We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Price u pay definitely gives u a bigger value .Must stay if on honeymoon”
Review of Old Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Harbour Hotel
Ranked #2 of 210 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Price u pay definitely gives u a bigger value .Must stay if on honeymoon”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

If The hotel was a real treat for me as we were out to spend leisure time in Kerala. Old Harbor hotel is well located, a very short stroll to the seafront and the Chinese fishing nets.

Our Tour driver , Sujeet from Antilog Vacations was a great help through out the week long tour.AV did gave us a nice package booked online at rates affordable not comprimising with hotels.

Our room was all spacious and welcoming (including fresh flowers, petals on the beds). Perfect
aroma and immaculateThe bathroom was also in perfect condition. All the toiletries were present and it was neat. We enjoyed swimming in the pool and there’s always someone or the other from the staff fetching you some snacks or some kind of drinks. The pool and the garden are lovely and at night you can eat in the garden, with Classical Indian musicians sitting at the far side of the pool.

Staff were very helpful. Excellent location - Chinese fishing nets, walk along the shoreline,
visit local shops and restaurants, hop on the ferry to Eranakulum or Mandacherry (synagogue, dutch palace). Free Wifi is a bonus. Highly recommended.The food is mostly prepared according to tasteand is just fabulous. There was excellent south Indian food being served n there was a whole lot ofwonderful delicacies.

From the time of our arrival to the moment we left we were looked after in the most courteous andfriendly manner. There was always plenty of staff on hand to fetch and carry for us, answer queries and make arrangements. The service was highly personal and attentive. In Old Harbour hotel, you can stay in the most peaceful place, where all the staff, are doing there outmost to help you in every way they can. And the you can walk out in the exiting and colorful, vibrant Fort Cochin, and then back again to a cooling dip in the pool ind the garden. The absolute best of both worlds.

I higly reccomend that you stay in this lovely "home".

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gurprit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,159
    200
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
237
796
63
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed here (Tulip room) for a weekend getaway and would highly recommend this hotel. The grounds / courtyard are breathtaking and the staff was very helpful. They helped coordinate a backwater canal tour for us as well as caught a lizard / frog who had made their way into our room (not a huge issue; the bathroom / shower open to an outdoor private courtyard so it makes sense we had some critters). They also picked us up at the airport even though our flight was super delayed. Great breakfast and we also ate here for dinner to enjoy the nice poolside sitar music. Location is in the heart of Fort Cochin, right by the Chinese fishing nets, Princess street shopping etc. They also have a pool. Great experience overall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mollybierman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We arrived after a long ad trying drive. As soon as we walked through the door we could relax. The staff are efficient and friendly, and the room was very comfortable. Food excellent. Perfect location in the town. Unable to find any negative points.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Old Harbour Hotel does not simply provide accommodation but a unique experience. The hotel itself is an elegantly restored old house and the garden with its pool is a lovely place to relax in after the heat of the day. But best of all is the wonderful personal service. I loved the jasmine petals that were sprinkled on the bed each evening so that the room was full of their scent throughout the night. I appreciated the cup of coffee that would appear unbidden as I sat in the lounge area in the early morning. I felt that I was staying in a private home rather than a hotel.
I celebrated my birthday whilst there and although traveling alone felt surrounded by friends with flowers, cake and a birthday song. Suresh, the manager, and his team are to be congratulated on he wonderful service and experience that they provide.
The location is superb being only a minutes walk from the water and the Chinese fishing nets. The windows in the lounge area look at directly onto the street and you can enjoy the sights and activity from inside.
The atmosphere is one of quiet....very little traffic past the hotel and no televisions all helps to make it a truly restful stay.

Room Tip: While all rooms are beautifully appointed the garden rooms have a lovely outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karrabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

the staff were lovely

the rooms were beautiful, very tasteful, modern and comfortable

food amazing - the chef even taught me a few of my favourite recipes

fantastic location - yoga in the mornings was very good

we loved it so much that we changed our plans to spend the last few days of our holiday

Room Tip: all of the suites are fabulous - we stayed in them all
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachEM0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in late September 2012 in a Suite. Hotel is "boutique" in style, and the staff goes out of their way to provide excellent service. Staff was very accommodating to our early arrival, and was helpful in booking a day excursion to Munnar hill station (a must-do just outside of Cochin). Overall, this small hotel is about service, and they exceed expectation in every way. You couldn't pick a better location within Fort Cochin. Fort Cochin is great for holiday, but it would be a bit of a drive if you were here on business and had to travel to the heart of Cochin city. All the things worth seeing / doing in Fort Cochin were an easy walk from the hotel.

The suites are quite expansive (largest I've ever had anywhere in India), and impeccably clean. As noted in other reviews, there are no TV's in this hotel, which was absolutely fine by us (WiFi is available). Food service was very good - we ate breakfast and dinner at the hotel during our stay. Dinner is very nice - outside with live, local music. Very tastefully decorated garden / pool area create a wonderful atmosphere for a nice dinner with a loved one.

Again, to emphasize the level of service, we planned to leave for Munnar at 6:00 AM to avoid the rush of tourists, and the breakfast chef came-in at 5:00 AM on his day-off to make us a breakfast to-go (we did not make any special requests for this). He did the same the next day when we left at 5:30 AM for the airport. This example just further exhibits the level of service shown by the entire staff, not just one or two individuals.

Book now!

Room Tip: Select suites or Garden View / Garden Cottages for the best locations at a nominal price difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank New_England_AV8R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alresford
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed for 5 days at the Old Harbour and had a wonderfully relaxing time. The building, an old merchants house I suppose, is truly lovely with high ceilings. verandahs, a pretty internal courtyard with a fountain and huge-planked wooden floors. It has been restored in excellent taste with charming antique furniture, modern pictures, comfortable beds and no "bling"! There is also a spacious garden full of interesting plants and trees and a decent sized swimming pool (some of the other hotels have little more than a splash pool). The staff were always friendly and eager to please throughout - which we much prefer to the rigid professionalism of big hotels. If we had one small criticism, it was that while the food is perfectly adequate, it is a bit unimaginative and institutionalised: an Indian and an international menu might be preferable to the current mix of both which can be rather bland. We began in the Palace suite which was great and then moved to the Princess suite which was truly huge and marvellous.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.7 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
210 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,996 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#32 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
621 reviews
6.2 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 30 in Ernakulam
868 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbour Hotel

Property: Old Harbour Hotel
Address: 1/328 Tower Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Harbour Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of ancient Fort Cochin, Kerala, a place that exudes history and culture, is the 'Old Harbour Hotel.' A 300 year-old building that has for long been a heritage monument of this town, now reopened as a boutique hotel. Built in the Dutch style of architecture with hints of Portuguese influences, it was the first hotel of old Cochin. Later it remained a residential home to employees of English Tea broking firms until it was left unused for a period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Old Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbour Kochi
Hotel Old Harbour
Old Harbour Hotel Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing