We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing in Kochi compares...”
Review of Old Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Harbour Hotel
Ranked #1 of 212 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2013

During a late-October trip to Kerala, we selected this small hotel as the best situated to see the historic sights of Fort Cochin (stayed 2 nights), to meet up with colleagues after a trip to Munnar (stayed 1 night) and to regroup for 1 night after houseboating in Alleppey, before flying home. It exceeded our expectations. It is simply and graciously elegant, without pretense. The interior courtyard provided a green respite from travel and tourism. Breakfast was healthy, fresh, and included Indian breakfast dishes to our delight - discuss with the breakfast chef. We ate dinner there (in the courtyard) on two occasions after travel days and the food was excellent (ice cream, cookies, tartine the best), and accompanied by musicians playing a variety of classical Kerala instruments (perfect - bought a CD). We washed out travel weariness with morning yoga classes, and a massage. The entire staff were world-class in their provision of all services, and individually were delightful people. With grace and ease, they handled our comings and goings and changes of plans! Note, suggest for trips by car, use the hotel arrangements for excellent drivers (we learned to even relax on the road after multiple trips; in Munnar, the driver knew all possible routes, sights, and ways to help us maximize our short time there). Although we made our own plans for lodging in Munnar and houseboat in Alleppey, the hotel also can provide recommendations. The hotel location made local walking/touring/dining easy - there is so much in the immediate area. As I moved around town, I was always keeping an eye out for the other lodging choices, but spotted nothing that I would have rather stayed in (or that came even close).

Room Tip: We were in the Bastion suite (great space), Tower room (best view), and Lily garden room (more seclu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

607 - 613 of 1,403 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed here two nights in mid-October with our two teenage daughters and it was a wonderful and gentle introduction to India. The location is ideal, just a few yards from the sea and within walking distance of most sights, restaurants etc. yet it was a haven of relaxation and peace (Bar the beeping tuk-tuks!) with a lovely pool. The staff were delightful and well trained. It's not the cheapest but if you want to splash out I would definitely recommend this characterful hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felicity L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Unfortunately we stayed only for one night in the hotel but it was the start of the honeymoon and what a brilliant start! Absolutely beautiful colonial building and we couldnt stop marvelling at the architecture. We stayed in the princess suite which they decorated so beautifully for us we didnt even want to sleep in the bed for fear of spoiling it. rooms were full of antiques and old style colonial phones, tables, fans and light switched. Staff was very pleasant, smiling and excellent service and we were very well looked after by manager Jude. We wanted to explore eating options outside the hotel and they were so forthcoming and helpful in giving ideas and tips and booking reservation for us. The restaurant that Jude recommended was just perfect and the food was sublime! The location is a short walk 2min from the chinese nets and there are beautiful little streets with small shops selling artifacts. Memorable stay and we would HIGHLY recommend old harbour!

Room Tip: Princess suite is absolutely gorgeous! highly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snigdha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were very happy staying at this Hotel. We found the staff very helpful, the chef in the restaurant went out of his way to provide a wonderful breakfast for us.
The Hotel was very clean and we felt very safe during our stay. One morning during breakfast the staff played some music which I enjoyed very much. They were Sacred chants in the Lugu language. The manager that morning actually copied the CD for me so that I could take it home with me.
We had two beautiful evening meals in the Restaurant, both nights we were entertained by musical groups. One night was a Sitar concert which we enjoyed very much.
I would definitely recommend this Hotel to any one who was travelling to Kochi

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We arrived by river ferry, walked across a busy road and square and through the doors into another world. A beautifully restored colonial building with lovely old wood and a calm and spacious feel,. Large elegant rooms lead off corridors around a central courtyard. Our room looked out over the lovely landscaped gardens with the large swimming pool beyond on one side, the square and Chinese fishing nets beyond on the other. The bed was strewn with sweetly scented petals when we arrived and there was a coconut and straw each. We had excellent evening meals in the gardens, a lovely atmosphere with candlelight and Indian music. Breakfast was very good too - the dosas were the best we had anywhere in Kerala and huge! Yoga was available in the morning on the rooftop terrace. The hotel is very close to the Chinese fishing nets, an interesting street of shops, market stalls. If I went back to Cochin, I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at the Old Harbour Hotel for the first couple of nights of a 2 week holiday exploring Kerala......what a great way to start a holiday!
The hotel was lovely!! - a real gem & a little slice of calm and tranquility. We had a garden room which was beautiful. V spacious and complete with outdoor shower......showering under the stars listening to everything going on outside was wonderful!
The food was delicious.....and all the staff so friendly and attentive!
We did Yoga one morning......a really nice touch, offered free in a 'studio' on top of the hotel - can recommend as a good start to your day!
The hotel is in a great location, right by the chinese fishing nets......and after all the exploring has a lovely pool to come back and cool off in.
Can't recommend this hotel highly enough!

Room Tip: They do cost more however can highly recommend a garden room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

From start to finish, our stay at this hotel was truly memorable. We really could not fault anything. The hotel and landscaped gardens were absolutely beautiful and full of character. The attention to detail of the colonial decor was above and beyond what we'd expected and the staff were always so welcoming and gracious. A special thank you to Jude who went out of his way to ensure our stay was a pleasure. We are so grateful for being given the opportunity to share the experience of the Allepey Boat Race with Jude, his colleagues and friends. Their generosity and hospitality made the day very special, the memories of which we will treasure.

Room Tip: We had a downstairs twin room with double doors opening out onto the courtyard fountain in the garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RHorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#8 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,066 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#2 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#31 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
638 reviews
0.5 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#4 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#7 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbour Hotel

Address: 1/328 Tower Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $236 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Harbour Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of ancient Fort Cochin, Kerala, a place that exudes history and culture, is the 'Old Harbour Hotel.' A 300 year-old building that has for long been a heritage monument of this town, now reopened as a boutique hotel. Built in the Dutch style of architecture with hints of Portuguese influences, it was the first hotel of old Cochin. Later it remained a residential home to employees of English Tea broking firms until it was left unused for a period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbour Kochi
Hotel Old Harbour
Old Harbour Hotel Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing