We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like home, only better!”
Review of Hotel Arches

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Arches
Ranked #31 of 222 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2010

After 3+ weeks in Delhi, Rajahstan, Uttar Pradesh and Uttar Arkandh, it was a pleasure to come to the warmth, friendliness and cultural diversity of Kerala State. Fort Kochi is a fascinating, friendly, and relaxed town and The Arches is an oasis within an oasis of a town. Centrally located on a quiet street, with air conditioned, impeccably furnished, clean rooms, the dark woods of the hallways and stairways, along with the charming roof top restaurant, make this small hotel a true gem. The staff are wonderful, extremely helpful and rightfully proud of this hotel.

There are a number of boutique hotels in Fort Kochi, but the Arches surpasses on all fronts and at very reasonable prices. Some of the larger, better known hotels cost up to 5 times as much, without the ambience and friendly staff.

Rajnish arranged an excellent half day tour of the waterways South of Kochi with a boat owner, poler, who took us to his home on one of the sandy islands for a delicious Kerala meal prepared by his wife.

A memorable five day stay at a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlecToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (613)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 614 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2010

Hotel Arches has a terrific location in the centre of Fort Kochi, a short stroll from the Chinese fishing nets and around the corner from Princess Street. The food is good, the rooms are spotless and the rooftop restaurant is gorgeous, even if you only have breakfast there, as we did.

Pride of place, though, goes to the hugely welcoming staff for whom no request is too difficult or demanding. From the welcoming coconut drinks and flower necklaces to an early check in, a late check-out, to organising all manner of day-trips and special excursions, every request was met by a smile and the staff and management really did bend over backwards to assist us and to make our stay more enjoyable.

You may stay in fancier hotels but you won't find any friendlier than this. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianflan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

I think Bbt london hit the wrong button-he gave a great review but only one blob? This is at least a 4 blob hotel! Good location, close to everything, wonderful greeting with garlands and coconut drink, and great service from all staff. Lovely rooftop restaurant, but I think they 'spice down' for Westerners unless you ask them not too! Wifi slow but free-to us anyway! Fridge, a/c and cable tv much appreciated. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunloversteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

Excellent location, good sized rooms. Good food with an extensive dinner menu and nice roof top restaurant. We stayed for 2 nights and dined at Arches both nights. No alcohol though. Staff couldn't do enough for us.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HertsRwf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2010

Set in the heart of Fort Cochin, Arches hotel is just minutes from the famous Chinese fishing nets and a range of restaurants, shops and local colonial architecture, making it a perfect base for exploring the area. The hotel has all the amenities that you’d expect, as well as a delightful roof top restaurant. (It has 24-hour internet connection but we can't remember if it's free as we didn't need to use it.) What sets it apart from others is the exceptionally warm welcome from the Arches’ staff, from the moment you arrive to be greeted with a marigold garland and coconut water from a fresh coconut to drink with a straw to refresh the weary traveller. The hotel proudly displays a certificate of excellence awarded by Trip Adviser! Rajnish (guest relation executive) was very helpful in organising a country boat tour with P.S. Thilakarajan in a hand-punted 5-person canoe: this trip is recommended as a really peaceful way to explore the backwaters near Cochin. On the morning of departure, our onward flight to Calicut with Kingfisher airways was unexpectedly cancelled, leaving us somewhat stranded, but again Rajnish came to the rescue and organised a car & driver to take us there by road instead. The driver was positively heroic and got us safely up to Kannur 8 hours later. So, if you want a really nice hotel with caring staff that are really there for you when you need them, we highly recommend Arches in Cochin.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrightonBelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2010

The drive from Cochin Airport to Fort Cochin which due to Cochin's exceptionally bad traffic took a little over two hours. So by the time I got to the Arches Hotel, Cochin, it was gone 8pm. Which meant that the entire travel time had been in excess of 24 hours and I was feeling more than a little frazzled.

The Arches Hotel could not have been more welcoming. A fine measure of a hotel is how they welcome and help an "awkward" customer. Which in my case meant asking for a large vehicle to meet me at the airport, arriving late, putting a bike together in the hotel, staying for one night, asking hotel to store all my spare bags and clothes for two weeks, coming back two weeks later, staying for a couple of nights, asking them to store the bike, and finally returning another two weeks later to remove all the bags after a final night's stay. And the Arches delivered in style.

Firstly, communication with the hotel had been easy with emails answered promptly and comprehensively. Credit card payment for the reservation had been made by email, which always leaves me anxious but all has been well so far. The driver was at the airport to collect. And although I was arriving alone, the coconut juice and garland was provided.

The hotel were very tolerant about me putting the bike together. Some of the kitchen staff insisted on helping me put the bike together, after which (of course) a trial spin around the block was in order for them. Looking at the bike in all its glory, Rajnish, the Guest Relations Exec who had been so helpful since my first enquiry, said, a bit poignantly "it is my biggest wish..."

The room was a fair size, clean enough and bathroom adequate rather than great. Bed comfortable. Effective air conditioning. There was a balcony.

On the top floor of the hotel is a restaurant which does some rather tasty food.

Unfortunately, breakfast was a bit of a let down; while such treats as Dosas were promised, these needed to be asked for the night before (maybe because there were few guests there at the time?) and so I had toast and jam and fruit. But it's not the end of the world and ell in all the Arches was fine for a few nights.

Returning at the end of my tour, the hotel staff were still wonderfully welcoming. After three stays with them the Hotel had sorted out all pick-up and drop-offs, stored luggage and been warm and welcoming throughout. Highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
1  Thank MollyZero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

My husband and I decided to stay at the Arches hotel after travelling around India on a relatively small budget for about 3 weeks to have a bit of a break. When we rang to make the booking at short notice the person my husband spoke to was very polite and helpful. We checked in for our two-night stay and found the room to be very clean and in a great location. It also had a bar fridge. The shower had good water pressure and plenty of hot water, which was a change from a lot of other hotels we had stayed in. It was also only one street away from Princess Street, which had a lot of cafes and shops and only a short 5-minute stroll to the Chinese fishing nets. Breakfast of eggs, toast, fruit and juice in the rooftop restaurant was also included in the tariff.
After our plans did not pan out due to availability of transport to Goa, we enquired about staying another night. We were told that our current room was not available but that we could have a suite for the same price. The suite was very big with two rooms and a very big bathroom with a bath. There were also two small balconies overlooking the street, which was a nice touch. When we checked out they did not charge us for our internet or WiFi usage or our local calls which was a bonus. I would definitely stay at the Arches if I returned to Fort Cochin.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.6 mi away
Fort House
Fort House
#29 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
644 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#6 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
810 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort
The Poovath Heritage - An Amrita...
#82 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Koder House
Koder House
#62 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#40 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#182 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arches

Address: Rose Street | next to St. Francis Church, Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $69 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arches 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the heart of enchanting historic Fort Cochin across from the famous St.Francis Church, Arches distills and blends the essence of our European heritage and cosmopolitan temperament. The hotel’s beautifully detailed colonial architecture welcomes you into a cool respite of tile floors and wooden ceilings. Come enjoy the warmth of our traditional furnishings, handcrafted by local master cabinetmakers. Each room has a well-appointed modern bath and air conditioning for your comfort. Stay in touch at our modern business center with internet access. Open Room- our roof top restaurant has quite a panoramic view and serves a fine cuisine, a fusion of east and west. Take in the charming tree top vista of the settlement’s roofs and spires under traditional tiled entertainment space. Be assured that hotel staff and management will do their utmost to make your stay both pleasant and convenient during your visit in our community ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Arches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arches Hotel Kochi
Hotel Arches Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing