We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Friendly Host and Clean Room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chackupurakal

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chackupurakal
Ranked #72 of 424 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location, Friendly Host and Clean Room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here last December for 2 nights and it was a good experience. The façade is very clean and room is spacious. The staff, Ms. Sonia and Mr. Varghese are very helpful and friendly. They gave us a lot of recommendations of places to go.

We love the pineapple juice that Mr. Varghese make every morning! It's by far the best!! :)
The location is superb as it's walking distances to most places in Fort Cochin. I have to thank Mr.Saj for his kind recommendation otherwise we would not have found Chack Inn

The only setback is mosquitos problem. Though we didn't had any major problem in the room, the common spaces are full of mosquitos. I think if they do something about it would be really great place.

Overall, we are happy and for sure will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mohansund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    34
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
32
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We tried to make a reservation at Sajhome but were informed that he was full. However Saj still went out of his way and made this booking for us and arranged our transfer from the airport too. Excellent service - thanks Saj!
The hotel is in good location and is clean and simple. We paid a little under 3000 rupees and don't have anything to compare this price to (yet) so it is difficult to say how it ranks for value. However we were both happy here and it served our purpose perfectly. The staff were all very friendly and helpful - the rooms are large and the breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WimbledonWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Pros: Large rooms that more than accommodated our 2 huge suitcases. very clean room and linens. light breakfast of pureed pineapple and omelette + toast included in the price (2300 R with air con) very quiet area, (we had a room at the back). 5 min walk to hustle of Princes street which suited us, or auto rickshaw easy to pick up.

Cons: Mosquitos. The doors are left open so the mosquitos are free to fly into the halls and then into rooms. Big prob for us. I started closing the front doors at dusk and explained that the mosquito bites are an issue. i also bought some very dodgy room spray. they were very nice about it but not sure they understood that this is an issue for europeans. Saj, who recommended chack inn has notices asking people to keep doors closed as mosquito precaution. Hoping they follow suite.

We were there for the Biennale, so not much sightseeing. We did the "Backwater Tour". Wouldn't recommend. 45 mins drive to pick up the boat then 4-5 hours sitting on a plastic lawn chair with not much to see. A lake and canals, but vegetation the same. Felt like I'd been on a long haul flight by the end of the day.

if you go before mid march the biennale is amazing. especially Ariel Hassan's work at the cochin club. best viewed after dark. old harbour hotel was fav for eating and relaxing. 5 star food at ridiculously low prices

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DomingoBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Chack Inn for 3 nights to settle into Indian life as our flight landed in Kochi. The building seems newish and is very grand compared with other buildings in Fort Kochi. The room itself was quiet, basic and clean.

The lovely owner Varghese doesn't speak much English but he more than makes up for it with a big smile and the best omelet I have had in India.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay at The Chack Inn, however we thought it was a little on the pricey side for what it was.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OliverandSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centerline
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Nice place to stay.Excellent value.Fantastic view from balcony with beautiful garden.Very close to beach and very helpful staff. A/C and fans available for comfort. Clean bathrooms.Free breakfast of choice available. Good location.Backwater tours and other sight seeing helps available. Airport picking and guided travel help as needed. Free internet . Joe

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are more cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaychak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Nice arrangements for staying overnight. Helpful caretaker uncle. Brilliant entrance garden, excellent outside finishing and decor. Spacious rooms great AC room freshners, clean toilets Great value for money ... We stayed in ground floor rooms

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vivek_sathe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Chack Inn is located away from the water but within walking distance or short rickshaw ride to the main attractions of Fort Kochi. Despite its beautiful exterior, the rooms are spartan at best. There is internet on site if you can suffer through the considerable number of mosquitoes that occupy the lobby. The property owner was friendly but spoke less English than most in India. Beware of the packages (including taxi service), which can be purchased for less on your own. Sajhome, the property next door, is owned by the wonderfully helpful Saj. If he has rooms available, I would recommend staying there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elderbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.2 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Fort Bungalow
The Fort Bungalow
#6 of 424 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nena's Inn
Nena's Inn
#78 of 424 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Jennys Homestay
#217 of 424 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Noah's Ark Homestay
Noah's Ark Homestay
#25 of 424 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chiramel Residency
Chiramel Residency
#45 of 424 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chackupurakal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chackupurakal

Property: Chackupurakal
Address: 1/1061, Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 424 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Chackupurakal" The unique Italian architectural house in Fort Cochin, far from the maddening crowd of the city, yet right in the midst of action, very hygienic, with furnished and bath attached rooms in Italian style, common hall with cable TV, parking space and 24 hours security and internet facilities, you can enjoy food from your own kitchen or home delivery from modern hotels on call, and no doubt you will really feel at home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chackupurakal Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing