We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fort Inn Homestay was comfortable and in great location”
Review of Fort INN Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fort INN Homestay
Ranked #268 of 451 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 23, 2009

We stayed at Fort Inn in Dec + March. This hertiage homestay has been beautifully renovated and the rooms and the reception area were extremely clean. Manager, Rose + Thomson were very helpful and not at all pushy. In March we had a larger room, with TV, Air Con and a fridge which was a bliss..:) Fort Inn is also a walking distance to all the restaurants/shops and to the jetty for boat. We also liked the laundry service + breakfast at Fort Inn. We are hoping to go back to Cochin in the future and we certainly stay at Fort Inn.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puccini66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 58 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2009

Fort Inn is run by a wonderful accommodating team (Biju - you're still a superstar!).
After being scammed in Kumily by a travel agent, Biju and the owner went out their way to have our train fare refunded, drove us to a new travel agent and rebooked our tickets to Goa. Biju also allowed us to keep the room until the evening because I was very ill and needed to rest before our train trip.
Breakfast can be arranged with Anusha the day before. The rooms are spacious, and I'd highly recommend a/c if you're booking the double room next to the stairs. There is shared balcony which is a good place to drink your coffee early in the morning
The location is perfect if you need to be close to the customs jetty, and it's a pleasant walk to the Chinese fishing nets, Princess and Burgher streets.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2009

I stayed for 5 nights at the end of December. Anusha and Thompson, the hosts, are kind and generous people. I found the room standards high. The buiding has a northern exposure and there is very little direct sun so the rooms can seem dark. I was pleased with the cleanliness of the room and the furnishings were of good standard, if not exactly my taste. Excellent location for ferry access and close to some good restaurants and the Fort Cochin seafront with the Chinese Fishing Nets.

Fort Inn is clean, quiet and felt safe and run by lovely people who really try hard to meet travellers needs.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smacdvanbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2009

We enjoyed 4 night at this homestay and were very comfortable. Anusha and Thomson, the owners were very friendly and helpful. They let us use our rooms until 10pm and our departure to the airport for our night flight without any extra charge. The location was very good, near the ferries, Chinese fishing nets, shops and restaurants. By the way, the bakery next door is now closed.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Candem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2009

After reading some of the good reviews on Trip Advisor we have to question if they were reviewing the same place.

We were very disappointed with the accommocation that was poor on cleanliness and very dingy. The room was over furnished with 3 beds when there was only room for two, linen and towels were grubby and sheets not even ironed. There was no hot water to the shower. To compound it all there was a calender for 2007 on display in January 2009 and certainly no sign of a bakery next door that other reviews have mentioned.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HastingsLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2008

Recommended by Kerala Ecotours. This B&B is not a smart hotel but is run by friendly, considerate people. We stayed there four nights, two of them in transit to other parts of Kerala & the family were extremely flexible and helpful about our arrivals and departures.

There is air-conditioning as well as a fan or two in each bedroom; and the place is clean and near to the attractions of Kochi including a very good restaurant three minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Gill48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2008

We stayed here for about a week. The staff is professional, the rooms are clean, the area is ideal and away from hectic traffic and noise of a highway. Being a photographer I carried many valuable items, and I never locked our door once. Anusha and her family run this place very professional. They can book tours for you, as well as houseboat stays in Allapey, as well as Khatikali theatre reservations (all walking distance) They also change money and are able to help you reserve train tickets. Internet is available in the lobby.
They kept our bags while we went on a houseboat overnight. Staff member drove me to and back from the gas station when my scooter ran out of gas, as well as to the dealership. Next door is a bakery that serves light delicious pastries. Walking distance are ferry boats, Traditional theatres, and bicycle rentals. We stayed in India for 30 days and this is the one place that felt like home.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank neversaycant1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.0 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#5 of 30 in Ernakulam
431 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Classik Fort Hotel
The Classik Fort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tripunithura
92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Meridien Kochi
Le Meridien Kochi
#2 of 3 in Maradu
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Surya, Luxury Airport Hotel
0.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kochi Airport
0.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort INN Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort INN Homestay

Address: Near Aspinwall Company, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #268 of 451 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $53 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fort INN with all the laid-back splendor of a colonial villa has been transformed by a design conscious restoration. Located in the crossroads of history & conceived as a Heritage Tourist INN. Built in 1855 in Dutch Architectural style & recently restored with modern amenities and carefully decorated with country antiques & by retaining the original heritage structure. Relax in cozy elegance at the historic, 4 - room Fort Inn Homestay, Bed & Breakfast located in the heart of Cochin town is a unique combination of yesterday's charm and today's conveniences. Within walking distance of the city's best restaurants and most popular tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fort INN Homestay Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing