We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a quietly sensational place”
Review of Philipkutty's Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Philipkutty's Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our stay at Philip Kutty was as charming and as memorable as anywhere we've ever been. The tropical riverside setting, the farming, the cottages, the really beautiful food, and above all the warmth and grace imparted by Anu and her family and staff. Our cottage- one of six- was called Ashoka, evoking the great general who converted to Buddhism and pacifism in 300BC. He's have approved of this place! I couldn't recommend it more. A real one-off.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank derek s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
There are newer reviews for Philipkutty's Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 253 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

We only had time to visit this charming family at their homestay for lunch but wish we could have stayed longer. My mother-in-law and I watched a cookery demonstration by Mummy and Anu, while my husband and son were given a tour of the farm by young Philip. The family were very welcoming and the house and kitchen spotless. The demonstration has whetted our appetite to try some Keralan cooking back home and my husband says the farm tour was fascinating, particularly learning about the bio-gas generator.
Lunch was served at the communal table shared with the other homestay guests and was very convivial. Philip played the piano for us and is obviously seriously talented, not just musically but also linguistically as his command of English was impressive.
We didn’t stay here purely because I had my 80 year old mother-in-law with us and I didn’t want to risk her being ill despite its excellent Tripadvisor reviews. I played it ultrasafe and we spent our trip staying in high-end establishments for this reason. In retrospect I wish I hadn’t been so cautious and know she would have been well looked after here. We wouldn’t hesitate to return for a stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RedPenMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had a lovely (although too short) stay at Philip Kutty's farm. We were made to feel very welcome by Anu and her family and team. And the home-cooked food cooked was without doubt the best we ate in south India. We had been a little apprehensive at the thought of everyone eating together around the table, but in fact it made the stay even nicer and we met some great and interesting people from around the world.
The only problem was not to do with the farm, but rather with the temple across the water which likes to share hindu hymns at 5.30 in the morning! However, by the 2nd day we were ready for them, and just went back to sleep, lulled by the sound of the ceiling fan.
I'd love to go back and spend some more time watching the bird-life, and just generally relaxing!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We loved this homestay. Anu and mummy are incredibly generous and thoughtful and took very good care of all of us, including our 2 little girls (aged 5 and 3). Anu's children are delightful-and our children enjoyed spending time with them. It is a beautiful, tranquil setting - just have to get in the mind set of unwinding and getting away from the idea that every day has to be filled with activities. I would thoroughly recommend this place.

Room Tip: All villas are located on the waterfront
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roo017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at Philipkutty's for 4 days, with our daughter and twin boys.

Anu and her family went to great lengths to make our whole experience fantastic - the kerala styled villas, ambience, sumptuos food, personalized attention and above all the great hospitality was simply amazing.

The view of the lake from the villas is panaromic and breathtaking. The authentic kerala food were the best I have ever tasted till date

We did the boat cruise, village walks, farm visits or just spent time observing the activities on the lake..

Overall it was awesome and we would love to go to Philipkutty's once again.

- Narayanan and family

Room Tip: Chempakam and Mandaram are good for couples
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kerala297628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

From the moment their wooden boat met, and silently transferred, us across the hyacinth covered waters to our welcome by Anu, we knew this was a special place. All guests have their own bungalow consisting of bedroom, bathroom and sitting room - all furnished with beautiful, elegant wood and antique furniture.
This paradise, run by Anu, with the help and love of her two children, Phillip and Anya and her mother in law Mummy ( a magnificent cook) will calm and relax you. If there was a spiritual place to be found in India, it was here. Cooking class was fun and the fascinating tour and history of the property were inspirational. We were welcomed into the family home for dinner and the amazing piano skills of 14 year old Philip. The boat trip out to the lake for sunset is also complementary and typical of the generosity of spirit we were privileged to share.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bronte19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I LOVED Philip Kutty! Mrs. Anu and her family made us very welcome. It was some of the best food we've eaten in India. I loved having 2 full free days to spend as I pleased. There were many activities available, but I liked just hanging out: walking, eating, & reading as a bit of a respite in the middle of our daily sightseeing while here in India. We did take the private early morning yoga class with teacher Naveen: another highlight to our trip!

The farm walk with Mrs. Anu was delightful: There were at least 20 different crops she pointed out, all growing happily on her farm.

Room Tip: all the cabins appeared equal, and spacious!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chardgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kottayam
23.9 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#1 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,391 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
739 reviews
2.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Kumarakom Lake Resort
#4 of 26 in Kumarakom
1,728 reviews
7.6 mi away
Vembanad Lake Villas
Vembanad Lake Villas
#2 of 77 in Kottayam
98 reviews
8.7 mi away
Marari Beach Resort
Marari Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Mararikulam
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philipkutty's Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philipkutty's Farm

Address: Pallivathukal, Ambika Market P.O, | Vechoor, Kottayam 686 144, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kottayam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Kottayam
Price Range: $206 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Philipkutty's Farm 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Philipkutty's Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philipkutty`s Farm Hotel Kottayam
Philipkutty's Farm Kottayam, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing