We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!! Very Romantic”
Review of Old Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Harbour Hotel
Ranked #2 of 212 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Me and my wife stayed at Old Harbour Hotel for 2 days during the weekend. It was very relaxing weekend. We felt like home away from home. Rooms were massive, Great good, helpful staff.
Value for money!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RajeshUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

657 - 663 of 1,403 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed here for eleven nights in January. Utter, utter bliss. Fantastic. Cannot recommend it enough. Young, helpful staff with the best manner I've come across in several trips to India. Beautiful hotel, grounds, rooms. Incredibly efficient in every way, staff going above and beyond. Boutique, delightful and warm.

The beds are quite firm, as is often the way in India. Didn't bother me or my friend, but it may others so be aware.

The food was good. Nothing fantastic but varied and consistent. Not as spicy as I like it! Though this may be a plus point for others.

The one exception was the ice cream. Hands down the best I've ever had. Pineapple, vanilla, cinnamon, coconut and a cardamom flavour that I am still dreaming about. I enquired about who made it. He came out to see us! Trained in hotels in Germany; and then proceeded to make a batch of cardamom ice cream just for me! I tell you, above and beyond.

Really, really good coffee here too.

Do not hesitate. You won't regret staying here. I dream of returning.

Room Tip: Garden Room lovely. No need to worry about the noise as the music stops by 10pm and they even turn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Decobroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed 2 days ..staffs are very friendly and helpful ...Very good big room with pool view balcony ..You can feel like your home.. Food is also very good..

Hotel is located in prime area of fort cochin.. It was a wonderfullll experience!! :)

Room Tip: Tower Room & the Suites are very nice. The cottages are also cool..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pravin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

this is the best of boutique hotels, a palace away from home, staff so hospitable, like being part of a well mannered family with the option to just be yourself, be by yourself or engage with others and the owner goes out of his way to bring the best of world influences here.
The rooms are so comfortable and vast and regal and i found it a great place to write. I was there in monsoon which means nothing if you are british, just like ours but a lot warmer and hot rain in short and i mean short bursts but still blue skies, so do travel in that time to. Lastly the pool no word of a lie as i hit the surface from my first length of breaststroke i looked up at the trees and surrounding area and said this is paradise. enjoy x

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kate e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed with them for 3 nights and it was such a lovely experience. The room was massive with a balcony and lounge area to read a book. The bathroom was huge and clean but with no toiletries, so if you're staying there please bring what you need along. Breakfast was great every morning, the chef was friendly and recommended south Indian breakfast that was really tasty and great. We had dinner there one night and the prawn curry with coconut milk tasted so yummy. Overall experience was great 4 days 3 nights was more than enough staying in Cochin. People were all friendly and accommodating.

Thanks to all the staff that made our stay so enjoyable...

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mnmbs76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

You feel that the staff are generally happy and take pride in their service. Breakfast was always a moment to look forward too. The same chef that makes breakfast works on the evening desserts so do sit around one evening to try the rich chocolate cakes and home made ice cream.

We stayed at the Palace Suite on the second floor with a private balcony. Old Harbour was definitely the best boutique hotel I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnathon18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel, the decoration, the staff, the rooms, the swimming pool, the restaurant, everything is absolutely faboulous! The staff will do anything to make you feel in a lovely place that you don't want to leave. All meals were delicius; every single ingredient, so fresh. Also they offer a free yoga cours: fantastic! The ride to the airport in a nice old car is great. The professionalism is in every single detail. A place of serenity.

Room Tip: Tulip room have a nice outside shower and beautiful garden views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vagamunda1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#8 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,068 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#28 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
639 reviews
0.5 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#4 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#7 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbour Hotel

Address: 1/328 Tower Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $236 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Harbour Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of ancient Fort Cochin, Kerala, a place that exudes history and culture, is the 'Old Harbour Hotel.' A 300 year-old building that has for long been a heritage monument of this town, now reopened as a boutique hotel. Built in the Dutch style of architecture with hints of Portuguese influences, it was the first hotel of old Cochin. Later it remained a residential home to employees of English Tea broking firms until it was left unused for a period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbour Kochi
Hotel Old Harbour
Old Harbour Hotel Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing