We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Kottayam
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveler rating
31
2
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
31
2
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rubber plantation wonderful hosts pineapple growing local community rubber tapping delicious food a wonderful stay accommodation latex kerala process life cuisine
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 34 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2019

We would thoroughly recommend going here. The owners, Kurian and Anuja, are the most delightful people who treat you like family. The accommodation is lovely. We really enjoyed sitting on the balcony looking at the view. We were given delicious food and shown round the property which is huge. This was one of the highlights of our stay in Kerala. When we left, I had tears streaming down my face. That says it all, I think.

Date of stay: February 2019
1  Thank 792DianeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2019

Our stay at Kalaketty Estate was a wonderful surprise. Our agent, Tim, at IndianPanorama, had recommended it, and I’m SO glad that we included this lovely place in our itinerary. I only wish that we stayed for more than one night!

The hosts, Anjuja and Kurian, could not have been warmer or more welcoming and made us feel completely at home on their beautiful estate. This is is a beautiful, traditional kerala home on a rubber plantation, which has been in the family for 3 generations. We loved walking through the estate with Kurian, learning about the process of rubber being tapped and seeing it firsthand, as well as seeing the many other crops that are also grown. We also visited a local beekeeper and got a sampling of the different types of honey that he produces.

Guests stay in a spacious and airy 2-story family bungalow, with lovely views of the estate from the windows. Our room was on the top floor and had an enclosed porch running the length of the room with beautiful views. Meals were served in the dining room of their home, and we not only shared our meals with Anuja and Kurian, but also enjoyed interesting conversation about their life. The meals, all delicious, were some of the best meals of our 5-week trip, and were cooked by Anjuja and their wonderful chef.

As others have said, this is a truly special place. I was so glad that we had the chance to stay in this beautiful part of Kerala with such wonderful hosts!

Room tip: Only 2 rooms in the guest house - we had the upstairs room and liked it very much.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2018

My stay at Kalaketty Estate was a highlight of my wonderful month-long trip to South India. Kurian and Anuja are wonderful hosts at their beautiful and peaceful rubber plantation in the foothills of Kerala. They were so generous with not only their home and time, but also in sharing their way of life as the third generation to live, manage and work on this expansive estate that continues to produce rubber (latex) and livelihoods for the many people that work on it.

The rooms were beautiful and comfortable, with amazing views of the countryside. The food was spectacular! Such delicious dishes prepared with fresh ingredients, many from the estate. We had delicious food throughout our trip, but none was better than the meals we enjoyed at Anuja and Kurian's table.

Walking the estate with Kurian was beautiful and interesting - seeing the 'tappers' working at the rubber trees and learning about the process of extracting the rubber as well as the complexity of managing the estate felt like a special visit into a way of life so foreign to my suburban Californian life. We also enjoyed a visit to a local master beekeeper - and tasted the most delicious honey!

This is a special place in a beautiful part of Kerala, with lovely hosts.

Room tip: Both rooms are beautiful
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank anthea b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2018

We spent two nights with Vincent and Anuja during a 6-week tour of India and it proved to be a wonderful unforgettable experience that we would highly recommend. The owners are wonderful hosts and they very generously shared their time and expertise introducing us to daily life at the rubber plantation, the local community and to the wonderful local cuisine. A big thank you from John & Dawn.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank teee407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2018

We spent a night with Mr Kurian and his lovely wife, Anuja. We were made to feel very comfortable, in a separate, spacious, cottage. The meals were excellent and a great deal of trouble was taken to prepare numerous separate dishes, typical of Kerala. We learnt so much about India as a country in our conversations and enjoyed enormously the tour of a working rubber plantation and our introduction to bee-keeping. We couldn't have had better hosts.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank j0hnlukec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews