We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality for an attractive price!”
Review of Third Place

Third Place
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Kottayam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $3
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quality for an attractive price!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised at how good the stuff was in this place. We ordered smoothies, butter fudge almond gelato, caramel coffee and a grilled sandwich. Nothing disappointed and everyone was happy. I highly recommend the kiwi smoothie. The ambience is functional and tasteful but could be peppier for a gelataria.

I would make sure to visit again before I leave Kottayam!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GOAgaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackdtravellor, Owner at Third Place, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your kind words. I am sure that your response will bring much enthusiasm to our staff. Going through your earlier reviews, i have noticed that you have written many reviews in support of the establishment. It is commendable that you found time to jot down good things about a place or service. At Third Place, we try to serve only what we are good at. So the selection is also very less. There is just a sandwich for a snack. All the products are made from scratch with only natural ingredients. We believe in reducing the fat, thereby reducing the sugar and intensifying the flavor. The smoothie you had was made with 150ml of ice and that made the body of the drink. Gelato has less than 4% fat with all the goodness of milk and almonds. We are coming out with an ice cream with 4.5% soluble fibre by 1st of August. This would be first of its kind. Please do visit us then to taste the ice cream reborn. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    23
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kottayam, India
1 review
“outstanding place!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

third place is a very good place to hang out with friends and families,situated at cheliyozhukam lane near manorama junction kottayam.an excellent ambience with all the things that we need from coffee to icecream{including sandwich}.try out the bianco nero and mars shake.its the best shakes in third place i liked.those who like chocolate icecream,try out the kondody express...its a mix with chocolate and caramel.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ashik j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackdtravellor, Owner at Third Place, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Ashik,

Thank you for your kind words. Please do come in for new treats. We have been trying hard to come out with innovative products which promotes a healthy lifestyle without compromising on taste. Reviews such as yours will motivate us to do more. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not worth the price.”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I expected Third Place to be fresh and good from the way it looked outside. However, its just a drab wanna be cafe for hangouts. It still manages to get its share of customers but the service and quality is not worth my money.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alen-Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackdtravellor, Owner at Third Place, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Mr. Alen Alex,

Thank you for your review. A critical review always help us to better ourselves and yours did. We started in 2007 and we have been constantly striving to get the best product to our customers. All the products are innovations to keep up to the standards in taste without compromising on health. Gelato has 50% less calories than regular ice cream, Semifreddo is low in hydrogenated fats and almost all cold drinks have 50% ice in its constitution. We believe that by reducing 50% fat , we can save on carbs and there by reducing the calorie content. Less fat gives out more flavor and we have a great product as an outcome.
By 14th October, we introduce a new product 'Rinato". it will be first ice cream with soluble dietary fibre. Please do come and try that out.
Thank you for your review once again.
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
“Very Good Gelateria”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This place has a good vibe and is located off a small street away from the Manorama junction. The place is in the basement of a building where Fabindia is located. The ice creams are good and so are the coffee. The place does not have much in the way of food except some sandwiches.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Kuttappi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackdtravellor, Owner at Third Place, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and we will strive to serve the best always. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Modern place to go for a change of scenery whilst visiting Kottayam”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

An excellent gelateria and coffee shop with some really good smoothies. The atmosphere is great and music is not overwhelming. Its got a really good vibe about it and service is with a smile.
I would have expected a little more variety to eat then just a grilled chicken sandwich, and the free wifi is dodgy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank paulramble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackdtravellor, Owner at Third Place, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thanks for your review.
Wifi connectivity is not dedicated to Third Place. Sorry about the inconvenience. It will be rectified in October.
We are committed to desserts and the limitation to just sandwich is to make sure that the kitchen is not contaminated with smell from other foods. I wish we could have provided more. This is our fifth year in operation and we introduced sandwich only this year.
I thank you for your posting and your posting has prompted me to go for a dedicated WIFI for Third Place.
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Third Place also viewed

Kottayam, Kottayam District
Kottayam, Kottayam District
 
Kottayam, Kottayam District
Kottayam, Kottayam District
 
Kottayam, Kottayam District
Kottayam, Kottayam District
 

Been to Third Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing