We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Arches

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Arches
Ranked #28 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
bangalore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

A beautiful hotel located right next to St. Francis' church. We stayed at Room 101 (Nidra suite) and was very pleased with the arrangements. Breakfast is included and served at the roof top. The free wi-fi works best at the reception area. The hotel has a good restaurant, but expensive by Fort Kochi standards. There are many restaurants in the neighborhood and some are really good.

Room Tip: Choose # 101 if you are planning to stay in Fort Kochi for some time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avonnov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    193
    31
    6
    4
See reviews for
101
301
38
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

+ great value - walked in having stayed one night elsewhere and got offered a great price. Turned out to be the best value stay of our 3 weeks in India
+ really friendly and helpful staff
+ huge portions of food
+ clean, smart rooms
+ really good location
- hard bed

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

It was good moments to stay with Hotel Arches. Staffs were friendly,very helpful & very much service oriented. We will surely come back and will stay with you in the future and will recommend the hotels to all our friends, relatives & colleagues to experience .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PassionTourism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was a little treasure we found on the net, one which our agent in India had not heard of. Well, I can highly recommend it. Big spacious room, comfortable bed, clean, quiet, everything you want from a hotel. The staff were great, not obtrusive but always helpful. Two dining areas, one downstairs, one on the roof, provided tasty Indian food as well as a nice breakfast. The location was brilliant, right in Fort Cochin and only 5 minutes walk from the famous Chinese nets. Fabulous value for money. When a booking further down the track didn't work out, we would have been quite happy to come back to the Arches (as it turned out, we went down to Alleppey).

Room Tip: Just ask for one of the bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik60213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We where booked by our travel agent in India, Mr. Venkatesh from the Travel Planetindia.com who deserves another write-up on its own.
Mr. Venkatesh did our total booking for our 20 nights& 21 days trip to Goah and Kerala Nature & Culture Tour to our total satisfaction and without a hitch and accommodation way above our expectations, of which the Hotel Arches was one. A very charming and well run Hotel in a great location and close proximity to all attractions and good restaurants.
The staff and all the people we came in contact with running the Hotel are very professional and very accommodating. We have nothing but High praise for this Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
184 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

This small hotel (12 rooms) is a delight. The rooms are very comfortable with good WiFi access and the staff are very helpful and friendly. The hotel is in the old part of Cochin and within easy walking distance of the famous fishing nets and street markets. We really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_MtEden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Arches for a week during a visit to India for a friend's wedding. The staff from the moment I arrived until I left were attentive and friendly. One of the managers even helped me put on a dhoti (traditional Keralan clothing) for one of the wedding celebrations! Food was great (although, like a lot of places in Kochi, the restaurant did not serve alcohol), rooms were spacious and clean. My only gripe was if I returned late at night I had to wake up some of the staff. I found this a bit embarrassing but the staff didn't seem to mind so it wasn't really a big issue. Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank energyconsultivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 mi away
Spice Fort
Spice Fort
#29 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Neemrana's Le Colonial
Neemrana's Le Colonial
#49 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#4 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Killians Boutique Hotel
The Killians Boutique Hotel
#68 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#43 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phils' Residency
Phils' Residency
#75 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arches

Property: Hotel Arches
Address: Rose Street | next to St. Francis Church, Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arches 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the heart of enchanting historic Fort Cochin across from the famous St.Francis Church, Arches distills and blends the essence of our European heritage and cosmopolitan temperament. The hotel’s beautifully detailed colonial architecture welcomes you into a cool respite of tile floors and wooden ceilings. Come enjoy the warmth of our traditional furnishings, handcrafted by local master cabinetmakers. Each room has a well-appointed modern bath and air conditioning for your comfort. Stay in touch at our modern business center with internet access. Open Room- our roof top restaurant has quite a panoramic view and serves a fine cuisine, a fusion of east and west. Take in the charming tree top vista of the settlement’s roofs and spires under traditional tiled entertainment space. Be assured that hotel staff and management will do their utmost to make your stay both pleasant and convenient during your visit in our community ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Arches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arches Hotel Kochi
Hotel Arches Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing