We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience!!! Dont go!!!!”
Review of Time Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Time Square
Ranked #90 of 205 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Lima, Peru
1 review
“Terrible experience!!! Dont go!!!!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We booked a room for 3. We arrived really late and the hotel provided a double bed and a THIN MATRESS for the third guest to sleep ON THE FLOOR !!!! We didn't agree so we asked if there was another room... there was another single room but we had to pay for it, they didn't offer it to us !!! Besides that, the room was really small, the towels and sheets were really old and full of stains (not even guest house level). The next day the manager arrived and apologized but the damage was done, and he charged the extra room anyway.
Really bad experience, not worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alnufe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faraaz_9, General Manager at Time Square, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest....We do accept the mistakes but I must say we tried our level maximum to rectify the issues.Being a business hotel we do charge only that much and we are providing good facilities within the limits, not offering much luxury which is not viable in this tariff.This any viewer can read from the comments of other guests about us.All our rooms are basically meant for double occupancy only and third person is offered extra mattress so far. But for this guest I purchased a new folding cot( cost is Rs.5500/-) and given in room, then naturally room gets congested. That is why the practice of giving extra mattress at the time to sleep.For the extra room we charged but only 50% of the tariff which is hardly enough to meet the utility charges, everybody can understand.I saw the stains on the sheets , enquired and found that the stains came from the varnish used for the new folding coat.Immediately, being the manager I personally went to the room and given new sheets and towels , which this guest cannot deny.Of course,As my guest says I apologized and taken all possible corrective steps to solve the issues.Mistakes are not granted but can happen as per the expectation of the guests or laxity of my team or deficiency of infrastructure....but we do our maximum effort to rectify the wrong things, and that is why we are still getting Excellent Reviews in the same tripadvisor.The satisfaction depends on presumption and assumption of each person which can vary from man to man.So, we request you to understand that this is not a problem without solution. Once again apologize you for the unhappy moments if any caused by us , request you sincerely to visit once again to have a very best experience which can be called ``satisfaction Guaranteed`.`May go for the Deluxe rooms next time for three persons and please check with the hotel team to make sure about your expectation and requirement.
Thanking you with warm regards,
For Time Square management and staff,
Suvarnan Sivaram,
General Manager,
9961313456.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    86
    36
    17
    9
See reviews for
63
60
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed at Timesquare hotel on 14 September for a night and again for a short day use on 17 September 2012. The hotel is indeed value for money and located near the train station. Hence, it is really convenient for those who have to travel by train to any other destinations in India.

I must commend the Manager, Nishad for his excellent service in arranging for my pick-up and train travel. He booked all the necessary train tickets to facilitate my travel to Karunagarapully and Trichy. Thanks Nishad! And thanks to the driver, Dinu for taking me to the three famaous Shiva shrines in Cochin and bringing back safely to Cochin and in time before my train to Trichy.Very helpful staff.

I must say the food was great there as well!

Will stay here again if I do go to Cochin!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TYoges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faraaz_9, General Manager at Time Square, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest...Warm Greetings from Time Square Hotel....and Thank you a lot for your time to write such a good review about Time Square in Tripadvisor. The management and and all staff including drivers are dedicated for the maximum possible satisfaction of our guests, within the limits. So humbly request you to refer our hotel to your friends and associates those who visit Kochi in future.
Thanking you once again,
For Time Square management and the entire staff,

Suvarnan Sivaram,
General Manager,
9961313456.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Nice hotel, the service from the staff was excellent. The staff are punctual at booking trips and organising transfers . The room was basic . I would stay there again .
The staff was very helpful throughout my stay in Cochi .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GILLIAN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faraaz_9, General Manager at Time Square, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest...Warm Greetings from Time Square Hotel....

Thank you very much for your repeated stay and thank you for your time to write such a good review about our hotel. The entire team at Time Square is committed for the maximum satisfaction of our guests.We do 100% justice for the money what a guest pays to us. We humbly request you to suggest our hotel to your friends and associates those who visit Kochi. Once again thanking you very much,

On behalf of Time Square Hotel Management and Staff,
Suvarnan Sivaram,
General Manager,
9961313456.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I 've stayed at Time Square 3 times and most probably stay the 4th later this year.The room I stayed in(deluxe) was spacious and spruce.Nothing much can be done regarding the towels & linen as the water used in laundering is brackish.
The staff are obliging and dutiful.I have known to send them on errands & also do some shopping for me-they have not solicited any tips from me.
The GM of this small hotel 'Professor' Suvarnam is an honest,humble,& obliging gentleman.The FOM 'Dr' Das is very flexible and has good knowledge of the city.
Thelocation of this hotel is great-one can traverse anywhere in the city from here.
With a little bit of improvements here and there,this could be a cosy boutique hotel.
Jason G.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faraaz_9, General Manager at Time Square, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Guest.....Thank you very much for your time to write such a good review about Time Square in Tripadvisor.As you said small things here and there - is noticed and the management is trying to rectify them one by one.
You are always welcome to our `small hotel`. Request you to refer our hotel to your friends and associates those who wish to visit Kochi and Kerala.
On behalf of Time square team and personally , I thank you once again.
For the entire team of Time Square.

Suvarnan Sivaram,
General Manager,
9961313456.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed in the Executive rooms for 3D2N. It was quite compact but clean. For 2 person stay and for a budget hotel, I would say it was comfortable. The washroom was clean except the stained towels. They are clean but stained - may be due to the water used to wash them. I would like to suggest that the management to change the towels to a darker colour such as brown or navy blue.
We were also upgraded to the Deluxe room and stayed there for 1D1N without extra charges.
The staff were very helpful and friendly. We would like to thank for their excellent hospitality.
It is a few meters away from the MG Road but, away from the deafening honking. Just 20 INDR paid to the autorickshaw - it will take to the Enarkulum Junction Train Station or KSRTC bus station- very convenient.
On our journey back to the airport, the hotel taxi driver gave us a short tour around the backwater area in Cochin without any extra charges. He was very friendly. Thank you again.
We really enjoyed our stay in Cochin - we hope to come back again soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liza N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faraaz_9, General Manager at Time Square, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Dear Guest.......Warm Greetings from Time Square hotel.....
Thank you very much for your precious comment about Time Square Hotel in `Tripadvisor`.We request you to refer our hotel to your friends and associates those who visit Kochi.

Thanking you with Warm Regards from entire team of Time Square

For Time Square hotel

Suvarnan Sivaram
General Manager
09961313456
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Just average Property. Staff there had a culture of trying to push us from all corners for availing different services and continue making us spent be it food, buffets, spa, going to nearby Sari Kendra to suggest purchase of Silk Saree etc. Highly Unprofessional Staff making your stay terrible. They have difficulty communicating in English and will depend on approval from their seniors even for basic issue like extra pillow. Free Upgrade to higher category of room is provided only when we paid the differential charges else it was flatly mentioned that they don't have inventory. Lot of hassles. Look for alternatives as many great options available nearby. Less said about the room condition the better it is. Bathroom Flooded. Small 14" TV fixed on Metal Hook near the ceiling almost 9 Ft high. Lot of persuasion for change in room that was entertained only when we paid the differential rates for free upgrade. Won't like to return there in future.

Room Tip: Be Very firm on what services you should get as per tariff provisions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cprabhash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faraaz_9, General Manager at Time Square, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Dear Guest...Greetings from Time Square Hotel...Thank you very much for your time to write a review in`Tripadvisor`. We understand that your stay with us was one year back(16/06/2011) and now we have improved a lot , refurbished our rooms and changed the 14 inch TV from steel rode.Within this one year you can see the changes and positive comments of guests who stayed with us.And let me say, the free up-gradation of room can be done only without losing our revenue, means when four or more rooms are remaining unsold by night definitely we will do it.Anyway please understand that we are giving maximum justice to our guests for what they pay.Request you to refer our hotel to your friends and associates again and again, because we believe change is the only thing which cannot be changed and we are changing better day by day by the suggestions and comments of our esteemed guests like you.
thanking you with warm regards,
Suvarnan Sivaram ( General Manager) and team of Time Square,
9961313456.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kochi (Cochin) hotels

Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Hi , I am Pushpa from Bangalore, we had a wonderful stay at Times square at Cochin.

Even before , I could stay at this place , I was very impressed by their service , I was just scrolling and finding out the places to stay at Cochin and by just click on the enquiry button , I receive a call from Mr.Nishad , Manager incharge.

I am bowled out by their hospitality and the guidance . Overall it was a pleasant stay at TIMES SQUARE. Looking forward for our next trip to spend here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank push_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faraaz_9, General Manager at Time Square, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Dear Pushpa Mam...Warm greetings from Time Square Hotel...Thank you very much for your kindness to put such a good review about us in Tripadvisor.We humbly request you to refer our hotel to your associates and friends those who are coming to Kochi.

We thank you very much once again,
For Time Square Hotel,

Suvarnan Sivaram( General Manager ) and the Team,
9961313456.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Millennium Continental
Hotel Millennium Continental
#13 of 29 in Ernakulam
262 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel
0.2 mi away
Aiswarya Hotel
Aiswarya Hotel
#10 of 29 in Ernakulam
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pearl Palace Hotel
Pearl Palace Hotel
#135 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#27 of 29 in Ernakulam
97 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Senate Hotel
The Senate Hotel
#98 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Time Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Time Square

Property: Time Square
Address: Club Road | Near chief justice residence, Kochi (Cochin) 688011, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Time Square 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Time Square is a 4 star property Centrally located at the Club Road, Time Square is 500 mts from railway station, 1 km from bus station and 26 kms away from international airport. It's strategic location at Club Road makes Time Square minutes away from all commercial complexes and at the same time free from traffic choas and noise pollution. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Time Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Time Square Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Time Square Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing