We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bharat Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$87
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Malabar House(Kochi (Cochin))
$147
$141
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson Blu Kochi(Ernakulam)
$85
$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$90
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
PJ Princess Regency(Vypin Island)
$39
$33
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aiswarya Hotel(Ernakulam)(Great Value!)
$30
$22
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveler rating
22
78
39
13
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
78
39
13
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdurbar hallvegetarian hotelexcellent vegetarian foodbanana leavestravel desk servicesboat jettyveg restaurantthaliroom service ismg roadmarine drivetraditional keralanorth indianrestaurant servesexcellent locationsambarthe heart of the city
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 165 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Situated in a very nice location Bharat Tourist Home is one of the best hotel in Kochi. Though a bit expensive, rooms are very neat and good. Bathrooms are clean. The food delicacies served at the restaurant is famous for their taste. Many north Indians are seen staying in this hotel and the hotel is found very nice. BTH have their restaurant chains in Oberon Mall, Lulu Mall etc-. The service of the staff is satisfactory.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BARISHKOHINOOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The hotel was recommended by my father who had stayed there over 35 years ago. The way he described the service and ambience is still valid today.

It is a great location - just near the boat jetty - which is useful for travelling to various islands in the region using a ferry. The Ernakulam bus stand and railway station are close-by and you can take an auto for 50-60 rupees.

The room was clean though a bit dimly lit. AC was good and centralized. The room had broad windows that let enough light into the room making up for the dim lighting.

The best aspect about the hotel is its food service. Room service took only around 10 mins to arrive on both occasions that we used it. When they did not have something that we ordered, they were good enough to offer alternative suggestions and clarifying with us on our order. The breakfast buffet included with the room pricing was very good and had good variety.

The elderly gentleman at the reception was very helpful. The day we checked out, he helped us find a good means of transport to Allepey, even checking if the train was running on time. In fact, we went back to the hotel two days after we had vacated to ask for a cab and some other questions about local sightseeing and he was kind enough to help us out. He even offered to hold our bags while we went out and came back towards the evening.

Overall, it was a great stay and I would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaushiksampath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Bharat Hotel, usually known as BTH (formerly Bharat Tourist Home), is a well-known landmark in Kochi and is popular with budget tourists. The chief attraction is the great location--700 metres from the boat jetty and right in the heart of the city, yet very quiet.

The food is terrific in the restaurant and the coffee shop. Hygiene has improved considerably over the years. The staff are efficient, although I would like to see them smile once in a while. Some of the new waiters in the restaurant need training. They stand right near your table at one place, looking out through the window at the road. Very annoying. I've stayed in this hotel several times in the past ten years.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank palghat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The subhiksha restaurant in the bharat Hotel in Ernakulam Kochi serves great veg thalis at great prices Rs 90 Its rammed for breakfast and lunch. The locals love it ..... all thalis served on banana leaves.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkSeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had lunch and dinner here during our stay in Kochi. The food was excellent and dishes were very tasty. The buffet had a decent spread of Kerala cuisine and good for those wanting taste Kerala cuisine. The service was very good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drifter_bangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews