We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite Hotel Ever!”
Review of Old Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Harbour Hotel
Ranked #2 of 211 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My recent stay at the Old Harbour Hotel was like heaven. My friend and I had been traveling all over India, in many homes, hotels and different situations. It was like arriving to an oasis. It is peaceful, quiet, done in impeccable taste and style. At night, upon returning to our room, there were jasmine flowers on our bed with their wonderful fragrance. Beautiful artwork on the walls in rooms, hallways and entry areas. The staff is very friendly, open and helpful. One can tell they are happy to work there. Dinner was a fabulous experience- tables out on the lawn overlooking the pool and classical Indian musicians playing to serenade us. There were lights in the trees to add to that magical feeling. The food was great and we had no desire to go anywhere else for dinner. I would definitely go back to this hotel!

Room Tip: We were in a simple room upstairs. I am sure any would be great.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,392)
There are newer reviews for Old Harbour Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

738 - 744 of 1,392 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012

An absolute gem of a place and a wonderful finish to an extended tour of India. The Old Harbour has managed the perfect blend of small-scale intimacy with the kind of attentive yet never intrusive service normally only seen in top-end luxury mega hotels. Perfectly placed by the Chinese fishing nets just a step outside the front door, but insulated from the hustle and bustle outside. The outdoor dining area must be one of the best settings in Kochi and the meals cooked by Shafi are a delight, accompanied by live sitar and tabla music floating across the pool.
The hotel itself has been designed to incorporate the best of the old world, where there are no jarring notes or any feeling of anything out of place. But don't be fooled by the apparent antiquity of the fittings: everything works perfectly. Attention by Rahim and the rest of the staff is second to none, even for 5 AM departures.

Room Tip: Some internal rooms overlook the pool; some ground floor rooms windows face onto the street, but sou...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband and I spent last weekend in Fort Cochin and stayed at the Old Harbour Hotel--- we LOVED our experience.
The location is perfect: it is a couple of minutes walk from the fishing nets and Fort Cochin in itself is charming with small streets and shops. It is walking (a slightly long walk) from the synagogue and palace.
We had booked a garden view room and were on the ground floor towards the back. From the moment we stepped into our room, we felt relaxed and on vacation. The room itself was really nicely done up with a lovely view of the garden. Since our room was towards the back of the hotel, it was also very quiet.
The hotel itself is very charming. They have a wonderful garden where one can have their lunch and dinner. The swimming pool is big (especially for a boutique hotel)-- so one can lounge around the pool and even do laps if one feels like it. Apart from breakfast, we also had a lunch and dinner at the hotel and really enjoyed both meals- the food was excellent. The chef personally does his rounds to ensure all the guests are enjoying their meal.
What sets the hotel apart from some of the other boutique hotels is the service. The staff were always smiling and despite being fully occupied, each staff member went out of their way to make us feel special. They were extremely accommodating and friendly.
We would def. go back to the hotel and have already recommended it to some of our friends.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RadParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The positive reviews are correct. This is a wonderful hotel. The staff are helpful and caring. The hotel is beautiful-a wonderful conversion/renovation. The rooms are well appointed. Many of the ground floor rooms look onto a courtyard, so do keep this in mind.
If you can, book one of the suites on the second floor. They are truly spectacular, and worth every penny. The Princess Suite is, indeed, fit for a princess. But, you will be comfortable in any of the rooms.
The restaurant offers a great breakfast, and the servers really do care if you are enjoying your food.
I also appreciated their approach to tipping-individual tipping is discouraged, rather there is a box in the central area (there really is no lobby, per se-this works very well) where you can leave a group tip on departure.
I would love to return to Cochi, and would not consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Book a suite, if you can
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ottawamomabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The Old Harbour Hotel in Cochin, Kerala, is a wonderful place, home away from home, to spend a couple of days. You sleep like a baby in wonderful surroundings (we had the Palace Suite). Pool is surrounded by lovely tropical plants and flowers. Restaurant is excellent and Chef's fresh fruit juices and especially his chocolate ice cream were fantastic!
Service and friendliness of staff was outstanding: everything came with a smile!
Old Harbour Hotel tops now our 'favorite hotels' list.
If you do visit, make sure you spend a night on a house boat in backwaters! Worth absolutely the short trip.
PS. Kids might find it a bit quiet..

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paivi616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed at this lovely old Hotel for nights with my mother following 2weeks in the north of India. After the busyness and dirtiness of Varanasi, we were absolutely thrilled to arrive on this exquisite premises. From the very start we were greeted with friendliness and warmth from all members of staff. our room was on the ground floor overlooking the picture-perfect garden, complete with water lillies on the little pond, carefully tended greenery and delicious swimming pool which was greatly enjoyed after our hot outings to the local sights. The Hotel is an adapted Portuguese property and has retained the character and feel of a bygone period whilst incorporating the joys of modern living. It is situated perfectly near the Chinese fishing boats and fish markets, also an easy walk to many local shops for browsing holiday items and eateries. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor garden view which we loved as it has an opening French window to the garden. i...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyRosie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night at the start of our tour of Kerala. The hotel is gorgeous, set in an old colonial building. The rooms are simply but beautifully decorated and have high ceilings and large windows. We ate in the restaurant at a gerden table and the food was delicious, especially the fish and prawns. The next morning we spent a pleasant hour around the pool before exploring the Fort Cochin area. The staff are extremely helpful and organised a car for us for the rest of our trip. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,045 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#8 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#31 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
629 reviews
6.2 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 30 in Ernakulam
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbour Hotel

Address: 1/328 Tower Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $186 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Harbour Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of ancient Fort Cochin, Kerala, a place that exudes history and culture, is the 'Old Harbour Hotel.' A 300 year-old building that has for long been a heritage monument of this town, now reopened as a boutique hotel. Built in the Dutch style of architecture with hints of Portuguese influences, it was the first hotel of old Cochin. Later it remained a residential home to employees of English Tea broking firms until it was left unused for a period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbour Kochi
Hotel Old Harbour
Old Harbour Hotel Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing