We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Hotel Icon Classic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Icon Classic
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Kottayam
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed with my father . Had a suite room (separate bedroom) with sofa bed. Nice hotel, family-friendly, kids ate free with paying adult in restaurant downstairs. Room was nice, modern, clean, updated, and quiet. Staff so friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank DelhiAsifmasood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayakrishnan P, Owner at Hotel Icon Classic, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
We are delighted to know that you had a great stay. We also hope that Hotel Icon Classic will be your first choice for all your future visits to Kottayam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Icon Classic
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 23 of 23 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

l went to kumarakom this holidays with my friends..so we thought of staying in kottayam (the nearest city to kumarakom) the city is good for local shopping.the hotel we stayed here was awsome..with good rooms a futuristic design which we didn expect in this place...yet at a good reasonable price..the best thing here was the Foggy Bottom Lounge Bar ..which was awesome..the food was great too!!
over all a very good hotel that i really recommend in kottayam>>

Room Tip: i choose the suite room!!! excelent
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alfred431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayakrishnan P, Owner at Hotel Icon Classic, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
We are thrilled to know that you have enjoyed your stay, especially your experience at our lounge - Foggy Bottom.
We do hope that we will always be your first choice for all your future visits to Kottayam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

A good hotel with neat rooms and a nice ambiance.
It has got a very tasteful interiors, with all sorts of facilities like a multi-cuisine restaurant, coffee shop, lounge etc...
The hotel is also easy to locate as it is at the heart of the town.

Room Tip: The Suits are perfect
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VivekAjit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayakrishnan P, Owner at Hotel Icon Classic, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
We are glad to know that you found your stay agreeable. We also hope to serve you the next time you visit Kottayam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Thanks to a delayed flight into Kochi, one day I reached Kottayam close to midnight and strayed into Icon Classic, to spend a restful night there.

The location is near perfect. It is at the heart of the business district of Kottayam, in front of the Thirunakkara ground and some 500 m off the transport bus stand. The entrance is peaceful all 24 hours, unlike the hotels dotting the road to the transport bus stand – reason I did not dare try them.

Icon is kept remarkably clean, helped by a lot of mosaic surfaces. The rooms are spacious - around 165 square feet plus the washroom. Following recent renovation, Icon has 13 rooms, two of them suites. Windows offer no interesting views but, thanks to the room size, are far enough from the bed for the blinds not to make you claustrophobic. All fittings are new and sprightly. Rooms are done up tastefully in a combination of off white walls and all-wood furniture plus wall-mounted flat TVs.

You can call the breakfast Kerala continental: omelette (not the fluffy type but the thin and large crispy variety) and four slices of toast arrive together but not all of them come hot, with butter and jam – sauce is given on demand. The small glass of fresh juice is likely to be pineapple, a major locally cultivated fruit.

Informed guests can exploit the location. Walk across to the main market wholesale market for some quality buys: first quality roasted cashew nut at rupees 650 and below, without even bargaining. Avoid the better looking formal shops that charge a little more. Fresh fruits, too come at a very fair price -- here, avoid the showy roadside displays, go for the unpretentious shops behind. Kottayam's local speciality is pineapple. Pick one ripe, juicy one and get it chopped at the hotel. You will enjoy it.

Within a short walking distance from Icon are to iconic eating places: India Coffee House and Best Bakery. Neither is what it once was but both are moderately priced and worth a try. Let not the archaic interiors deter you, have coffee at the India Coffee House run by the Indian Coffee Board. Best Bakery has a popular collection of Kerala Christian sweets and savouries besides food served in its dimly lit interior rooms.

Do not leave Kottayam without a visit to Kumarakom, famous for the houseboats, also do not miss Karimeen fry, but beware of the unyielding bones of this premier fish.

I expect more from Icon as the ground floor restaurant and a coffee shop will become functional, to go with three bars that operate from the same building.

Talk to the hotel directly, you can get rooms cheaper than quoted on the websites.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Columbustta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayakrishnan P, Owner at Hotel Icon Classic, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Icon Classic.
We are happy to know that you found your stay agreeable. We are also glad to inform you that Cinnamon, our Multi Cuisine Restaurant is up and fully functional. We serve the most delectable South Indian, North Indian and Chinese dishes here. We also have a Lounge Bar - Foggy Bottom which serves enticing appetizers along with a select range of beverages.
We hope to stay as your first choice for accommodation the next time you visit Kottayam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

The location is good. only 2 kms from Kottayam railway station. I don't know about the food here. many good restaurants, veg/nonveg, are there near to it. The ambiance is good. Even if the hotel is on the main road side, you will find calm and quiet atmosphere inside. I think you won't get disappointed if you choose this.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Akheesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayakrishnan P, Owner at Hotel Icon Classic, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
We are glad to know that your stay was pleasing. We also hope that you choose us for all your future visits to Kottayam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonaldP685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kottayam hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aida
Hotel Aida
#2 of 28 in Kottayam
183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Orchid Residency
Orchid Residency
#22 of 28 in Kottayam
67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homestead Hotel
Homestead Hotel
#11 of 28 in Kottayam
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nisha Continental Hotel
Nisha Continental Hotel
#20 of 28 in Kottayam
4 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arcadia Hotel
Arcadia Hotel
#3 of 28 in Kottayam
181 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chrysoberyl
Chrysoberyl
#6 of 28 in Kottayam
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Icon Classic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Icon Classic

Address: Near Press Club | Thirunakkara, Kottayam 686001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kottayam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Kottayam
Price Range: $21 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Icon Classic 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Icon Classic is a business hotel situated bang at the heart of Kottayam city. We let you experience a whole new level of hospitality with our well-furnished rooms, delectable cuisine and prompt service. Our hotel could be the perfect stopover for those heading out to Kumarakom. We also take over the hassle of arranging customised tour packages for guests and ensure that they get to see & experience all that matters, while having a pleasant stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Icon Classic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Icon Classic Kottayam, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing