We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven, I am in heaven!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Harbour Hotel
Ranked #2 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Heaven, I am in heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

This was a great oasis of beauty and tranquility at the end of our month long India. I could not have asked for a better ending. Simply the best place we stayed in India, I hate buffets and this place offers a very good made to order breakfast. The garden and the swimming pool was magnificent, and our suit had a view of the garden. At night the music, candles, and the breeze, while resting on my own personal swing in the room was magical.

Room Tip: Stay there few days and ask them to arrange Day trips for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eradatmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,123
    194
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
229
775
61
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

A colonial hotel close to the main attractions in Cochin. Excellent, friendly service. Our room was clean and spacious including a fridge and tea & coffee. Breakfast included both Indian and English selections. The dinner options (served in the attractive garden with musicians by the pool) are mixed. We found the fish selections the better choice, the chicken not so good. (Which considering the hotel is a stone’s throw from the quay side is probably not so surprising!). Despite the noise from the outside it still manages to convey a feeling of peace.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doob123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We spend 3 nights, family of 4 in this Charming boutique hotel with a gorgeous garden and pool very conviently located in the the middle of old Kochy so that one can walk to all sights of interest. The restaurent is very nice but a bit overpriced for indian standards. Rooms are decorated with great taste

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are quieter and larger but a bit more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bloom113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

nice garden at night with good music by the swimming pool (Xmass time).
Excellent food and service.
Next to the chinese fishing net and the large market place, a bit noisy...
the building has been beautifully restored.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Kochi was 'the port' of yore and so once 'an avial' of cultures. Excatly what this Inn has tried to showcase : Indo-Dutch-Jew. Colonial decor well recreated right at the heart of Fort Kochi. Open air dining and a multi-cuisine menu. Rates slighty on the higher side but good food.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SujithP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We spent our first night of our honeymoon here. This place was such a treat. Super clean and really friendly staff. We had a garden room which had a nice view of the pool and was nice and spacious. When we walked in our room, there were flowers all over the bed to welcome us on our honeymoon. So nice!

Also, Jude was super responsive and helpful over email, which made planning from the US very easy. They arranged our taxi from the airport and the next day to Allepey. We probably paid more than we needed to, but our driver was great and we knew we were in good hands.

The hotel was well-located close to the fishermen, markets and cultural centers.

As for food, we only had breakfast here. It was solid (and not skimpy--we could order as many things off the menu as we wanted...and we did!), but what was AMAZING was their orange juice. Best OJ I've ever had. And I don't say that lightly. I think it was just fresh squeezed, but damn.

We'd totally stay here again if our travels take us back to Kochi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saritha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were in Kochi to attend the Muziris Biennale, and every day we drove down to Fort Kochi, taking in the sights, as well as the art. We tried out different places for lunch and tea time.

The Old Harbour Hotel was where we had our best lunch at Fort Kochi. The food was good, the place was fabulous. We wish we could have stayed there too.

The restaurant and common areas are such a pleasure to wander around in, filled as they are with interesting bric-a-brac. There was a lingering fresh smell of lemongrass in the air, and we had a beautiful view of a tree-filled courtyard, where we could have sat down for our meal, but didn't because of a sudden drizzle. Amazing to think that this is in the very heart of Fort Kochi, near all the interesting places.

A great place to stay in, I'm sure. If, like us, you can't manage it, at least go there, have a drink or a meal. Enjoy the birds, the trees, the little blue-ribboned kitty chasing falling leaves...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank factorM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.7 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#6 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#33 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbour Hotel

Property: Old Harbour Hotel
Address: 1/328 Tower Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Harbour Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of ancient Fort Cochin, Kerala, a place that exudes history and culture, is the 'Old Harbour Hotel.' A 300 year-old building that has for long been a heritage monument of this town, now reopened as a boutique hotel. Built in the Dutch style of architecture with hints of Portuguese influences, it was the first hotel of old Cochin. Later it remained a residential home to employees of English Tea broking firms until it was left unused for a period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Old Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbour Kochi
Hotel Old Harbour
Old Harbour Hotel Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing