We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At Priya's”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kottayam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kanjirakkattu Heritage Home
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Stayed 4 nights..Elegant old house ( 75 years old approx) Priya & her mum are very nice hosts..room is very nice & spacious (mix of antic furniture ) nice garden..all is VERY clean. Food is basic Indian ..fish,vegetables etc.. & if you want anything special just ask Priya.Town center is at 7 mtes with a rickshaw, Priya can book Ayureveda treatments for you too & gave me some good tips e.g...trip on the backwaters for Rs10 ! ( normal ferry ) which was super..3 hours cruise !

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonicbibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 45 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2011

We were referred to this wonderful place by a friend and I wanted to stay there during my family trip to Kerala.Right from day one when we landed at this place,we were received cordially and made to feel at home at once.Ms.Priya (the owner),her mother and Pachu (her son) were very well mannered and excellent people.My kids immediately hit it off with Pachu and they made a good friend in him.Ms.Priya further helped us with our travel to Munnar and to Kumarakom.She even advised us on fares and prices so that we do not end up overspending.The dishes provided to us were authentic kerala fare that we so thoroughly enjoyed,as her mom was an excellent cook.I would suggest this place to stay for all people inyending to visit kerala.My kids and wife keep perstering me to plan another trip to this place which is another home away from home.All our best wishes to Ms.Priya & her family! Thank you again!

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bachu_vijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

As kids we always looked forward to the holiday season where we get to go to our grandma's place far far away. Once there, we will be treated to great food, new friends and a lot relaxing experience. We climb trees, jump walls and jump in the river with no one to stop us. This is exactly what we felt when we landed up in Kanjirakattu. We never felt we were with strangers nor did we feel that we were in a home stay. It was like visiting our cousin after a long time in a far off place. We were treated to sumptuous authentic home made food and a great place to stay. We never like to stay in hotels because of the choice of food. Its the same menu almost anywhere in India. We wanted to experience local cuisine and nothing that beats home made food. Priya and her family are fantastic hosts. We couldn't ask for more. The house is beautiful and the place is clean and safe. Trust me, this is the best place to stay in Kottayam and we are definitely coming back with our parents.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ka3499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

As this was our first trip to India we decided to opt for the Homestay experience. We were extremely pleased with our choice. Priya and her family could not have been more attentive. We told them where we wanted to go and they advised us the best ways to get there- resulting in the chance to try out all the various modes of transport. They served up a range of Keralan dishes at mealtimes which were both nutritious and tasty. We were even invited to join the family in their Vishu meal celebrations eating from banana leaves.
The property is within easy reach of the backwaters, Kukarom bird sanctuary, Periyar wildlife sanctuary. Its a bit of a drag to get to Munnar so if you fancy visiting there you would be better to book a few days somewhere closer. We also found that return trains from Kochi were scarce so we ended up missing our last night at Kottayam in favour of a night in Kochi. All in all though- if its hospitality you are looking for you cant go wrong.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roamin_allover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

I had a very memorable stay at the Kanjirakkattu Heritage Home - Pryia and her family were very welcoming and I had the honour to celebrate Onam with them. Memories I will always remember! Thank you very much!

Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
1  Thank Jyrki14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

My aunt and I were on a tour to Kerala, and instead of the busy hotels, we got ourselves booked at Kanjirakkattu. Well, the website itself says a lot about the place but upon reaching there, it was just what we wanted! A quite home amidst greenery with no trace of pollution or noise! We are warmly welcomed by Priya and like a Busy Bee she set herself upon making us comfortable! Were we at home ? i wondered ! Dinner was at its best with the most authentic home made Kerala cuisine and she even prepared the dish i was fond of ! Finger licking good ! Priya and her mother made us feel real homely and pampered...and we did exchange a lot of thoughts! All the tours and the ayurveda package planned by her, were really good and value for money ! Last but no the least, we are happy to have stayed at this homestay and we not only take back memories but also are glad to have found new friends !
Thanks Priya for the warm hospitality extended from you and your mother. Look forward to visiting you again at Munnar ! All the Best !

Best Regards
Ms Rekha and Ms Manorama
Sadashivnagar, Bangalore

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garfield612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Perfect break from an itinerary full of hotels. Lovely, clean home. Gracious hostess Priya saw to all our needs. Her meals were delightful but what I most enjoyed was our enlightening conversations. She unraveled all the mysteries and questions we had accumulated (3 weeks travel to that point). An intelligent and well read individual, she was as enthusiastic about our travels as we were. She didn't even mind us looking over her shoulder while preparing dosas in her kitchen. I hope to return. Thank you Priya.

Liz, Vancouver

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bebops56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kottayam
0.6 mi away
Nisha Continental Hotel
Nisha Continental Hotel
#20 of 28 in Kottayam
4 reviews
6.2 mi away
Tharavadu Heritage Home
Tharavadu Heritage Home
#17 of 26 in Kumarakom
113 reviews
3.8 mi away
GK's Riverview Homestay
GK's Riverview Homestay
#1 of 55 in Kottayam
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Athreya Ayurvedic Centre
Athreya Ayurvedic Centre
#1 of 28 in Kottayam
693 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fenn Hall
Fenn Hall
#14 of 81 in Kottayam
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanjirakkattu Heritage Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanjirakkattu Heritage Home

Address: Nagampadom Panayakazhippu Road, Kottayam 686001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kottayam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Kottayam
Price Range: $23 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kanjirakkattu Heritage Home classification- Diamond House - A home stay - An abode to relax, realize & rejuvenate - In Kottayam town, Kerala, a spacious, private and calm property located on the banks of the Meenachel River. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kanjirakkattu Heritage Home Kottayam, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing