We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in Ft. Kochi”
Review of Old Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Harbour Hotel
Ranked #1 of 211 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Just returned from Kerala and a wonderful stay at the Old Harbour Hotel. I was there for 6 nights and was given the most beautiful room, with a gorgeous view of the garden and its big, mature trees. Jude, the manager, was so helpful, as was the rest of the staff. The atmosphere struck that hard-to-achieve balance between laid back and attentive. The historic building has been carefully restored, with great designer touches. Breakfast was delicious, with a choice of western or south Indian cuisine (or both!) the WiFi was a little sketchy, due to the previous weeks high winds. But Jude let all the guests use the hotel's computer whenever the connection was weak.

The owner has a few other properties, all nearby: Raintree Lodge (less expensive), and Dreamz (a private house) to name two. All are centrally located and within walking distance of most sights, and a quick rickshaw ride to other areas.

Room Tip: The "Tower" room is quite big with a lovely view of the garden
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanMiguelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,392)
There are newer reviews for Old Harbour Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

806 - 812 of 1,392 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2012

We arranged our travel throughout India with Musafir Tours, who should be highly praised for their perfect planning and excellent customer relations from first contact to the finish of our holiday.

We arrived at the Old Harbour a day late due to connection problems in Dubai, very tired, and very early in the morning to be greeted by a smiling very calm and helpful member of staff and a beautiful bouquet of flowers as it was my birthday.

The Palace suit, we had booked, was lovley, roomy, cool, authentic furniture and filtiings with a fabulous comfy 4 poster bed. The bed was decorated with flowers and petals, a perfect way to start our holiday in India.

The pool was lovely and cool after a hot day of sightseeing, with a cool beer served it was the perfect place to linger before the evening.

The only evening meal we had (as we missed a day) was delicious and beutifully served in the garden listening to sitar music playing quietly in the background. Very romantic with garden lamps and candlelight adding to the atmosphere.

Breakfast served at your table looking out over the garden was delicious, hot, very tasty and perfectly served.

All in all a lovely hotel, with a quiet calm ambiance, with very attentive and thoguhtful staff. Our only regret is we missed a whole day there . . We will have to go back again to have a longer stay!

Room Tip: The Palace suit is beautiful and cool
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank naughtydel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

As the other reviewers say this is a lovely hotel, old and beautiful and a restful little oasis in a very central location for the sites. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious, the food good and sitting in the garden was lovely. The only drawbacks were the few sun loungers seem to be in the shade a lot and you cannot move them, and there is some early morning noise from workers in the adjacent side streets.
However what was outstanding was the first class service which was the most genuine, courteous and graceful we experienced through out our visit to Kerala. Thank you and congratulations to all the staff.

Room Tip: Ridsdale is a very well appointed room but unfortunately without a view. Rose garden view is not qu...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YshaCB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I have been fortunate to stay in many hotels around the globe, especially the middle east. One marble palace starts to look much like another after a while. All too often, websites can claim this and that for their hotels, and the photos are carefully taken to miss out the bad bits, only for the guest to be disappointed on arrival. And then we discovered the Old Harbour in Cochin. I don't know where to start to sing the praises of this wonderful hotel. The whole building has been refurbished to a very high standard, but I don't mean the 5 star blah of the International chains. The single word that sums it all up is 'taste'. The rooms are comfortable and spacious with lots of nice touches. No TV. What a delightful change for an upmarket hotel to have the foresight to omit the installation of the one-eyed monster. There is, however, wifi in the public areas, so if you need to stay in touch with the modern world, it can be done discreetly. The food was excellent. That said, we didn't actually have any of the western food, we stuck with the Keralan dishes as that was core to our visit. We ate in most nights - when we tried other restaurants, we realised what we were missing. The head chef (Shafi the chef!) would often ask the diners if everything was to their liking; not some fawning maitre d', but the chap who directly takes pride in what he and his team are producing. Plus you have the bonus of the live music, as a local trio gently plays haunting flute and tabla in the lovely setting of the dining area opening out onto the pool.
And then there are the rest of the staff. All the positive adjectives one could think of belong to these folk, including helpful, friendly, professional, discreet and attentive. Our trip was about stress relief and we let the staff organise various excursions for us, from the knowledgeable Jude to the ever cheerful Sukesh, to name but two. This they did as competitively as outside, but with all the hassle taken out of it for you. I thought it might be fun to hire one of those old Royal Enfield motorcycles for a day. No sooner had I mentioned it, than one was delivered to the main entrance of the hotel. Charge? Rps 700 - the same as 4 litres of petrol back home!
It is worth noting that the owner (not simply the manager) of the hotel is often there keeping a personal check on standards and I think that could be the root to the success of this wonderful hotel.
If you are looking to spoil yourself in Fort Kochi, this has to be the place.

Room Tip: We stayed in an upstairs room (Burgher Room) which was delightful, but decided after four nights to...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vaughan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

This old hotel has been wonderfully and sensitively renovated. The suites in particular are extremely comfortable and the staff are all you could wish for . If your trip around Kerala starts in Cochin then this is a lovely place to stay to unwind and prepare.Only 100 yards from the nets and close to all other attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roddy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

The Old Harbour Hotel is just an excellent place to stay. It's decoration is a rest for the eye, unique and well thought of. Personal Service (note the capital S), pleasant dining with a menu that gives you a great fusion of Indian and Mediterranean food. A beautiful garden with a nice pool. Great (and big) rooms. Best spot of Fort Cochin!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wuyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Very happy we chose to stay our 2 nights in Cochin at this hotel.
Full of character colonial hotel set in Old Fort area which is prime for tourists, close to Chinese Fishing Nets and old town.
We ate twice in the restaurant and the food was excellent, so good we decided against going out to the famous Brunton Boatyard seafood restaurant. Entertainment of Indian music during evening outside restaurant.
When we were there a lot of press people and paparazzi gathered outside because some Bollywood movie star was staying there.

Room Tip: Some balcony rooms if you specify.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,045 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#2 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#8 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#31 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
629 reviews
6.2 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 30 in Ernakulam
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbour Hotel

Address: 1/328 Tower Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $186 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Harbour Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of ancient Fort Cochin, Kerala, a place that exudes history and culture, is the 'Old Harbour Hotel.' A 300 year-old building that has for long been a heritage monument of this town, now reopened as a boutique hotel. Built in the Dutch style of architecture with hints of Portuguese influences, it was the first hotel of old Cochin. Later it remained a residential home to employees of English Tea broking firms until it was left unused for a period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbour Kochi
Hotel Old Harbour
Old Harbour Hotel Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing