We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cool dream”
Review of Old Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Harbour Hotel
Ranked #2 of 222 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2008

This hotel is a wonderful retreat in Fort Cochin. I have stayed here on three separate occasions this year and I loved it. A well managed clean beautiful hotel which smells wonderful and has a calm, easy and homelike atmosphere. Edgar Pinto is that rare breed of hands on ownership and all of the staff are so sweet and helpful. The mint and cucumber cocktail is a cool dream on a hot day. I cannot praise this hotel enough. I will definitely return. 10/10.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louisenaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,212 - 1,218 of 1,429 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2008

This was a wonderful introduction to India. We arrived in the morning after the inevitable overnight flight from Europe and the promised car was at the airport to meet us. On arrival we were given cold drinks in the peaceful garden and our room was quickly available. The gardens are and large swimming pool are lovely with trees, flowers and a lilly pond visited by birds including the Indian Pond Heron. The evening meal can be eaten inside or in the garden and was accompanied by Indian music played on the tabla and flute. The food was excellent, breakfast sufficient for us. The staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms comfortable and well furnished.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret_&_Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2008

A beautiful small hotel just across from the 'fishing nets of Kochi.' It has obviously been very tastefully renovated, retains much of its original structure and charm but has been given most mod cons(no TV but not a bad thing) in the rooms with new bathrooms and furniture.
The gardens are small but beautifully maintained witha nice pool. The gardens also double as an outdoor dining area throughout the day. The food was very good, although breakfast is quite minimalist.
A special mention for the staff, especially the young man who was 'front of house.' They are very switched on and enthusiastic without being overbearing.
The area around this hotel is undergoing a similar renovation process but it wasn't intrusive with the noisiest things being the crows.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GraemeLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2008

We stayed at the Old Harbour for 4 nights at the end of a 2 week Kerala holiday. The hotel is excellent - charming, stylish and good value. The staff were superb, very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We had a 3 and 1 year old with us, and initially thought we had made a wrong choice. However, the warmth of the staff and their helpfulness meant that we were able to have an excellent stay. The hotel was very good in providing milk and special meals out of 'normal' hours for the children. The swimming pool is excellent, beautifully set under tall trees. Rooms are spacious and the art scattered around the hotel is eclectic and interesting. Would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank extrepid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2008

Positive
- Great location in stylish fort chochi, off the busy kochi mainland
- Lovely hotel - small, personal, well done with great attention to detail
- Edgar, the owner has created something that he can be very proud of
- Accomodation good value for money

Negative
- Breakfast selection minimal, food pricey
- Nothing else

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GAKNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2008

Stayed there for 2 nights in February 2008 before going on the backwaters cruise. Was truly a lovely experience. The rooms, the garden, the pool, the food, the staff were excellent, so kind and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JadMru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2008

We stayed for 2 nights at the Old Harbor hotel. It is a beautifully restored old European house. Our room was large and decorated lovely with an old style European furinture and even an early 1900's telephone. The grounds were beautiful as well. The staff on the other hand were just okay. A few times we requested something and it wasn't done. The breakfast was just okay too.
Excellent location.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank annehinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#8 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,099 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#3 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#11 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#27 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
660 reviews
0.5 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#1 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#182 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbour Hotel

Address: 1/328 Tower Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $228 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Harbour Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of ancient Fort Cochin, Kerala, a place that exudes history and culture, is the 'Old Harbour Hotel.' A 300 year-old building that has for long been a heritage monument of this town, now reopened as a boutique hotel. Built in the Dutch style of architecture with hints of Portuguese influences, it was the first hotel of old Cochin. Later it remained a residential home to employees of English Tea broking firms until it was left unused for a period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbour Kochi
Hotel Old Harbour
Old Harbour Hotel Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing