We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bungalow Heritage Homestay
Nearby Hotels
$87
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Malabar House(Kochi (Cochin))
$147
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson Blu Kochi(Ernakulam)
$85
$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$96
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
PJ Princess Regency(Vypin Island)
$39
$33
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aiswarya Hotel(Ernakulam)(Great Value!)
$30
$22
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (328)
Filter reviews
328 results
Traveler rating
311
14
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
311
14
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsneema and prasadvypeen islandher husbanda short ferry ridecooking lessongreat grandfatherbeautiful housesao gabrielfamily historyfort cochinlovely daughterfabulous cookcooking classhistory buffindian historyhome stayreal india
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 328 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed with Neema and her family for three days just before returning back to Sweden after 2 weeks in India. The Bungalow is very conveniently located on Vypeen Island, just a short boat ride from Fort Cochin. Neema, Prasad and Olivia made us feel very welcome in their nice heritage home. We really enjoyed Neemas great cooking and the possibility to get to know the family. Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bjorn68f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at the Bungalow Heritage Homestay for 2 nights when we first arrived in Kochi - and liked it so much we returned for an extra night later on during our holiday in Kerala. Neema and Prasad were really welcoming hosts (they even gave us a beautiful chirstmas gift!) and Neema's lovingly-prepared dinners were some of the most delicious and memorable meals we had in our month-long trip. Bring on the cookery book please! The room and the house itself were both lovely - and the tour Neema and Prasad gave us around their home, delving into its history was particularly interesting. Such friendly hospitality is something you just won't get at a hotel. They were happy to advise on everything - from where to get a haircut to the best place to buy spices. Neema also kindly organised all our travel - so we didn't have to waste any of our holiday time going to the train station to buy tickets. All in all a very special place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights over New Year and were overwhelmed by the warm loving care given by Neema. The food was delicious - a very generous breakfast each morning and a beautifully served and delicious new years eve dinner.Neema and Pradad are very helpful and willing to assist in whatever way possible. It was a pleasure to be welcomed as part of their family.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryg007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I and our three sons had the pleasure of staying at the Bungalow for three nights. Neema and Prasad were excellent hosts and we all agreed that we had a wonderful experience staying in their beautiful home. They were warm and well-informed and we enjoyed the lively conversations over breakfast, particularly about the history of Neema's family, their travels around the world, and of the Jews in Cochin. The rooms and bathrooms were immaculately clean. This being the first heavily-touristed place that we visited on our trip through southern India, it was a pleasure to escape the congested streets and hagglers of Fort Kochi for the relative calm of Vypeen island and to have a more authentic Keralan experience. We thoroughly enjoyed Neema's cooking (particularly the egg curry and string hoppers) and had a lot of fun in our private cooking class on one evening. Our only regret is not having seen Olivia's dancing!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank PriscillaPruitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Thank you to the Hostess of this Heritage Bungalow for all her hard work, creative menus and care and attention in every area. Neema's smile is uplifting from the moment of arrival. Her consideration and unique cookery talent make this a special and delightful place to spend a vacation. She is, without doubt a very special person who we will remember with great fondness. Many thanks to her and her family for a memorable Christmas 2012.

Room Tip: This is an outstanding Homestay and we would totally recommend it. The double room is very comfortable and spacious.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulCBuryStEdmunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews