We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”
Review of Hotel Arches

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Arches
Ranked #30 of 210 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our stay at the Arches was staggered over our 9 day trip to Kerala. During our first night my friend got really sick and we had to leave quite early the next morning to drive to Munnar. When we came back for our final two nights we were asked how my friend was and also told that as she'd been unwell our first night, we were being upgraded to a suite.
The manager and all the reception staff were very helpful and friendly. We really enjoyed our stay here. I just wish they had a pool and that they served dosa for lunch and dinner!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    194
    33
    6
    4
See reviews for
102
302
41
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The location of Arches is spot on for getting around Fort Cochin and seeing the sights, the front staff were helpful and the room was clean and tidy, we used the laundry service which was reasonably priced and quick. Apart from the first night of our stay we only ate in the restaurant for breakfast as we were B & B; one member of staff at the restaurant was helpful whilst another was less so. It was disappointing that breakfast juice was limited [just pineapple], especially with the abundance of fresh fruit served, therefore I went without juice for breakfast; this was the only hotel in Kerela that we stayed in that we found was quite rigid in the restaurant service. We did like the location of it though, being on the roof it was cool and you could see around. Overall we would say this hotel was ‘middle of the road’ but if you want a reasonably priced clean hotel that is close to the harbour area this would be ideal. We would recommend the ferry service if you want to venture into the new part of Cochin otherwise tuk tuks are just fine for getting around.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toffesocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Enjoyed our 2 night stay at this lovely hotel.
Location perfect for all the attractions of Cochin, but in a quiet street.
Staff very helpful, room clean and spacious with free, fast WiFi.
Only snag, as with the rest of Cochin, the hotel has no drinks licence.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pincers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nice clean hotel, right in the middle of all attractions of Fort Kochi, especially during the Biennale, when you have everything at walking distance.
Despite being nice, the hotel lacks any atmosphere or personal touch. Breakfast is extremely poor, and all personnel is really uninspiring. No information can be obtained at the hotel.
AC in the rooms is violent, or else you need to switch it off.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aryuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota, USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We were quite beaten down by the time we reached Hotel Arches. Luckily they had one room left. They greeted us with a welcome drink and a luxurious room with a modern tub that I promptly filled with hot water. Ecstacy!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaiya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Arches is a good choice. The rooms are clean and the location us great. The wifi was pretty weak, which could have been great because it seems like there are decent routers in every room - but they weren't set up properly! All the same, they got almost everything else right. A strong AC.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaeludelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Arches is located at a very cool convenient place where me and my wife used to stroll down for a liesurely evening walk on streets with some great outlets. We were greeted warmly on our arrival by the manager and I cannot thank the entire staff enough for being very courteous and friendly. Used the hotel's rooftop restaurant for breakfast and dinner and the experience was a good one too.The rooms were clean and neatly done, and we were a happy bunch with the overall experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_geeky_dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#37 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#8 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
777 reviews
0.3 mi away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#14 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fort House
Fort House
#26 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koder House
Koder House
#70 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#183 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arches

Property: Hotel Arches
Address: Rose Street | next to St. Francis Church, Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arches 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the heart of enchanting historic Fort Cochin across from the famous St.Francis Church, Arches distills and blends the essence of our European heritage and cosmopolitan temperament. The hotel’s beautifully detailed colonial architecture welcomes you into a cool respite of tile floors and wooden ceilings. Come enjoy the warmth of our traditional furnishings, handcrafted by local master cabinetmakers. Each room has a well-appointed modern bath and air conditioning for your comfort. Stay in touch at our modern business center with internet access. Open Room- our roof top restaurant has quite a panoramic view and serves a fine cuisine, a fusion of east and west. Take in the charming tree top vista of the settlement’s roofs and spires under traditional tiled entertainment space. Be assured that hotel staff and management will do their utmost to make your stay both pleasant and convenient during your visit in our community ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Arches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arches Hotel Kochi
Hotel Arches Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing