We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of heaven on earth”
Review of Philipkutty's Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Philipkutty's Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Personal care, attention to detail at every level, and absolutely the best ever Indian food - the fusion of tastes and variety of dishes were outstanding. An amazing place to stay and rest a while from the hustle and bustle of mainland India. Anu, her lovely family and caring staff make sure your stay at Philipkutty's Farm is not just a moment in one's life but a memory which will never fade. Thank you for the most amazing experience.

Room Tip: All of the bungalows have main rooms which look out to a lakeside view. Only one bungalow has AC so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 267 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

Our stay at Philipkutty's Farm was a late change (upgrade) to the itinerary worked out with my tailor-made travel provider, so I hadn't had chance to look up details online first. As our driver took us along narrow winding back lanes I wondered where we were actually heading, then a small sign for Philipkutty's Farm and a track ending at the water's edge. I then saw it was across the water, with access only by boat. The boatman took us across, with some other guests who happened to have arrived at the same time, to a wonderful welcome by Anu. After a welcoming cold drink and formalities, Anu showed us to our cottage (which I think was the first built by them, being closest to their house), inviting us back to her house for lunch after we had freshened up. Lunch was delicious and time to get to know Anu more, and the other new guests.
That evening, dinner was served in the dining area, a beautifully set separate covered open area between the cottages and house. The dining table was one large round table around which all guests sat, an excellent way to socialize and get to know one another. In the centre of the table, a large "lazy Susan", which gradually had more and more food placed on for us to serve ourselves. The food was excellent, with everything being overseen by Anu, ensuring all was well.
It turned out to be the birthday of one of the children of other guests staying there, and following our meal, we were all invited into Anu's family house for birthday cake to be presented, cut and served to us all, and entertained by Anu's son on the piano. What a wonderful family evening, totally unexpected! Made all the more cosy too by the storm which was then in progress outside, thunder, lightening, and torrential rain!
The following morning, breakfast in the communal dining area, and another selection of delicious food and conversation with the other guests.
Sadly we were only booked to stay there the one night, so after breakfast, time to pack our cases, checkout, and off again over the water and away.
A wonderful place in a lovely location with wonderful host and family and attentive staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigglesTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Philipkutty's Farm is run by Anu and her family, the cottages are spacious and clean although they do get pretty toasty at night. The food is all home-made and served at a big round table where you eat with your fellow guests which we really enjoyed, everything we ate was delicious and probably the best food we had whilst in Kerala. The idea of staying on a houseboat didn't appeal to us so this is a perfect alternative, we went out on a narrow boat for a couple of hours around the backwaters which was enough for us. The farm offer a sunset boat cruise every evening which is really lovely, if you're looking for an ecological way to experience the backwaters whilst eating amazing food this is the perfect place to stay.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CR1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Our stay at Philipkutty's was the highlight of our holiday, despite the fact that we had other marvellous experiences and hotels. We arrived by houseboat, having had an idyllic two nights on the Kerala backwaters. It was way before check-in time, as our houseboat had to return to base and be cleaned and prepared for the next guests. However, we were given a warm and smiling welcome by Anu and Aniamma, the two ladies who run the farm and the guest facilities, and seem to be untiring and constantly at the ready to make life more comfortable in every way for their guests. We enjoyed the welcome drink of lime and ginger, and relaxed in the reception lounge of the main farmhouse. There were magazines marked with the pages where Philipkutty's Farm was reviewed, and a copy of Rick Stein's India cookbook, wherein is a recipe from Aniamma, who also runs cookery courses for guests. The standard of food was as high as you might wish to encounter anywhere.
We and our friends, another couple we were holidaying with, were taken to our villa, "Ponmaan" (kingfisher), which consisted of two en-suite double bedrooms and a shared lounge with tea and coffee-making facilities, making three sides of a courtyard, where fresh flower arrangements in a wide bowl were set to welcome us. Each of the villas (differing in layout) face the waterfront, and are a short walk from the farmhouse and the dining area. All are furnished individually with antique furniture, and shower rooms generously supplied with toiletries.
The farm is on a small island made from reclaimed ground, and we were treated to a conducted tour of the plantations by the farm manager, MrTambi, who showed us coconut trees underplanted with bananas, fruit and vegetables, poultry, cattle, and spices. The farm labourers all come from the mainland, and are daily punted to work across the water. All produce is organic, and there is a digester system to provide gas for cooking, and compost.
At meals, around a large round table with central "lazy Susan" the guests gather to exchange experiences and views, and maybe make new friends. It is all very informal, and pleasant.
I was interested in getting an Ayurvedic massage on our full day at the farm, and Anu willingly arranged an appointment for me and my friend to go across the water in the farm's local boat, a canoe-shaped wooden boat that was punted across - rather reminiscent of a gondola, to the village where there is an Ayurvedic clinic where massages may be taken, for 1,000 rupees (around £10 sterling) plus tip. For anyone not familiar with this phenomenon, the massage is done after consultation with an Ayurvedic doctor, by two masseuses, using a specially-shaped wooden massage table, with raised edges, so that the therapeutic oils used liberally on the body are conserved during the hour-long process. It is rather slippery, but the edges prevent you from actually sliding off! The massage is done at a pressure of your choice, and afterwards you are given a complete wash-down. The effect is totally relaxing yet also restores positive energy levels. I find it a wonderful experience, and my friend, who had never had such a massage before, was equally enthusiastic about it.
The village is small, with dirt roads, but has a large and beautifully maintained Roman Catholic church, St Mary's, which is the focus of regular pilgrimages, and also a primary and high school.
After our second night we were due to leave early in the morning, and would have been content to do without breakfast, but Anu and her mother Aniamma (generally known as "Mummy") insisted on serving us with a plentiful breakfast in the farmhouse.
Philipkutty's is a tranquil retreat, where every guest is treated as a member of the family, and given tender loving care in a beautiful place.

Room Tip: Just let the owners know the size of your group, and your interests, and they will select the most a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank StephanieO34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Actually the truth of the matter is that I'm quite reluctant to write about Philipkutty's. I wish I could keep this place as my own private secret and keep the world away from it. This is such an unusual place. I just melt when I think of it. So much attention is paid to even the smallest things. The flower arrangement in front of the room, the handpicked furniture the thought of the window's location, the rooms design. Every, but everything is a result of thinking how to make the stay most memorable. The beauty all around is just wonderful. Anu has this gift of making you feel at home from the very first second. Mama is so welcoming and such a gifted cook that the stay at Philipkutty's, for me, has turned into the highlight of my Indian trip. I only hope that my next stay in this fantastic place will be not long from now.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shafrira b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

For those of you who are in two minds as to whether you should include a visit to Philipkutty"s farm or not, ponder no longer - this is a must. I have travelled to many a different and diverse destination and as far as accommodation in India this was definitely a highlight of our tour. The owner of the resort (Anu) was absolutely amazing with her customer centricity and nothing was to much for her and her staff. It had alot to do with their efforts that this turned out to be the highlight of our trip through India.

They went as far to arrange flowers and a birthday cake for my sister, the evening ended with her son (Philip) treating us to his talent on the piano - what a gifted musician. Anu was quick to pickup on our "likes" and would then go out of her way to arrange things to make it special for us (this included what type of food we enjoyed to setting up our dining table on the veranda overlooking the water) - nothing was too much. She even went as far to upgrading our room as there was a unit available (at no extra cost)

To Anu, Aniamma, Philip and Anya, you have created memories that we will cherish forever, congratulations on running an extremely professional and homefelt establishment, all the best for the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

The greetings and the service we received for our two night stay was nothing but exceptional. Thought we may lose weight in India but was wrong after the amount of delicious food that we all ate. If you are game try the massage across the river but it is nothing that we expected. Was a great way to start our Indian adventure to relax first. Thanks Anu and family and I would recommend you to any one.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cballans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kottayam
23.9 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#3 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,446 reviews
2.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
5.2 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Xandari Pearl
Xandari Pearl
#1 of 6 in Mararikulam
328 reviews
11 mi away
Athreya Ayurvedic Centre
Athreya Ayurvedic Centre
#1 of 29 in Kottayam
721 reviews
2.2 mi away
Coconut Lagoon
Coconut Lagoon
#4 of 26 in Kumarakom
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philipkutty's Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philipkutty's Farm

Address: Pallivathukal, Ambika Market P.O, | Vechoor, Kottayam 686 144, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kottayam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Kottayam
Price Range: $10,500 - $14,000 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Philipkutty's Farm 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Philipkutty's Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philipkutty`s Farm Hotel Kottayam
Philipkutty's Farm Kottayam, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing