We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended with pleasure!”
Review of Ann's Residency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ann's Residency
Ranked #41 of 210 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Recommended with pleasure!”
Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Arriving for the first time to India and travelling alone, I count myself lucky to have been recommended to this tranquil and beautiful home. It's gardens are lush and green with enchanting birds and fish, every living plant is tended to with care to enable it to be the best specimen it can be. Breakfast was fresh, delicious and devoured in such wonderful surroundings. Leslie, the proprietor was warm and welcoming without being "in one's face!" My bedroom was spotless and comfortable. You will not regret making Ann's Residency a place to rest your head.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    114
    30
    10
    8
See reviews for
86
162
46
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

After reading the reviews on Tripadvisor.com , I convinced my parents to book here for the start of our Kerala vacation since we were going to be there for abt. a fortnight. We loved the lodgings and may i say if you're a cleanliness freak you'll love this place for those sparkling white sheets. Yes the air conditioning is a slight issue but if you are local there i guess not. being from the north it was extremely humid for us and we were really not enjoying the weather, but by day two got the hang of how to cool the room.
The Proprietor Mr. Fernandes is an amazing person, he knows the whole place like the back of his hand and gives you absolutely the right information. I can vouch for this as i did alot of research about the place and where all i wanted to sight see and he just abt. confirmed everything so he is pretty clued up.
We got some really good breakfast and great company in Mr. Leslie every morning.
He has some beautiful birds and a nice aquarium and a well maintained garden with some exotic plants.
All in all we had an amazing time.
P.S.- do not however venture to kochi between may and mid june as its really hot and humid. once the monsoon is on its really pleasant.

Room Tip: Get the room overlooking the garden to have a bit more privacy and a nice view of the garden. the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tahnee_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Came on a cycling expedition and found Anns by chance. Stayed for 2 nights and came back again after the cycling tour just to enjoy at Anns. The best part was the friendly , non intrusive family who make you feel at home. They were ready to clean your room, do your laundry , any time of the day. Rooms are kept very hygienic and the garden area outside is splendid. We were allowed to bring our friends here and chill out. Leslie was very helpful and friendly . This was our best buy, as we would go out and come back any time and the keys to the main door would be given to us, just like home. Would definitely come back here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the annexe which had a big outer area and then in the main building where also we had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bluebeard616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This was our second visit to Anns Residency. We had visited two years back with children and started our vacation from here.The entire family was so friendly and accommodating to all of us specially our children. This time again on our South Kerala trip, Anns was again our favourite. We have not written on trip advisor earlier, but Anns really deserves all the accolades. Last time we found it paradise, and this time it was no different. The garden looks more mature and beautiful. The singsong of the birds are really pleasurable. The rooms have undergone changes and it was a pleasure to view the luxurious garden from the room. The bathrooms have real bathtubs which was a joy. The rooms came with tv, Fridge and free wifi which was an added bonus. The breakfast served by the friendly and funloving owner was very filling and delicious especially the fruit platter served in a large plate with a variety of fruits. We were allowed to take the fruits to our room where we put it in the fridge to eat later. There was no hesitation in giving us second helpings of the breakfast which consists of ham,bacon, toast, fruit slices, fruit juice, eggs and they even gave us yogurt , cornflakes and porridge on request, at no extra cost. The hospitality at Anns was amazing with all staff and the family always willing to help you when needed, without any interference. The rooms and the interiors are kept impeccably clean with fresh plants and flowers and on immediately entering the lobby you say "Wow, this is amazing!!!" The rooms are very silent and you can sleep like a log. This was our second visit and we enjoyed the hospitality and loving nature of the owner and his family and we look forward to coming back.
Thanks Leslie and Ann for the memorable stay.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms provide a lovely view. Book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Travelbirdlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wingfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Having visited Kochi about six years ago, we decided that it would be a great place to start our three-week holiday in March 2012, especially as it is now possible to fly there from Manchester via Doha. On our previous visit, we stayed at Anns Residency, and found it very comfortable and the family friendly and helpful, especially Mr. Leslie, who arranged several small day excursions for us. This time, we wanted to do a few things around the state, and so e-mailed him to reserve a room for a few nights, which he did for us, refusing to accept a deposit. On arrival at the airport, we were met by George, the Residency's taxi driver, and taken to the Residency. The room we had included a balcony overlooking the well-groomed garden, where we could sit in the evening and enjoy a drink. Everything in the room was spotless, and the bed (four-poster fitted with mozzie net) was very comfortable. As has been said elsewhere, breakfast is quite wonderful. The Residency is in a great location for getting around and exploring Fort Kochi, and a short tuk-tuk ride away lies the ferry terminal for Ernakulam, with all its shops etc. (ladies, visit Jayalakshmi on M.G. Road for a great shopping experience). We befriended a fantastic tuk-tuk driver by the name of Joseph, who waited outside the Residency, for whom nothing was too much trouble; he even took us to his home to meet his wife and family, a lovely experience. (I think, though, that Mr. Leslie is not to keen on having tuk-tuk drivers at his gate!) If you can, take a look at the dhobi khana (public laundry). It's amazing.

We asked Mr Leslie to organise a nine-day trip including a ride on the Nilgiri Mountain Railway, a visit to Munnar, Periyar National Park and several other places, ending with three nights at Marari Beach after an overnight on a kettuvallam. This he did, and we had an amazing time, travelling with George (a true gentleman in every respect) in his 4-year old Ambassador diesel taxi. Again, nothing was too much trouble for him, and through his familiarity and experience, we saw and did things which would probably not be on the usual tourist agenda. Accommodation organised by Mr Leslie was excellent, apart from the first night spent in the hotel from hell before our train ride. Having finished the little tour, we arrived at Marari Beach, and spent three nights at the Marari Beach Villas. We fell in love with the place, so much so that we stayed on there for a further six nights (see review for MBV). All in all, we would whole-heartedly recommend Anns Residency, both for comfort and the kindness and generosity shown by all the people there. (Apologies to Anns Residency for taking so long to send this review!)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank prestonspal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We had a nice time at Anns Residency. Wonderful place, amazing and peaceful and just walking distance to all the tourist spots made it our favourite. Of all the places we stayed in South India, we found this place to be the best in terms of hygiene and value. Run by a friendly family, the owner Mr Leslie, very helpful , kind and charming. The rooms are large with clean sheets and plenty of light too. The ensuite bathroom was a luxury with bath tubs and hot water. We were treated to a luxurious breakfast too by the owner Leslie which was filling and delicious and included in the room price. The serene atmosphere with the lovely gardens is all you need to make your holidays a memorable one. We highly recommend and would definitely stay here in our next return to India.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 with a wonderful view of the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travelerwomanatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed at Ann's Residency in late 2011 and it was brilliant. Everyone was very friendly and helped organise transportation and travel arrangements for us around Kerala. We even decided to return to Ann's once we had done a circuit around the state and it is a great town in general. Highly recommend staying here and also speaking with the owners for advice and help. We were very happy to stay here after a month long trip around the sub-continent. Also, the banana pancakes and breakfast was the best we had in India and are awesome!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Ben E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.3 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#37 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Neemrana's Le Colonial
Neemrana's Le Colonial
#51 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Victory Dawn
Hotel Victory Dawn
#101 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fort House
Fort House
#26 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
629 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kimansion Inn
Kimansion Inn
#125 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#8 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ann's Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ann's Residency

Property: Ann's Residency
Address: Anns Residency R I D S Dale Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#19 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ann's Residency 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anns Residency is a superb blend of homestay and hotel set in serene surroundings in the heart of Fort Cochin. This dutch colonial style building is situated on Post Office Road, opposite the Indo Portuguese Museum, and is just a stone's throw away from the Beach, Dutch Cemetry, Chinese Fishing Nets, St Francis Church and all other places of interest. We at Anns, believe in providing a homely atmosphere to our guests in a three star hotel environment. Come, experience our friendly and homely Residency to start off your holidays with a bang or end your holidays in an oasis of calm that refreshes you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Ann's Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anns Residency Kochi
Anns Residency Hotel Kochi
Ann's Residency Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing