We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced”
Review of Bharat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bharat Hotel
Ranked #96 of 210 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Over priced”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

My wife and I had previously eaten excellent vegetarian meals in the hotel restaurant and decided to stay in the hotel on our visit to Kochi. It was a mistake. We arrived quite late after a long flight and were greeted by bored reception staff who spoke little English and seemed not to care about their guests. The room was in very poor condition. The curtains had certainly seen better days. The bathroom was also in poor condition.

After the good food we had eaten in the restaurant breakfast was a disappointment with a meager assortment of Indian food. This hotel was overpriced for what it offers.

Fortunately we only spent one night there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davebude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    76
    39
    13
    11
See reviews for
68
33
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed in the hotel in Jan. 2014The hotel is one of the oldest and is known for vegetarian cuisines . The location is good . The hotel is over priced for its amenities . It is o..k. for a short stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

location of hotel is good
repeated menu for breakfast everyday
beds are poor quality, almost all single beds are joined to make double beds
need to improve food quality and breakfast menu too.
walls are so thick that your neighbour can hear you

Room Tip: take rooms above 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nirav14051987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kochi (Cochin) hotels

Hyderabad, India
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This hotel is right on the main road and if you get a room facing the main road you can't sleep nights as it is too noisy and besides they have no non smoking rooms and the rooms smell of tobacco.

Hotel has a business center and also serves complementary breakfast which is very good.

I think it's time to revamp this hotel as it has as a decor of 70's

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raag01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Its a nice budget hotel and nicely located in Cochin.. The restaurant is awesome with some excellent vegetarian food.. Could be crowded during lunch hours on holidays.. The lunch buffet has excellent tastes and has many options.. Close by to the shopping area also..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed at BTH Kochi for 3 nights to attend a cousin's wedding. The rooms are decently spacious, though quite old in their upholstery and amenities. Bathrooms are very average and some of them were leaking most of the time. Very specific time when hot water is available for bath and that will also be just luke warm.
Room service is quite quick and dependable. Its a pure veg restaurant. The coffee shop serves decent dosas. Coffee tasted very average.. Can live by for a day or 2 max.
Buffet dinner at Sarovaram restaurant is very average... Quite expensive for the spread and quality is average.

Room Tip: Good for a night stay.. Make sure the bathrooms function well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Archana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

My family and I stayed for a day in Bharat Hotel, Kochi. It is in a very central location, next to the sea front in Ernakulam. Some of the rooms have a good view of the sea and ships in the harbour at Willingdon Island.

The rooms were well furnished, considering the tariff. We had a good vegetarian buffet breakfast in the hotel's restaurant. Though the hotel is old (I had stayed in it for two weeks with family, as long back as 1982) it has been modernized. The rooms were neat and clean and service was good.

The hotel is within walking distance of the boat jetty (to catch ferries to Fort Kochi, Matancheri, and Vypeen), MG Road, the main shopping area of Ernakulam, plenty of restaurants, and Ernakulam Junction Railway Station. A nice Shiva temple is just outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea/harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinod500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
2.8 mi away
BTH Sarovaram
BTH Sarovaram
#73 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aiswarya Hotel
Aiswarya Hotel
#10 of 30 in Ernakulam
148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Excellency
Hotel Excellency
#90 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Millennium Continental
Hotel Millennium Continental
#12 of 30 in Ernakulam
264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#28 of 30 in Ernakulam
97 reviews
1.1 mi away
The International Hotel
The International Hotel
#66 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bharat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bharat Hotel

Property: Bharat Hotel
Address: 2357 Gandhi Square P B No | P.B.No.2357, Durbar Hall Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682016, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 210 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bharat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Bharat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bharat Hotel Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing