We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The "wow" factor!!”
Review of Old Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Harbour Hotel
Ranked #2 of 211 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

The old harbour has everything you could want from a small luxury hotel. My financee and I came to stay for one night in June. The building itself is beautiful and so perfectly decorated and fitted out with pictures and statues that really complement its design.

It's location is great - fort cochin is a nice spot and this hotel is in the heart of it.

The staff are amazing - a real credit to the hotel owner, from the moment we arrived everything was taken care of and organised for us - the staff are welcoming, friendly and courteous.

The food was the best we had in kerala - the homemade icecream is seriously to die for. The chef makes excellent indian and western foods.

Finally the room itself - we stayed in the Tower which over looked the beautiful garden, lily pond and swimming pool. It was immaculately presented, comfortable and clean. We were so glad to have stayed here. A haven away from the Keralan monsoon.

We hope to return again soon.

Thank you Pablo, Jude and all the staff at the old harbour for a great stay.

(UK)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kkemp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,391)
There are newer reviews for Old Harbour Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

642 - 648 of 1,391 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

My colleague and I stayed here for four nights on a business trip. We were more than impressed. On previous trips to India I would usually stay in a Taj hotel, but this was a first trip to Kerala and I was drawn to The Old Harbour Hotel by the reviews here, and also the wonderful colonial character which is a million miles from the anonymity of some of the larger hotel groups. We weren't disappointed. The hotel is beautiful, rooms spacious comfortable and full of character, food is excellent, but above all the service given by the staff was second to none. A wonderfully friendly, efficient and welcoming team. I loved the Old Harbour Hotel, and would definitely return.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank lilyellile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Another fantastic stay in this lovely hotel. Plenty of soul and class, and yet so peaceful right in the middle of Fort Kochi. The rooms are spacious, well-appointed and very well taken care of. The crew is outstanding, pleasant, and helpful without being invading. The food is excellent, and makes going to outside restaurants a drag more than anything.
I will be back yet again, without a doubt.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Me and my wife stayed at Old Harbour Hotel for 2 days during the weekend. It was very relaxing weekend. We felt like home away from home. Rooms were massive, Great good, helpful staff.
Value for money!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RajeshUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed here for eleven nights in January. Utter, utter bliss. Fantastic. Cannot recommend it enough. Young, helpful staff with the best manner I've come across in several trips to India. Beautiful hotel, grounds, rooms. Incredibly efficient in every way, staff going above and beyond. Boutique, delightful and warm.

The beds are quite firm, as is often the way in India. Didn't bother me or my friend, but it may others so be aware.

The food was good. Nothing fantastic but varied and consistent. Not as spicy as I like it! Though this may be a plus point for others.

The one exception was the ice cream. Hands down the best I've ever had. Pineapple, vanilla, cinnamon, coconut and a cardamom flavour that I am still dreaming about. I enquired about who made it. He came out to see us! Trained in hotels in Germany; and then proceeded to make a batch of cardamom ice cream just for me! I tell you, above and beyond.

Really, really good coffee here too.

Do not hesitate. You won't regret staying here. I dream of returning.

Room Tip: Garden Room lovely. No need to worry about the noise as the music stops by 10pm and they even turn...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Decobroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed 2 days ..staffs are very friendly and helpful ...Very good big room with pool view balcony ..You can feel like your home.. Food is also very good..

Hotel is located in prime area of fort cochin.. It was a wonderfullll experience!! :)

Room Tip: Tower Room & the Suites are very nice. The cottages are also cool..
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pravin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

this is the best of boutique hotels, a palace away from home, staff so hospitable, like being part of a well mannered family with the option to just be yourself, be by yourself or engage with others and the owner goes out of his way to bring the best of world influences here.
The rooms are so comfortable and vast and regal and i found it a great place to write. I was there in monsoon which means nothing if you are british, just like ours but a lot warmer and hot rain in short and i mean short bursts but still blue skies, so do travel in that time to. Lastly the pool no word of a lie as i hit the surface from my first length of breaststroke i looked up at the trees and surrounding area and said this is paradise. enjoy x

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kate e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#8 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,040 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#4 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#31 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
629 reviews
6.2 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 30 in Ernakulam
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbour Hotel

Address: 1/328 Tower Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $186 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Harbour Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of ancient Fort Cochin, Kerala, a place that exudes history and culture, is the 'Old Harbour Hotel.' A 300 year-old building that has for long been a heritage monument of this town, now reopened as a boutique hotel. Built in the Dutch style of architecture with hints of Portuguese influences, it was the first hotel of old Cochin. Later it remained a residential home to employees of English Tea broking firms until it was left unused for a period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Old Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbour Kochi
Hotel Old Harbour
Old Harbour Hotel Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing