we had to wait. Once the sambhar and rasam were over, the replinshed one was provided with water poured over the same. IT was so disgusting. We had requested for early packed breakfast at 0400 hours with whatever is possible. I am grateful that they provided us with idlis/sandwich and a banana. We had requested that alongwith the wake up call at 0230, tea(chargable) be also served, which they refused citing staff shortage, which is surprising considering the no of pax we had. Again in the evening for dinner, same experience was repeated and we cursed oourselves for having stayed at this property. Bereakfast was horrible, same experience and moreoever there were not deserts served on the buffet. God bless the F&B Manager to atleast go around all hotels and see for himself the spread other hotels provide.Once again the check out was very smooth thanks to Jinu and the only silver lining was Jinu at that place. It would be better to avoid the hotel for the price they charge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank captain063mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at this luxurious hotel between 07/07and 12/07 to celebrate my birthday and the staff at this hotel specially arranged a complimentary cake .
This was a totally relaxing a pool and a separate children's pool.

This was the most memorable vacation and my utmost gratitude to all the hotel staff and we will definitely be visiting again soon....
Thanks again the Windsor Team and kumarakom for a truly magnificent and beautiful vacation!

Room Tip: Room number #606
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prayaanam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Very Disappointing experience with Windsor Castle.
We have to wait in the Lobby for half an hour like strangers , Reception staff need to be trained, was a busy day .we had to attend the engagement ceremony of my Friends Daughter.The Food and Service was a disaster.There was hardly any clean plate and the uniform of waiters were dirty.
We been booked in to a cottage , the concept is good but disappointed with room facility, staff ,Service.checked Out same day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joy1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kottayam, India
Level Contributor
180 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is one of the best places to stay in kottayam.It is located right on the highway and just far enough from the city centre,so as to be away from the traffic congestion and sounds.The best thing about windsor is the pleasant ambience of the locale and its outdoor restaurant,the nalukettu.The staff are pleasant and courteous too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manojayyappan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feilding, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

A quiet night's rest, a clean room, efficient staff who spoke reasonable English. As long as you can live with tepid showers and stained bed linen, it's fine and if you're there just to sightsee it will do fine.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LJRead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kottayam hotels
1.0 mi away
Arcadia Hotel
Arcadia Hotel
#4 of 28 in Kottayam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Aida
Hotel Aida
#2 of 28 in Kottayam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chrysoberyl
Chrysoberyl
#6 of 28 in Kottayam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Lake Village Heritage Resort
14.9 mi away
Hotel Olive International
Hotel Olive International
#9 of 28 in Kottayam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Icon Classic
Hotel Icon Classic
#25 of 28 in Kottayam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windsor Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windsor Castle

Property: The Windsor Castle
Address: Kodimatha, Kottayam 686001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Kottayam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Windsor Castle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Windsor Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windsor Castle Hotel Kottayam
Windsor Castle Hotel Kottayam
Windsor Castle Kottayam
The Windsor Castle Kottayam, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing