We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!”
Review of Eco Trails Kerala

Eco Trails Kerala
Ranked #1 of 1 Tours in Kottayam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Backwaters of Kerala is unique and is found nowhere else in the world. Backwaters are a network of lakes, canals and estuaries and deltas of forty-four rivers that drain into the Arabian Sea. The backwaters of Kerala are a self supporting eco-system teeming with life. The most exciting aspect of Kuttanadu is the Kettuvallam (traditional Houseboat) which has become the most popular tourism product in India today.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
sf
1 review
“Great experience!”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

A lovely hassle free experience with beautiful views and great food/staff.

Picked up and dropped off on time.

LGBT friendly. Or oblivious.

Thanks!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank traceykaplan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    39
    6
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
“Beautiful experience, absolute excelent service!!!”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I stayed with my girlfriend for one night on one of the houseboats, and also another night at Tharavadu Heritage Home, all arranged perfectly by Kence Georgey!! (also with the transfer from/to the Cochin Airport). This was one of the most wonderful experiences of our lives!! As to the houseboat, it was one of the most original and beautiful experiences of my life. The houseboat itself (for 2 people, with AC room) was one of the most beautiful around, and the three people of the crew were amazing too...they were very quiet but provided everything for a great service indeed! Also, the service and hospitality of Kence Georgey was amazing: he answered our mails very quickly while arranging everything for our stay in Kerala, and he arranged everything perfectly as agreed when we got there...and he even invited us to his house for a drink and a very nice chat once the houseboat trip was over and we were making some time before going to the airport. We stayed three days in total in Kerala, but we will definetively go back and stay for more days next time, with everything arranged by Kence. Really amazing serice from him and his staff!!! Totally recommended!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Esteban Víctor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A dreamy trip”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed one night on of their beautiful houseboats (would have stayed for two nights if budget/timings allowed!!) and enjoyed every moment, well worth what we payed for it!
Kence was great when arranging logistics before hand i.e. being met from the train station. The three guys who worked on the boat were lovely! Always there when we needed them but left us private time and space to enjoy the waters and peace - had a real laugh with them as well!
Jumping off the boat to swim as they sugessted was a real treat :)
Food was bloody marvellous and the chef was more than happy to chat about the dishes and Keralan food to us. Rooms were very nice and comfy bed was much appreciated!
We woke up for sunrise (prompted by the chefs assistant who was lovely enough to get up early with us!) which was a special moment.
Haven't experience any other local boats or companies but I couldn't think of anything to be improved - what more could I want!
Enjoy!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ellaglasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely boat, brilliant service”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Had a wonderful time drifting around the backwaters in a beautiful example of a Kettuvallam houseboat. The crew were friendly and attentive (though not overly), and the food was especially delicious and VERY plentiful. Total relaxation on some of the most picturesque waterways you'll ever have the pleasure of floating on.

Just beware stopping at the 'fish market', hugely overpriced seafood.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“5 Star Experience”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This was AMAZING. The perfect experience. I remember walking along the backwaters towards a line of house boats and thinking, 'wow, that boat is amazing, where's ours though' and then we stepped onto the most insanely beautiful boat i've ever stayed on. The whole experience for my girlfriend and I was 24 hours and I guess that's all you need. The boat was so comfy, beautiful lounge area, stunning bedroom with HUGE window, and a rather pimped out bathroom. The 2 staff on board were fantastic and the chef was brilliant, i'll never forget the meals he cooked for us, we both said 'meals, fit for kings' when he finished laying the final plate. If you drink then I would recommend getting some beers before you board the boat as they were a little pricey from the shop the boat stops at. It was really cool stopping at the shop though, there was simple fish market (a small fish shop), where we choose some fish for our chef to prepare for us for the evening meal. Truly an epic experience and one that I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a house boat.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank TSkelt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eco Trails Kerala also viewed

Kottayam, Kottayam District
Kottayam, Kottayam District
 
Kottayam, Kottayam District
Kottayam, Kottayam District
 

Been to Eco Trails Kerala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing