We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Again excellent”
Review of Hotel Fort Queen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Fort Queen
Ranked #66 of 205 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Again excellent”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I have just returned from Cochin, where again I stayed at Hotel Fort Queen. .
I must again compliment the staff and Management Team of the Hotel I am never disappointed,the hotel is well run, the staff very friendly and the food delicious. I overheard some people say, it's the best lunch they had while in Cochin.
Keep it up Mr. Basil (Manager) and Praseetha (Front Office Manager) you and your team are doing a great job.
Christina Walker x

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holidays2011_01_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    78
    30
    3
    5
See reviews for
65
65
17
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kharghar, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Hotel Fort Queen is located at the centre of the top circumference of Fort Cochin or rather the travellers paradise. It is close to the beach of Fort Cochin (where you can see fishermen using the Chinese Net to catch fresh fish along the shore), Jewish Synagogue, International Police Tourism Museum, Spice Market, Ducth Cemetery, Matanchery Palace, Ferry Services, KSRTC Bus Stand, EVM Cinema Hall and Westside Hospital. All the places of interest are within a range of 1-2 kilometres from the hotel and could also be easily walked down.

The hotel is quite decent for the prices at which the accomodation is offered. The rooms are spacious and have all amenities which one would look for at a hotel. The washrooms were clean and were properly done with all the toileteries, and also has running hot water all round the clock.

The buffet break-fast (complimentary) is reasonably well and has a good mix of fruits and cereals. It has two restaurants, one indian and one chinese cuisine for room service / dine-in. There is a conference room for business purposes. It also has a bar.

The staff at the reception are quite polite and courteous in their approach towards customers, plus you have the free internet facility.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dickson1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This place was very good to stay as it is very nearby to many attractions which is easily accessible via auto. Room are spacious and clean also complimentary breakfast was also largely spread. Staff were very friendly and reception person also helped and gave map of attractions nearby.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NitinGPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

This place is great if you are looking at a budget stay. About 5-7 minutes auto ride from the main attractions, this hotel has spacious rooms and is clean. The room service is slow so i would not reccomend eating your main meals here. Our room stay included a complimentary breakfast which was a buffet option with plenty of dishes.

The staff is fine and we had no oroblem with them.

I would reccomend this for a budget stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank divisri20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2012

A personalised welcome. Though the entrance lobby is small, it is tastefully done. Rooms are large enough to give you sufficient space to move around. Bathrooms were neat and tidy. Located in a quiet corner of Kochi but in close proximity to city's numerous attractions. The food was fine. The availability of bicycles with safety gear would give a good start to explore Kochi streets in a leisurely manner. The staffs were more than eager to help us in ensuring our comfort. Over all a nice place to quietly spend some quality time with family.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKS25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
161 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

In my quest for "Austerity" friendly hotels this year, I booked the Forth Queen at Kochi, its a small clean hotel in the fort Kochi area. Its some where between a business hotel and a bed and breakfast. The rooms are smallish but very clean, with a similary clean but small bathroom. Not too noisy its on a quiet street with occasional traffic and small houses and shops no other tourist activity near by, it has two restaurants one of which specializes in indian and continental food - i had the indian food which was mostly kerala seafood - which was well prepared and delicious. The hotel lies some where between the Sea front (where you have the fishing nets, princess street and the basalica) and the mattencherry area which has the dutch palace and jewish synagogue, both are around 8-10 minutes drive by tuk tuk (30 rupees) and around half hours walk - i walked to both places... some may feel this is too far, as you do have lots of hotels of all kinds in both areas... especially the sea front has lots of boutique hotels. The staff at the hotel are extremely helpful and arranged my transportation, when i had some problem with my ATM card they also helped out. What i think is missing in this hotel is some extra frills and glitz, right now it is a very business/B&B kinda place - they should make it more kerala tourisim oriented which will take it to another level. But for a short non-frilly kochi stay this is a great place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abhi2001_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Nothing wrong with the hotel apart from it's location. It isn't near anything particularly interesting and all the placed you might want to visit are a good drive away. You can change many things about an hotel except its location.

The rooms were fine, clean if a little basic and the food was reasonable. Service was fine but the place lacked something - not sure quite what.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacEddey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
2.7 mi away
Aiswarya Hotel
Aiswarya Hotel
#10 of 29 in Ernakulam
146 reviews
1.0 mi away
Phils' Residency
Phils' Residency
#72 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
87 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cochin Palace
Cochin Palace
#55 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
PJ Princess Regency
PJ Princess Regency
#1 of 9 in Vypin Island
315 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,407 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Millennium Continental
Hotel Millennium Continental
#12 of 29 in Ernakulam
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fort Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort Queen

Property: Hotel Fort Queen
Address: Manthra Main Road | Pandikkudy, Kochi (Cochin) 682002, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 205 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fort Queen 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fort Queen, is a three star classified hotel located in the heritage town of Fort Cochin. It is one of the best of its class hotels in this region. The hotel came to existence, with the effort of Mr. Pauly Joseph, the owner and CEO of this venture. Mr. Pauly Joseph, a native of Fort Cochin and a business man by profession hails from a family which has for decades spread its roots into various areas of business. With a thorough knowledge of the pulse and potential of this region, Mr. Pauly decided to establish a foot mark in the hospitality industry, to serve the requirements of the ever flowing tourists to Fort Cochin, the result : An exotic hotel came to existence in a calm and quiet location. Hotel Fort Queen opened its doors on the 31st of December 2005. Carrying forward the great tradition of hospitality through excellent holiday solutions, Fort queen provide total customer satisfaction; and alongside generate employee satisfaction by providing congenial working environment; and also contribute The hotel is installed with rich wood grained furnishings and subdued lighting, combined with a natural color scheme of muted browns and creams create an atmosphere of warmth and luxury throughout. Hotel Fort Queen is stylish and modern but cozy and comfortable, with an emphasis on privacy, charm and attention to detail. This Hotel is like a 'home away from home' where luxury is not ostentatious, but it's there in a refined way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Fort Queen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Queen Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing