We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent restaurant at a very reasonable price!”
Review of Dal Roti

Dal Roti
Ranked #15 of 946 Restaurants in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent restaurant at a very reasonable price!”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

We came here to have a dinner, because it was next to our hotel.

We were pleasantly surprised! The Aloo parotha meal was excellent, and the kati rolls were very good, all at an affordable price.

Fast and kind service, cozy atmosphere, definitely recommend it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cuttigandum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    843
    455
    170
    68
    74
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious khati roll!”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed the chicken khati roll at Dal Roti - was as good as many have cracked it up to be... Tasty masala tea too. Nice old white-washed wall restaurant with friendly staff. Was quiet when I was there, so a great place to chill with a book. Wouldn't be put off by reports of long queues (except in ultra peak season I'm guessing).

Helpful?
1 Thank Horley85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Kati Roll”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stopped in for a kati roll every day during our 5 day trip to Fort Kochi. I highly recommend it (but they are closed on Tuesdays!) The owner is friendly and helpful, and will even let you mix and match the ingredients. I must say, however, the chicken kati roll is the pick of choice of all the combinations.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great food, fair price, good service and comfortable atmosphere.”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

A local shop keeper recommended the restaurant to us. And I must admit it was one of the most delicious North Indian foods we have had on this south India tour. The fish was excellent and so was the veg cuisine. It was not expensive at all like other restaurants in Fort Kochi. It was a great value for the money. We went there with no expectation but come out pleasantly surprised. If you go there once you are sure to go back many more times. Our dinner was so good we went back the next day for lunch. I highly recommend this restaurant for it's outstanding food, comfortable and very casual atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rose-Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly atmosphere, lovely dessert”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

The food is pretty decent.... Excellent given the price. Felt the food was better on my previous visits, possibly it really packed with backpackers this time. Quirbani ka meetha and pineapple juice were really excellent, the rolls were on the heavy side ... Chicken could do with more marination.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AchuthanPalat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dal Roti also viewed

Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 

Been to Dal Roti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing