We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable place to stay for mid-range break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koder House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Koder House
Ranked #80 of 193 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Comfortable place to stay for mid-range break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had one night in the Koder House Junior Suite at the end of September. The house is well located, within easy reach of the beach and Chinese Fishing Nets. The suite was spacious and extremely comfortable, with A/C and ceiling fans. The bed was also a real treat - large with a comfortable mattress.
The staff were friendly and the food we ate at the restaurant was delicious.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethers89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    52
    17
    9
    4
See reviews for
35
76
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My boyfriend and I were in India for 2 weeks staying in 7 different hotels as we moved around and this was easily our favourite.

The thing about Fort Kochi is that there isn't many mid range hotels, plenty of homestays and guest houses along with budget options as there's plenty of back packers.

Just when we thought we would have to fork out for a top end hotel, we stumbled across the Koder House hotel. As well as a fascinating historical background the hotel is beautiful inside and out. It's conveniently located close to the ferry port and next to Princess Street.

Each room or rather suite is individually styled and small details are considered. The bathrooms are a particluar pull with a jacuzzi bath, and seperate shower. There is also a dressing area, mini bar and gorgeous toiletries (rather than the rubbish stuff hotels try to get away with providing).

Service is very good indeed and here's a free business centre as well as wifi.

Top Tip: call the hotel directly as the rates on online booking portals are much higher than what we paid when we went directly.

Room Tip: Go directly to the hotel, the online booking portals seem to be charging a good couple of thousand r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExplorerAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed for one night during August. The hotel is a huge heritage building with a really interesting history which has begun to look tired. It needs a lick of paint and desperately needs to sort out the 'pool' which is murky and disgusting in the back yard. The rooms are fabulous - huge with comfy beds and a real heritage feel. The bathroom is large with a shower and bath, although again it does need some TLC. The staff were friendly ( thry brought us welcome drinks)and the breakfast was fine, although not a patch on the old harbour next door! It was probably quite expensive for what it is, even though we got a good rate as it was low season. the business centre is not actually a business centre, although we were able to use the Internet and print which was a bonus. The hotel CCTV is on the desk so it feels like you are borrowing the managers office.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eglisau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We arrived as wet as drowned rats from a monsoon downpour but got a friendly reception when we asked for a table for two. The waiter suggested we might like to sit with a view of rain falling into the courtyard.
Our Malabar and Kerala fish curries were delicious and came with poppadoms, rice and paratha. We had hoped for a beer (this is a rare thing in Kerala) but were told the first Sunday in the month is dry. We enjoyed our lime sodas nevertheless!
We also enjoyed reading about the history of the Koder House in the menu and in labels to photos on the walls.
The service was outstanding. A treat for a couple of scruffy, damp backpackers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosemarieNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying in a small room at Koder House and by any measure it was huge. The upstairs suits are amazing. The refurbishment of this heritage building has been carefully done in order to preserve the flavour of the era. Opposite the park that leads to the Chinese fishing nets, well located in the Fort, Koder House offers easy walks to other restaurants, shops and markets. Their own restaurant does wonderful Kerala and South Indian cuisine, and super wonderful breakfasts that are included in the rate. Only disappointment is the pool. But you stay there for the building, the service and the food.

Room Tip: We had the downstairs room because I have problem with stairs. There are a few stairs from the foye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

This hotel is in a great location and walking distance to some great restaurants.
Our room was massive great comfortable beds and bathroom was clean and tidy a little over priced but its an experience staying at this hotel. I think they have 7 rooms in total so the service is great from all staff. The pool is very small just a dipping pool.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EveLifeofTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
131 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

This is a lovely old building with a fascinating history, but old buildings need constant maintenance and that is what seems to be missing here, as it is looking rather tatty.
Our suite was fine, but to be honest a lot of the space seemed to be rather pointless and the furniture a bit thrown together and random. Some artwork on the walls might have made it feel a bit less like a barn.

The bed was a big plus, huge, firm and very comfy. Very high but they thoughtfully provided little footstools to help climb onto the bed (see photo).

The bathroom was big and included a jacuzzi bath. Not sure what the market for this is given the climate - a big wet-room shower would have been a better use of the space, instead of the plasticky shower cubicle that had stains and mildew on the grouting - needs to be replaced or at least given a good scrub with bleach.

The pool was a real disappointment - it doesn't have a proper filter system, it's basically just a hole in the ground, which means there is no-where for the assorted dust, organic matter, skin cells etc that end up in it to go. Someone scraped the larger leaves and insects off the top once a day but it was still unpleasantly murky. It's definitely a 'plunge pool' as their website says and not a swimming pool - the photos are rather misleading making it look larger than it is.

The restaurant is OK - it could be made more atmospheric by not having the toilets practically open plan onto the restaurant, and by putting the huge soft-drink-branded fridge somewhere out of sight. Food nice enough but not very spicy - I assume they think tourists don't like it, but I prefer to be asked. Drinks are expensive and they didn't have the first two white wines we asked for (there were only about 4 listed).

We had booked a more expensive hotel that claimed to have wifi as we needed to do some on-line meetings with clients, but the wifi did not work or was not strong enough for the majority of our stay - this was a major issue for us as it meant loss of earnings.

The reception staff were sweet and helpful but the restaurant staff could do with retraining in basic courtesy and customer service.

Overall if I owned this hotel I would ditch the pointlessly overlarge suites and convert them into more, smaller, well-appointed but cosy rooms with modern bathrooms including wet-room showers, then charge mid-range rates accordingly - that way customers would feel that they had got a good hotel for a bargain rather than an OK hotel for an extortionate price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparklebcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.0 mi away
The Tower House
The Tower House
#58 of 193 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#42 of 193 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#171 of 193 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Killians Boutique Hotel
The Killians Boutique Hotel
#55 of 193 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 stars 223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Victory Dawn
Hotel Victory Dawn
#73 of 193 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#1 of 193 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 stars 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koder House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koder House

Property: Koder House
Address: Tower Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#31 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koder House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Koder House. Koder House is a three-story heritage boutique hotel opposite the beach at Fort Kochi, Kerala, India. Until recently, it belonged to the most illustrious Cochin Jewish family, the Koders. This House had been a host to Presidents, Prime Ministers, Viceroys, Ambassadors, Nobel Laureates, Hollywood Directors and prominent dignitaries. This dwelling also finds a prominent place on Intach's list of heritage sites, and a visit to Fort Kochi is considered to be incomplete without a visit to this historic monument. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Koder House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koder House Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Koder Hotel Kochi
Koder House Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing