We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay, wondeful people !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bungalow Heritage Homestay
Ranked #5 of 430 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Llanelli, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay, wondeful people !”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Our stay at the Bungalow heritage was what we expected and more. The house, the history, the food and the island, all make a stay here a wonderful experience. Neemas cooking was some of the best food we had throughout our holiday, and we were surprised each morming with new dishes and tastes- the egg curry being one of the best curries Ive in my life!!! The house is fascinating, full of items of interest and history. The location of the house on Vypeen Island just adds to the experience, being away from the touristy Fort Cochin and a short ferry ride away.
However, despite all the above positives it is Neema and her family that make this a true homestay. Warm, friendly, good sense of humour- Neema and her husband are very welcoming yet relaxed, and you genuinely feel at home. It is this and their genuine pleasure at meeting people from around the world that make a stay here what it is- an exceptional experience.
We would certainly recommend to others, and visit again when in Kerela.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
144
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I cannot say enough great things about Neema and her family and their beautiful homestay, The Bungalow. The house itself is stunning and it is a privilege to be able to stay there but I think the best thing about the Bungalow is the welcome you receive. Neema and her family are so kind and offer great advice and information so you can best enjoy your stay in Kochi, this begins before you even arrive so you feel very comfortable. Also, the food is outstanding and such a treat.
If we ever get to go back to Kerala, I hope we do, I will stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilippaKirkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

After reading the trip advisor reviews our expectations were high, so when we arrived and everything was just as described we were thrilled. Neema, Prasad and Olivia make such a lovely family and we were welcomed into their house as if we were family. The house is a fascinating one with lots of dark wood and interesting objects around the rooms. The food which Neema cooks is excellent and she takes the time to explain it, which is very useful for first timers in India. She also informs you about the best places to visit and gives other useful tips on staying in this area. She arranged for us to be collected at the airport and purchased train tickets for our onward journey. Nothing seems too much trouble. We would highly recommend this Homestay
for those who would like to experience living with a very caring and intellectually interesting family. Thank you Olivia for performing your beautiful dance.

Room Tip: Either room would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Confusedbuthappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varkala, India
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We had a really wonderful stay at Neema's! Her Hospitality is second to none, lots of personal attention, lovely family, delicious food, the place is absolutely spotless and has just beautiful interiors, steeped in such a wonderful family history that Neema just brings to life! Another great thing was the travel advice Neema was able to give, she recommended activities on Kochi, a lovely place in Munnar for us to stay, and even helped us book train travel and recommend taxi companies.

My mum and I are holidaying together and I must say this set us up for a trip of a lifetime. I am half Nigerian, half Swiss and have travelled extensively and have never met a host quite so passionate about what they do!! A wonderful stay! Thank you Neema!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaAniyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We were welcomed with amazing hospitality from the moment we stepped out of the cab by Neema and Prasad. Their lovingly maintained heritage home had such character and was so comfortable, and a delight and honour to stay in. Neema's amazing cooking, her thoughtful suggestions of where to go and how to get there as well as her sincere desire to make this a memorable trip for us was truly appreciated by my daughter and I. I can't think of a better way to begin our travels. While we are sad to depart tomorrow,we are thrilled we get to spend one more day here before flying home in 2 weeks.
We would return here in a heartbeat!

Meredith & Karen

Room Tip: Both rooms here are lovley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meryoungson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Neema and Prasad are very welcoming and beautifuls hosts.
Travelling the world themselves for many years they are now welcoming the world to their home. We arrived very late the first night and they stayed up to welcome us and made us feel welcome.
The room is very nice and even have a A/C (which you don't need, the fans are doing the job)
The position is very good ( short walk to ferry to Chochin). No worries, you can't get lost with clear direction and advise from Neema.
The food is outstanding and thank you very much for putting up with the special diet requirements from my husband ( I hope you have some butter left in your household :-))
Neema and Prasad are happy to share their knowledge and experience and are also interested in your life.
All in all we can only highly and will recommend The Bungalow if you are after experience Kerala first hand.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weidga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2013

What more could you want!! Wonderfull hosts, exceptional food and a beautiful house. Neema and Prasad make you feel so at ease and at home in The Bungalow. With a great warm welcome it was so good to be guided with working out the best way to see the sites from the wonderfull Mattancherry and Fort Cochin areas a short and easy ferry ride away to the Folklore Museum (being visited by Prince Charles next week). Not to be missed the Kathakali Cultural show and a cup of tea in the Teapot cafe. Neema's food is soooooo tasty especially the spicy doughnuts for breakfast and do have an evening meal with them. The house is spotless, beds comfy and lovely hot showers. A homestay never to be forgotten do make sure it's on your itinery.

Room Tip: We stayed in Sao Gabriel lovely en suite and great A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hobbsy789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.5 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.8 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#32 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
5.5 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bungalow Heritage Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bungalow Heritage Homestay

Property: The Bungalow Heritage Homestay
Address: Near St. Theresa's Chapel | Vypeen, Kochi (Cochin) 682508, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 430 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bungalow, located at Vypeen side of the harbor mouth of Port of Cochin, with its own history and culture. Built in 1930, this heritage building of Vypeen is a mixture of Portuguese, Dutch and Kerala architectures. Vypeen is a meld of Portuguese, Dutch and English influences; where history is alive even today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Bungalow Heritage Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bungalow Heritage Homestay Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing