We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, pretty with lovely owners”
Review of Ann's Residency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ann's Residency
Ranked #59 of 214 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Great place in the middle of Fort Kochi - but quiet with lovely green garden, which sits between the house and the street. The owner Lesley and his wife are friendly, but not overly so, and looked after us really well. They welcomed our friends from the US in the early hours of the morning! The rooms are clean, and attractive in an old-fashioned way. It is essentially a small hotel, but in a large old house. Breakfasts were great (cafetiere coffee!). We ate out each night. There is a lovely terrace in the garden - but a bit mozzyish when we were there to sit out for long. Lesley organised for a car and driver for us to go and visit a friend, and the Hill Palace and Folk Museum in Ernakulum (with an absolutely fantastic veggie lunch) - which worked really well.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the lower priced ones which was great - we had a look at the slightly dearer one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beeonbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 416 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is very conveniently located in Fort Kochi and at a walkable distance from all sightseeing spots. Rooms were clean, and the staff very helpful, polite and friendly. Food offered  in the restaurant/cafe' is great, and the breakfast was enjoyable. A nice place to relax and highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank keithbrmlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Very beautiful location, clean, excellent food in the restaurant, friendly staff. One of the best places to stay when in Kerala! Wifi is available and also you can book trips from the reception. Central location with close access to the bars and stores around.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank RazvanTucaliuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We had gone last year in the month of October and stayed at the room just above the gate with an attached terrace. The room was relatively small but was ok for four of us, two adults and two kids. Beds and furnishing was good and the bathroom tub was huge. The disappointing thing was that the terrace was never cleaned and was full of rotting leaves. We also had a lizard in the room although the staff did try to catch it they were unable to and with my older daughter sleeping on the floor it was discomforting to have one in the room. There was no water kettle or coffee maker in the room but the staff was helpful...they provided us with hot drinking water at any time of the day. Breakfast is continental, it would be good if they can add some Indian option such as Dosa/ Idli etc to bring variety as it become pretty boring to have the same menu every day. Location is good....walking distance from all tourist places, relatively quiet but no great views. We had hired two cycles and were able to manage all the places on our own.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divyat18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shobaCochin, Owner at Ann's Residency, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review our property. We wish to clarify your comments. The room near the gate as you say, was a super deluxe room which we gave for a discount rate. With two children in the room, it would be congested and we asked you to take two rooms which you did not agree to. Usually we allow only one extra person in a room but in your case we obliged you. The terrace is always cleaned but since there is a mango tree which covers the terrace , there is always leaves especially during the month of October. But the place outside your room has a covered courtyard where there would be no leaves. Anyway we apologise for the inconvenience in this regard and would certainly look into the matter. I am surprised to note your comments on lizards. You , being an Indian from Bangalore would definitely be used to one or two lizards around. We had sprayed your room for the same on your request. We provide mineral water to all guests free of cost the first day after which they have to buy . We do not provide water in a jug as most of our foreign guests do not like it and do not use it. But we provide the same to Indian guests who request for it. You yourself say you were provided with hot water on demand every time . Breakfast is continental which is complimentary. We have all Indian breakfast which we provide on demand only on payment. Since you wanted it complementary, we could not provide it. Even then, we provided you with milk and all other food not included in the complementary breakfast for children free of cost. Fortcochin is not a hill station but a relatively quiet place away from the city with lovely Portuguese and dutch architecture .You stayed in a room with direct view to our well maintained garden ,photos of which have been taken by many guests in the same room. We would also like to mention that you made an early check in and late check out for which you were not charged. In spite of this, you had asked for a further discount which we could not oblige. We appreciate your efforts to review our property whether it be bad or good as our readers are our best judges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

The place is excellent but what I liked most was the professional and helpful attitude of Mr. Fernandez, the owner. Very helpful supporting us in booking rooms in another city and changing ticket planes.
Very well located also close to the main places in Fort Cochin.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We went there as a family and enjoyed our stay. Located at a quiet junction of 2 streets, it is walkable distance from the beach and the cathedral. The builds are colonial style with a nice garden at the center. Perfect for a quiet break from the city. The owner, Leslie and his family, are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and clean and the bed was comfortable. They have a nice balcony attached. There is a kitchen that serves good food. Try the fish with green mango and coconut milk curry. Regret we couldn't stay more than a night. Only suggestion... please replace the khajuraho style wall hangings... not appropriate for families...

Room Tip: Get the room with the attached terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sandip_RC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed for three days at Ann's. We had a wonderful welcome from Leslie the owner on arrival and was accommodated into a cozy and nice room on the first floor with a balcony overlooking the nicely maintained garden. The room service was rather prompt and good. Cochin has a general problem from mosquitoes but the nets that are provided ensured a peaceful nights sleep. The room was airy with good cross ventillation needing special mention since the power outage in Kerala is a usual thing.The break fast served at Ann's was very good. Accessibility is good with many of the local attractions very nearby. An excellent North Indian restaurant Dal Roti is also just across the corner. We would defenitely go back there to stay next time we are in Cochin.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Thomas Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.2 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#180 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
490 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fort House
Fort House
#29 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
643 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arches
Hotel Arches
#33 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort
The Poovath Heritage - An Amrita...
#79 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#13 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rasa Hotel
Rasa Hotel
#87 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ann's Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ann's Residency

Address: Anns Residency R I D S Dale Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#26 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $54 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ann's Residency 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anns Residency is a superb blend of homestay and hotel set in serene surroundings in the heart of Fort Cochin. This dutch colonial style building is situated on Post Office Road, opposite the Indo Portuguese Museum, and is just a stone's throw away from the Beach, Dutch Cemetry, Chinese Fishing Nets, St Francis Church and all other places of interest. We at Anns, believe in providing a homely atmosphere to our guests in a three star hotel environment. Come, experience our friendly and homely Residency to start off your holidays with a bang or end your holidays in an oasis of calm that refreshes you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Ann's Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anns Residency Kochi
Anns Residency Hotel Kochi
Ann's Residency Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing