We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”
Review of Napier House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Napier House
Ranked #292 of 442 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Wollongong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

We are in Fort Kochi for a week. So far we have been to this restaurant twice and had delicious food both times.
The first time we had chicken biriyani prepared in chef Manoj's own style. It was very tasty, but not spicy or hot at all, which was great for my husband who isn't coping with chilli in the Keralan food.
Tonight we bought fresh king prawns at the Waterfront Chinese fishing nets, and bhindi(okra) and took them back to Manoj to be cooked. We returned an hour later, and had a delicious candle lit dinner, with excellent soup made from prawn stock, then prawns cooked in very few spices, dry and sweet, with bhindi also cooked to perfection, and special rice.
It was a memorable meal, which we will definitely remember as a highlight of our stay in Fort Kochi.
I would highly recommend that you go there for at least 1 meal. Manoj will cook in front of you, and teach you how to cook as well.
The prices are far too cheap, for what you get and in relation to all the other restaurants we have been to here.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Laj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    22
    5
    8
    10
See reviews for
17
35
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We went back to the restaurant twice due to the skills of newly hired (today is his 8th workday at Napier) chef Manoj Shanoi. Today Manoj prepared for our group a delicious traditional Keralan meal in cooking school format. Not only was this one of the best Indian meals I've ever had, but we now have the recipes and understanding of how we can try this at home. Truly don't miss this restaurant with Chef Manoj. The team brings in fresh ingredients for him to use while he cooked for us. Thank you.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We arrived in early December having booked a 2 night stay online and upon arrival found that the Napier was CLOSED. Do not book a room! The neighboring establishments advised us that the Napier had been closed for at least one month before our arrival. Found a place next door that was good. See review of Kimansion Inn.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Small hotel with just a handful of rooms. It's located on a quiet street in a great location of Fort Kochi. Five minute walk from the fishing nets and lots of great restaurants. we have had the luck to stay at napier in its inaugural day (after renovation), the staff are very helpful...
Thanks to team napier house once again and we wll come back again..

merry x mas and Happy New Year in advance..

Room Tip: Please choose upsatirs room at Napier House (Big Room with Varanda)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathreneitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford,BC
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Napier House. We reserved the Deluxe room with balcony on the first floor.We arrived late at night, they put us in a small dark room on the first floor beside the kitchen. When we explained that this was not the room that we had reserved, they said that they would fix it in the morning.The next morning we woke early to change our room.They told us that the deluxe room we reserved was occupied for the next 20 days but they would move us to the suite downstairs when the other guests checked out after supper that night. Because we were leaving at 9am the next morning, this hardly seemed worth the effort.The owners of Napier House do not speak more than a few words of English.For 4500 rupees per night, we expected much better.Breakfast was included: Toast, jam, fruit, coffee & tea. with an omelet.The location is great, only a few minutes walk to St. Francis Church and the beach.As many others have said,this homestay looks absolutely nothing like the photos that they advertise on their website.Our room had bars on the windows,A/C that did not work and there was no hot water.I am sure that there are many better places to stay in Fort Kochi.

Room Tip: The room situation appears to be an ongoing issue here. On the ground floor,there is a suite and a s...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rachele777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Don't be fooled by the pictures on the website. They must have been taken years ago. The place is very worn and the rooms are very damp (especially the ones downstairs). Having said that the rooms are big, the area quiet and it is close to the fort.

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms upstairs - the ones downstairs are dark and damp
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henriette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

After arriving in Kerala from the UK we stayed at Napier house for 2 nights. We had booked & paid in advance through Expedia and had reserved the suite with the teak floor & balcony as advertised on their website. On arrival we were given a downstairs room behind reception which was dingy, dark & damp. We complained to the staff there who told us that our room was the 'suite' and that the other 'suite' was booked out for 20 days. We stayed only because we had already paid ( not cheap either) & were very tired after a long journey. We asked for a reduction in tariff only to be told they couldn't do anything - we needed to take it up with Expedia. We had a collection of large insects in the room during the night which didn't improve our experience at this hotel. All in all we had a horrible introduction to Kerala because of this hotel - thank goodness it was only 2 nights!

Room Tip: Don't go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.0 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#32 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
621 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,387 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fortkochi Beach Inn
Fortkochi Beach Inn
#10 of 442 in Kochi (Cochin)
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#3 of 30 in Ernakulam
424 reviews
5.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kochi
Le Meridien Kochi
#2 of 3 in Maradu
1,024 reviews
17.9 mi away
Sara Hotels and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napier House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napier House

Property: Napier House
Address: Napier Street, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #292 of 442 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Napier House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Heritage Dutch House, approx 200 years old. We have well appointed 8 Rooms. The atmosphere is absolutely homely. When you are at Napier House you will never feel like you are in a hotel, you feel totally at Home. All Heritage spots and beach are at walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Napier House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napier House Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing