We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Zealand couple from Hamilton”
Review of Old Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Harbour Hotel
Ranked #2 of 211 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were very happy staying at this Hotel. We found the staff very helpful, the chef in the restaurant went out of his way to provide a wonderful breakfast for us.
The Hotel was very clean and we felt very safe during our stay. One morning during breakfast the staff played some music which I enjoyed very much. They were Sacred chants in the Lugu language. The manager that morning actually copied the CD for me so that I could take it home with me.
We had two beautiful evening meals in the Restaurant, both nights we were entertained by musical groups. One night was a Sitar concert which we enjoyed very much.
I would definitely recommend this Hotel to any one who was travelling to Kochi

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,391)
There are newer reviews for Old Harbour Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

598 - 604 of 1,391 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

We arrived by river ferry, walked across a busy road and square and through the doors into another world. A beautifully restored colonial building with lovely old wood and a calm and spacious feel,. Large elegant rooms lead off corridors around a central courtyard. Our room looked out over the lovely landscaped gardens with the large swimming pool beyond on one side, the square and Chinese fishing nets beyond on the other. The bed was strewn with sweetly scented petals when we arrived and there was a coconut and straw each. We had excellent evening meals in the gardens, a lovely atmosphere with candlelight and Indian music. Breakfast was very good too - the dosas were the best we had anywhere in Kerala and huge! Yoga was available in the morning on the rooftop terrace. The hotel is very close to the Chinese fishing nets, an interesting street of shops, market stalls. If I went back to Cochin, I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at the Old Harbour Hotel for the first couple of nights of a 2 week holiday exploring Kerala......what a great way to start a holiday!
The hotel was lovely!! - a real gem & a little slice of calm and tranquility. We had a garden room which was beautiful. V spacious and complete with outdoor shower......showering under the stars listening to everything going on outside was wonderful!
The food was delicious.....and all the staff so friendly and attentive!
We did Yoga one morning......a really nice touch, offered free in a 'studio' on top of the hotel - can recommend as a good start to your day!
The hotel is in a great location, right by the chinese fishing nets......and after all the exploring has a lovely pool to come back and cool off in.
Can't recommend this hotel highly enough!

Room Tip: They do cost more however can highly recommend a garden room!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

From start to finish, our stay at this hotel was truly memorable. We really could not fault anything. The hotel and landscaped gardens were absolutely beautiful and full of character. The attention to detail of the colonial decor was above and beyond what we'd expected and the staff were always so welcoming and gracious. A special thank you to Jude who went out of his way to ensure our stay was a pleasure. We are so grateful for being given the opportunity to share the experience of the Allepey Boat Race with Jude, his colleagues and friends. Their generosity and hospitality made the day very special, the memories of which we will treasure.

Room Tip: We had a downstairs twin room with double doors opening out onto the courtyard fountain in the garde...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RHorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

.
We had such a wonderful time at this delightful boutique hotel last week.We had 3 nights but wished we could have stayed longer.The room was gorgeous,The Tower room( garden room) with a balcony overlooking the lotus pond ,garden and pool.Yoga was a bonus on the roof top in the morning.However, the staff were outstanding ....all of them and we wish to thank Jude,Pablo, Vonnita and all the staff for their friendliness and attentiveness.
The hotel is in a good position in Fort Cochin and with easy access to all the attractions and close to the ferries.The pool is refreshing( all the other swimming pools in southern India had water that was far too warm,) and of good size.We met other travelers that were staying at the 2 other big hotels but commented that they much preferred the Old Harbour since it was much more intimate and Boutiquey!Dinner in the evening was a delight with candlelight tables and Indian music ( sitar and tabla)and we had delicious food.
Thankyou to everyone at the Old Harbour we so enjoyed our stay and should we return to serene Fort Cochin and indeed we hope so ,we wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: The tower room was a very light room with a balcony and good view over the lotus pond,garden and poo...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhysioMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hotel was a delight, so well presented. We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay. Its location across from the Chinese fishing nets and in Kochi Fort was very convenient. We had a garden view room which was lovely and well appointed. The swimming pool was so refreshing ( but watch out on the tiles around the pool as they can be very slippery when wet) and the garden with water lily pond was well tended and restful. Meals were excellent. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie991181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We spent four wonderful nights in this lovely hotel in Fort Kochi. It is a beautiful and calm oasis with outstanding staff. We stayed in one of the cottage rooms with an outside shower. Wonderful experience. The hotel is near the Chinese fishing nets and with a tuk-tuk or a ferry boat it was easy for us to travel anywhere around the city. We loved all of the staff members and appreciated how they went out of their way to make our stay a truly memorable one. I wish all hotels around the world had staff who were like those at the Old Harbour Hotel. We ate breakfast and dinner at the hotel and enjoyed the food and the magical ambiance that is created in the evening with candles, hanging lights and live Indian classical music beside the pool. Having stayed in many boutique hotels around the world, the Old Harbour is truly outstanding In all respects. We loved our experience and will recommend it to all our friends. Fabulous!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rush60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#8 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,040 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#4 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#31 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
629 reviews
6.2 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 30 in Ernakulam
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbour Hotel

Address: 1/328 Tower Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $186 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Harbour Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of ancient Fort Cochin, Kerala, a place that exudes history and culture, is the 'Old Harbour Hotel.' A 300 year-old building that has for long been a heritage monument of this town, now reopened as a boutique hotel. Built in the Dutch style of architecture with hints of Portuguese influences, it was the first hotel of old Cochin. Later it remained a residential home to employees of English Tea broking firms until it was left unused for a period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Old Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbour Kochi
Hotel Old Harbour
Old Harbour Hotel Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing