We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel to stay”
Review of Hotel Arches

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Arches
Ranked #33 of 211 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2012

this hotel is around 40 kims from airport. it is situated away from the busy streets and busy city life. area around is calm and peaceful atmosphere. the staff are friendly and assist you during your stay. i enjoyed staying in this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ksnarain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (598)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Arches
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 598 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2012

I discovered Hotel Arches three years ago and have used it as my home away from New York City ever since. Mr. Rajnish, Mr. Godson and the rest of the staff are terrific-creating an environment that is efficient, pleasant and serene. Hotel Arches is located right next to Vasco Da Gama's home-and is itself an old colonial mansion whose arches lend the hotel its name. What I love about the little unassuming place is its roof top restaurant that lets you immerse yourself in the historic medieval city right away. For the history buff, this is a place filled with atmosphere. It draws you into the historic past, with its marvelous painterly views of Dutch colonial architecture and St. Francis Church. For the writer, Hotel Arches is the perfect hide away to churn out a haunting story. I come here to write. Its unpretentious and clean.

Room Tip: I have my favorite Deluxe room with the balcony overlooking St. Francis Church. This is a place for...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank manhattanite961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We spent 3 nights in this hotel while travelling around India and it was the most pleasant stay. The hotel was altogether very nice, quiet, good location, rooms were clean (which in our experience was not always a matter of course in hotels in India), but the best thing was the service. The reception staff were so helpful, they arranged for us everything we asked them for (even called a doctor in the room as I was sick) and surprisingly great housekeeping. We started our trip around Kerala in this hotel and after such a nice experience we decided to come back there again in the end of our trip and were greeted with a fresh coconut drink. Food was amazing and there was a really nice restaurant on a rooftop. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. If we ever go to Kerala again, we would definitely go to Arches.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KrisLMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Hotel Arches was recommended by the airport travel desk at Kochi airport, the 40 min taxi ride to the hotel was exciting and on arrival at the hotel which is situated down a quiet back street , the manager met us with a garland for our necks and a smile.
The hotel is a lovely medium priced hotel with a roof terrace eating area overlooking st Francis church and a distant view of the big ships navigating their way into kochi harbour and docks.
Our room was clean and had plenty of space for our luggage, aircon worked fine and had a tv and tea and coffee facilities too.
It was only a short walk to the coastal strip that has the Chinese fishing nets and nic nac stalls selling locally made bangles and sun hats.
There are other hotels in the area but for the short time we stayed in kochi this hotel was fine.

Room Tip: All rooms are decorated well and furnished to a good standard too so take what's offered .
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeffoclarko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Spent 4 nights here with my family. Excellent hotel with attention to all details, clean, good beds, anything you might desire except a swimming pool - but that's why it is affordable, I guess! Service is impeccable, the managers are for once not trying to sell you anything, but just extremely helpful. Would definitely reccomend!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chiara r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Spent a really great two nights here with our two kids. The rooms were nice and spacious, very clean and tidy. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had an early departure for the airport on our check out day, and the staff very kindly arranged a small "bag breakfast" as we would miss the restaurant opening. Thought that was a really nice touch!
Beds were comfortable. Bathroom was nice - great shower.
The location was great, right by the fishing nets, and some great shops close by.
The only down side was a very noisy factory outside our window, but that was minor compared to the up sides.
Would stay again no question.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travellingrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

A very pleasant small simple hotel, just right and historic in itself for the historic area of Kochi. Room adequate, mattress firm. Staff pleasant. We could only wonder what history lay in the buildings beneath the sea of red Mangalore Tiles seen from the rooftop restaurant, St Francis church, reputed to be India's oldest, being just one of them. Just a short walk to the Chinese fishing nets, outdoor food stalls and the hall where an evening show of Kathikalli drama is performed. We enjoyed our stay, despite the lack of lift, and wished we could have stayed longer.

Stayed: May 2011
3  Thank Ray Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#36 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#7 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
781 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fort House
Fort House
#25 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#185 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koder House
Koder House
#65 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arches

Address: Rose Street | next to St. Francis Church, Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#7 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $61 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arches 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the heart of enchanting historic Fort Cochin across from the famous St.Francis Church, Arches distills and blends the essence of our European heritage and cosmopolitan temperament. The hotel’s beautifully detailed colonial architecture welcomes you into a cool respite of tile floors and wooden ceilings. Come enjoy the warmth of our traditional furnishings, handcrafted by local master cabinetmakers. Each room has a well-appointed modern bath and air conditioning for your comfort. Stay in touch at our modern business center with internet access. Open Room- our roof top restaurant has quite a panoramic view and serves a fine cuisine, a fusion of east and west. Take in the charming tree top vista of the settlement’s roofs and spires under traditional tiled entertainment space. Be assured that hotel staff and management will do their utmost to make your stay both pleasant and convenient during your visit in our community ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Arches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arches Hotel Kochi
Hotel Arches Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing